We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LA VIGNETTA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta

Save Saved
You added Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta
Via Monte Grappa, 32, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“LA VIGNETTA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Cleanliness was paramount. Two huge opening windows kept the air cool and gave lovely views of the lake.
The town was 5 minutes walk . Here you could take the ferry/boat on the lake to all nearby towns.

Room Tip: Delightful place to stay! Nothing was too much trouble the owners and all staff were charming and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    55
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
30
45
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

A small place, or rather a large house, with 9 or so rooms, spread over 3 floors, with an indoor restaurant and bar, and a large shady, jasmine-filled terrace. Access along a climbing, narrow road but, once you are there, you can go everywhere in Cernobbio on foot. The couple who run the place (and probably own it), Tomaso and Daniele, are both charming and competent. The entire complement of staff is helpful and friendly. The cook(s) ensure that, if you want a table for dinner, an advance reservation is necessary. The rooms are "no frills" but clean, comfortable and (as far as we were concerned - room 8) spacious as well as well lit. It was a most enjoyable stay and "La Vignetta" will remain in our own list of good, small hotels, to be re-visited on the occasion of our next stay in the Lake Como region!

Room Tip: Our room (8) was lovely, also with a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Myself and two other girls stayed here for two nights in July 2013 and had a lovely time. We arrived quite late on a Monday, and the staff were waiting for us, just finishing up with the dinner rush. One man working there (wish I could remember his name!) carried all our luggage up the many stairs to our room. During the duration of our stay, staff treated us like longtime friends, making jokes and asking us about our day, etc. Another woman working there gave us some great suggestions about what to see and do in Cernobbio and the surrounding area (we saw pretty much all of Cernobbio in about one hour!) and we took her advice and had such a great time exploring Lago di Como. This small town is a great base for visiting the lake, and is much cheaper than other big towns (e.g., Bellagio). The hotel itself is about a 5-10 minute walk downhill to the ferry dock. When we had to depart, the hotel arranged a taxi driver to pick us up and drive us to the train station in Como - very helpful!

The only downside of this hotel is the lack of air conditioning (or at least our room didn't have it in July 2013). We slept with the window wide open all night, which did let in a cool breeze, but also let in some pesky mosquitos.

Regardless, I would stay in this lovely town and hotel again. Like I said, it makes a great base for visiting the lake and is of great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven CT
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I cant say enough about how wonderful the owners and staff were. The husband and wife owners, are really dedicated to running the best place possible. There really wasn't anything we asked for that we didn't receive. They went out of there way a few times for us. I realized that I was not booked at the Villa d E'ste a short walk away. The rooms are large and I stayed in room 8 which overlooked the lake 1 double and 2 bunk beds. Nice bathrooms very large. There are some issues This hotel is on the top of a large hill ok if your driving but we were walkers with the luggage it was difficult. For some reason they do have table cloths for towels odd but acceptable. Breakfast is standard and simple cereal, croissants coffee hard boiled eggs. The place was very quite but we did here people talking at night. Had dinner one night 3 dinners bottle of wine 75 euros pretty good drinks also reasonably priced. The price for 3 nights with breakfast was 490.00 dollars really not bad for 3 people. Its a ten minute bus ride from Como take the 6 or 10 bus 1.40 a ticket gets you there in 10 min 20 euro cab ride. buy a bunch of tickets the bus will pull over if you wave. When you see the town of Cernobbio sign your there.

Room Tip: Reserve a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I read about it through a travel guide and it was even better that described. I enjoyed every bite of what we ordered. Definitely worth the detour, don't miss it. And the value was quite reasonable. They also have a parking, although not well indicated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineto, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a wonderful 2 nights at La Vignetta. The owners couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast was excellent, including delicious rolls, excellent coffee, fresh fruit salad, a good selection of whole fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, ham and cheese. The location was good, a short, interesting walk to the center of town. We really enjoyed our reasonably priced, delicious dinners on the terrace both nights of our stay. We would certainly return to La Vignetta, but we would reserve early and request one of the rooms with a balcony with a view of Lake Como.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Traditional Italian Albergo. Quaint old building with adequate clean rooms. A fabulous outdoor dining terrace & indoor dining room & 5 stool bar. Short walk to Cernobbio center. Kitchen is a surprise with excellent food . Varied wine list with fair prices. Have stayed at Regina Olga many years in a row. Never once used the pool. Same size bar @ Olga & no one is there. Really no other amenities @ Olga that are worth the price. Olga nice but this good too with good food! Same distance from waterfront to lovely shops as from this property. Cernobbio our favorite lake stop. Easy access to all lake towns including short boat ride to nearby Como. Staff A+ !!! Especially English speaking Russel Brant look-a-like. :-) thanks for service !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta

Address: Via Monte Grappa, 32, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vignetta is an old-fashioned and charming trattoria-albergo in the quaint village of Cernobbio, on the road to Monte Bisbino. You will find it hidden away only five minutes walking distance from the lake and downtown. Our beautiful terrace is surrounded by flowers and luxurious gardens. Our rooms are very simple, typical, clean and pretty, good for whom is looking for a cheap accommodation in a very quiet place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta Hotel Cernobbio
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta Cernobbio
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.