We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the apartment section - great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riva del Sole Resort & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riva del Sole Resort & SPA to your Saves list
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Riva del Sole, 58043 Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
sollentuna
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stayed in the apartment section - great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in apartment type B and it was plenty of space though not renovated lately. Apartment is functional with kitchen, shower and two bedrooms, small TV and seating inside and outside.

The area is quite big and sealed off for traffic so it feels very safe for kids. The beach is very nice and you get two loungers and a parasol reserved for the whole week which is nice.

The pool area is great for swimming and for kids to play. Adjacent is a play ground and they also had a childrens club at 10-12 and 16-18 which our kids liked.

The area has a shop a pizzeria/grill (ok to eat at), full restaurant which we didn't try, small supermarket, shops, mingolf and bars.

In the evenings there were song and dance for the kids which was very ambitious and the kids loved it.

Prices in shops, bars and restaurants were lower than expected in my opinion.

There are a lot to see in Castiglione della pescaia which is only 2 kms away. If you have a car it is also close to vineyards and interesting small villages in the tuscan hills. Massa maritimo was a good excursion only 30-40 mins away. Magliano and Montiano can we also recommend.

If you travel south and need a place to stop. Be sure not to miss La Parrina close to Orbetello, an ancient vineyard with hotel, apartments and nice restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment type B on the top floor. Ground floor might be better with kids. Apartments a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    167
    47
    21
    13
See reviews for
218
100
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've been here twice with my family. We have stayed in the bungalow, so I actually have no idea what the hotel is like.
The bungalows are built in the 1950's, but has a pretty fresh look. I think they were renovated a few years ago.
The bungalows has two bedrooms, a kitchen, bathroom and a fairly large living room.
There are good space between the bungalows, so it's nice and quiet. The area is car free. Perfect for the kids. The fact that the resort is located in a forest, gives you a nice cool shadow on hot days.
Very nice swimming pool area, with a great playground for kids.
The beach is pretty crowded, but at least you reserve a umbrella for your entire stay, so you don't have to go on a daily hunt for a good location on the beach.
The beach itself has perfect sand.
The resorts has 2-3 restaurants, a small food shop and some other small shops as well.
The only thing missing is internet access in the bungalows. A bit "old fashion" to have to go to the reception to get internet access.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the self- catering bungalows on site. Whilst the hotel is 4* I would suggest the self-catering accommodation is 3*. The bungalow was spacious with 2 bedrooms, sitting dining area, kitchen, bathroom and patio area. Our bungalow was a 2 minute walk from the beach which was super. The main hotel, spa area, bars, restaurants and swimming pool were about a 10 minute walk through a pedestrian area. Bungalow set in a pine forest. Kitchen needs updating but adequate fro self-catering. On site supermarket well stocked with a nice selection of cold meats, cheese and bread, fresh fruit and vegetables and everyday essentials. Pool fantastic. Beautifully safe baby pool in a shaded area. Spa pool, Daily water aerobics. Gym beside pool Play park and kids mini-club. Grass area in shade with bean bags to lounge on. Cafe selling tea, coffee, soft drinks, salads and ice-lollies available at the pool side. Evening entertainment, baby dance every evening which my children really enjoyed. This ws followed by an evening family entertainment programme which included dance lessons and disco, games night etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are quiet and closer to the beach. Rooms 1 - 10 are nearer the swimming pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the self catering bungalow for 1 week in July 2012. On the whole we had a very good holiday. The hotel and self catering apartments/bungalow have a 'village' feel. The self catering facilities are in a pinewood forest, are quiet with the exception of crickets. The majority of the area is pedestrianised, safe and well maintained. The Hotel facilities can be quite a distance from some of the self catering bungalows, so if you have walking difficulties or very small kids, it may be worth requesting a self catering bungalow close to the main hotel. The beach is absolutely beautiful, although the bar, toilets etc. can be quite a distance. Hotel entertainment is geared towards small kids only. Great pools and onside supermarket. Restaurant grill bar on site very poor. No air conditioning in self catering bungalow. Weekly towel and bedding renewal not adequate. Kitchen and external painting of properties requires updating. Hotel 4 star,self catering 3 star

Room Tip: Sleep quality would be improved by air conditioning and extra pillows. Fans only in the room, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We enjoyed two weeks at the hotel, using it as somewhere to relax and as a base to explore the local area.

We opted for a superior room as we were travelling with our 18 month old daughter and thought the extra space would be useful - while we were comfortable, I would not have liked to have been in a smaller standard room even if it had just been me and my wife.

The room and bathroom were well cleaned, although there were lots of tiny ants running around near the balcony door and from time to time elsewhere in the room.

The shower was TOO SMALL for a hotel of this standard - on several occasions I caught the tap, leading to a rapid and unpleasant change in temperature. The plumbing also needs updating as the shower temperature varied as if affected by others in adjacent rooms using hot/cold water.

The bed was two singles made up as a double as is often the case in continental Europe - for us, we prefer a proper double.

The hotel's spa, including swimming pools, is a very modern and well maintained facility - definitely the hotel's best selling point. There are three pools (a warm paddling pool for kids, a freeform pool and a proper swimming pool) so everyone's interests are catered for. Most of the time there were adequate sunloungers - the only time we thought the area was overcrowded was over a bank holiday weekend, when we suspect a lot of non-residents use the facilities - we were there early June before the holiday season had really kicked off so don't know what the facility would be like later in the season.

The animation team deserve a positive mention - they were very friendly and were great with kids and also organised some adult activities, but never with any undue pressure to join in.

The breakfast was a good choice of fruits, cereal, pastries cold meats etc, well presented and fresh. Food at other times was good and the service was excellent but we felt lacked variety, so we chose to eat out a lot of the time.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place exceeded my expectations and we did not want to leave. The hotel is comfortable and quite and really provided a great experience. It is very kid friendly, but not kid noisy. I will go again next year. We loved the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great place, not pretentious, but comfortable, relaxed and incredibly quite at the beginning of June. The beach was nice and the service very good, the warm swimming pool was great for the late afternoon, since it started to be cloudy and the sea was too wavy, the spa was even better to conclude our day. Rooms are not the most luxurious type, but have everything and are perfectly clean, the only problem is that the service apparently do not understand the meaning of the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door. It happened both days of our stay and since we were there to recover and relax it was not nice to be awaken by the room service. I hope it was jut bad luck, apart from this I strongly recommend the place and would go back there tomorrow, if I could.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riva del Sole Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva del Sole Resort & SPA

Address: Loc. Riva del Sole, 58043 Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#4 Family Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva del Sole Resort & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riva del Sole Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Del Sole Resort & Spa Hotel Castiglione Della Pescaia
Riva Del Sole Resort And Spa
Riva Del Sole Resort & SPA Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva del Sole Resort & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.