We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for skiing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rio Envers

Hotel Rio Envers
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cesana Torinese
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rio Envers
Localita Sansicario, 10054 Cesana Torinese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Cesana Torinese
Warsaw
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good for skiing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Rio Envers is a middle class hotel recomended for winter holidays. Hotel is a bit old, I think from the 70-ties so it is not as comfortable as expected but if main reason o stay is skiing thats not a bad choice. Directly on the slope in the middle of cesana-sestiere-san sicario area. Chair lift is within 50m from the hotel. Small walk up the hill in the morning and a passibility to get back to your room with the skis on your legs
Disadvantages of the hotel are:
1. No Eurosport (very bad selection o tv channels, only italian) Hard to understand in the former Olympic area
2. Lines during the breakfast. There is only one coffe/tea maker in the brakfast room and more then 100 tourist

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

We stayed here with a large group for the skiing. The location for the lifts are excellent really ski in and ski out. Ski down to the nursery lifts, poling required or short uphill walk of 50 metres to main chair lift. Ski back literally to the stairs going into the cellar, if not for the door and the 90 degree turn I reckon I could ski into the room. Hotel full and room to stack skis difficult. Really nice to put shoes on in the cellar and then walk through into the hotel.

Now the hotel. The rooms are of reasonable size and were clean and most have a balcony. Lack of coat hangers in the wardrobe and the curtain tracking was broken which required me to stand on chair to close and open curtains. Rooms made up daily. TV with fair selection of satellite channels, no safe, no tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom adequate with bath and shower, never a shortage of hot water which is good when everyone gets back at the same time.

The hotel bar is terrible, you just could not relax, bright lights, cafeteria type tables and expensive. Only 1 other bar in the immediate vicinity about 5 minute walk. Food was disappointing and really of a 2 star quality. Breakfasts, continental with cheese and meat. Evenings there was a choice but quite basic, lack of fresh food, no salads etc and shortage of fruit, also difficult for vegetarians.

We would not stay here if it was not for going in a group, only real saving grace was the doorstep skiing, good runs in San Sicario and access to the milky way, easy to get over to Sauze, Sestriere etc and perfectly acceptable rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznań
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

When I first saw opinion on that hotel I was a bit affraid, but for 249EUR per day, for sure I'd be also Dissapointed. We bought our holidays via austrian Travel agancy "Hoffer" for 249EURO per week with Breakfast, lunch and diner!!! We were very pleased with hotel, althought it is a bit old, but clean, food is really good, nice salads bar, plus 2 dishes and wine, service people very friendly and helpfull. The best thing about it were the slopes and ski-litf just 50m from the hotel... If you're looking for good skiing area, hotel placement and good food, that's really the place. Of course it's not more that 3* but for us it was not that important. If you're going no to go back for lunch, service people will prepare lunch boxes for you, which is also nice, espaccially if you will go to french side of the montains... which I strongly advice... Skipass for 6 days (5 in VIALATTEA + 1 day in France) = 180EUR

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

Don't be fooled! The description for this hotel is INCORRECT -- it was mixed up with their sister hotel in another location. This hotel is NOT four star, as we were expecting. Instead, it is furnished 1970's style, very basic. Only plus is its proximity to the ski slopes. Definitely NOT worth the EUR 240 per night that they are asking. Check out the photos to see for yourself.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rio Envers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Envers

Address: Localita Sansicario, 10054 Cesana Torinese, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Cesana Torinese
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Cesana Torinese
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the pistes in the resort of Sansicario in the heart of the Milkyway, home of the 2006 Torino Winter Olympics. Only 200 metres to the start of the resort centre. Ideal setting for a ski holiday offering easy access to the slopes and links onto Sestriere, Claviere, Montgenevre and Sauze D'Oulx. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rio Envers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rio Envers to your Saves list