We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the leader of the pack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Chiara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Chiara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Santa Chiara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Colli 50, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 89 hotels in Chianciano Terme
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“From the leader of the pack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were well looked after by friendly staff and our group of 15 quickly warmed to them. Dinners were very good (4 Courses) and swiftly served by so few waiting staff. Rooms were clean and made up each day and contained what was advertised. We stayed for four nights and thoruoghly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights as part of the Classic Italy (Newmarket) trip. I admit that the fact we had an appallingly obnoxious tour manager coloured our stay, but coming home with flea bites on our legs didn't help! The beds had old fashioned prickly blankets (so unhygienic) and the bathroom was dirty. The staff were excellent as was the food, but the actual accommodation was a let down - though slightly better than the first three nights at a different hotel 'somewhere in the back of beyond' down south.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Santa Chiara is a fine budget hotel with clean rooms, pleasant public areas and good surroundings. The lift is very small (hard to change) and most of the shower doors need a bit of maintenance (easy). However, it is the charming staff who really made the hotel a good choice for our four-night stay. The waitresses are cheerful and obliging, and I found the food a lot better than some of the reviews here would suggest. All in all, jolly good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write about our hotel, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the service you received. Unfortunately we cannot change the
dimensions of the lifts for architechtural purposes but we have engaged a local company to see to
the maintenance of the fixtures during the winter period. We would be honoured to see you again.
Best regards,
Paola Corvi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 as part of Newmarket holidays Classic Italy tour. Rooms Clean and spacious, Staff friendly, however, Oh My Goodness the Food was awful. Very unimaginative, tasteless and Cold. Even the Fruit Juice in the morning was watered down and it was a game guessing the flavour. Stayed 4 nights but had to eat out twice, which all adds to the extra cost of the holiday. If you are a lover of Italian food, do not eat here. Jacky B

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our menu however my waiting staff offered you alternatives which you refused. We pride ourselves on sourcing local products and offering
a taste of our regional cuisine but as you chose to eat elsewhere every night there is little else we can add. Fortunately 93% of our British, French, Danish, German, Swedish, Finnish, Irish and
Italian guests appreciate the variety and authenticity of our menus.
Sincerely
Paola Corvi
Hotel Manager
P.S. The same reply will be copied to the other two couples with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here in September as part of Newmarket holidays Classic Italy tour.Nice friendly staff,good clean hotel in the great setting of Tuscany.The food really lets this hotel down.We were there for four nights with food included in the price.The food was so bad on the first night that we could not bring ourselves to risk it for the rest of the holiday.We ate out for the remainder of the holiday at a cost of 200 euro.My advise would be to stay well clear.Would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our menu however my waiting staff offered you alternatives which you refused. We pride ourselves on sourcing local products and offering
a taste of our regional cuisine but as you chose to eat elsewhere every night there is little else we can add. Fortunately 93% of our British, French, Danish, German, Swedish, Finnish, Irish and
Italian guests appreciate the variety and authenticity of our menus.
Sincerely
Paola Corvi
Hotel Manager
P.S. The same reply will be copied to the other two couples with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

stayed here in September 2013 as part of Classic Italy tour with Newmarket travel, the staff were friendly but the food let this hotel down, an example was Pork Shin! it was very tough and was served with chilled cauliflower & chilled broccoli also lettuce and tomato, very strange combination, not to our taste at all hence we ate out most evenings. Newmarket travel should realise that a big part of a good holiday is nice food, the room was not a bad size and was clean but the shower curtain was missing and the hair dryer cut out on thermal overload after about 3 mins. you then had to wait for it to cool down. Apart from the food we really enjoyed the tour a lot was packed in, Jayne our guide was very informative and really knew her stuff. The only other thing to consider if you book this holiday is Newmarket travel use EasyJet and don't take any responsibility of the seating plan on the plane, the people who were lucky enough to be seated together were in the isle and middle seats leaving the window seats spare, my husband was seated a and I was f two rows apart so nowhere near each other we would have to pay another £24 on top of the holiday to sit together, we were not alone in this situation!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our menu however my waiting staff offered you alternatives which you refused. We pride ourselves on sourcing local products and offering
a taste of our regional cuisine but as you chose to eat elsewhere every night there is little else we can add. Fortunately 93% of our British, French, Danish, German, Swedish, Finnish, Irish and
Italian guests appreciate the variety and authenticity of our menus.
Sincerely
Paola Corvi
Hotel Manager
P.S. The same reply will be copied to the other two couples with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here as part of the Classic Italy tour for four nights from 3 Sept/7 Sept, It was a welcome change from the property in Naples where you spend your first three nights; not that you could really complain too much, it was mainly the area and being behind an abandoned Spa and it is "gated".
The hotel in Chianciano does indeed sit on a fairly steep hill but it is only about a ten minute walk to get on the flat and main shops are in front and to the right of you,although spread out. I actaully thought that Chianciano was a nice resort and very clean, Tuscany is different to Naples in that respect, it is also very picturesque but we had a side room near the front, those at the back may not benefit from the same view. The room itself was clean and functional with space to move around, but on this tour you aren't in that long only to shower and sleep; the TV does not have British stations so don't bother switching it on. The food was good, nicely cooked and served but they do go overboard on Pork, however you do get a couple of choices - the Pasta course was always good. There is a nice seated bar area, also couches and armchairs adjacent to the bar and an outside patio area so there is plent of room to enjoy both your pre and post-prandial libations. You may find bar prices a bit stiif but hell you are on holiday and the wines in the dining room are both reasonable quality and value for money.
The staff are brilliant and do everyhting, serve, clean and welcome and the tall Italian girl with the pony-tail is brilliant, I also had some banter with the Albanian girl whi is pleasant.
Swimming pool area spacious but the water is cold, soon warms up when you are in though.
All in all well done Santa Chiara.

I can't leave this without congratulating Newmarket Holidays and after having read comments in other reviews I cannot believe how critical or fussy some people are, we never found any issue with Newmarket.
Our tour guide Jane was first class in her knowledge, her organisation and her enthusiasm, Bravissimo Jane. We had two drivers as one coach was out of commission Carmini in Naples and Angello for tha last four days, both brilliant given the roads on the Amalfi Coast and Montecassino, thanks guys.
In my opinion you should pay the extra for the trips to Rome and Florence as they are very informative and you will learn a lot more than doing it your own.
One tip don't buy any Ice Cream in the square where the Uffizi is as it is extortionate!
However we are now sold on Italy, Amalfi, Sorrento and Florence will definitely be re-visited

Don and Sue Redpath

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass on your comments to my
staff and Jane & Aniello. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and take note of your comments, with regards to the menu we are proud to serve our local produce especially our pork which is a speciality "Cinta Siennese" from the province of Siena. We enjoy working with Newmarket Holidays in that we have the same desire to continue providing a cordial and professional service. We look forward to hoping to see you in the future. Once again many
thanks.
Paola Corvi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Chiara

Address: Via dei Colli 50, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 89 hotels in Chianciano Terme
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Chiara 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Chiara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.