We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if have a car. Old world charm.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Centrale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albergo Centrale to your Saves list
Albergo Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 39, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great if have a car. Old world charm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We had a room in the back wit a view if the church bell tour. Glad we could park our car easily. Easy walk to the dock for lake vacation trips. Small but comfortable room, without duvets that we do not like in the summer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Albergo Centrale, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear friend, Thank you for your review, I know, sometimes I repeat myself, but the spirit of our hotel is to offer a good point of departure for excursions on the lake, we try to give maximum comfort and to be useful to our guests .

Hope to see you soon again here.

See you soon

Giorgio Dugoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
30
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Okay, it's a 3-star hotel in the Lake Como area, Cernobbio specifically. It's clean and functional. However, I do think the management should get TWO bedside lights, one for each side of the bed. Also, the air conditioning seemed timed to cut out after 20 mins, which meant that you had to get out of bed to put it on again. This kind of cheese-paring in the high season when it's warm and humid is unnecessary. Good points? The excellent evening dinner served outside in the garden at the front. Breakfast, on the other hand was too basic. Hard boiled eggs were cold. No bacon or cold slices, dryish bread rolls, poor coffee and poor tea. Not a memorable breakfast. Got the feeling that management were continually expecting doom from customers, or complaints, and although I merely asked to have the air-con left so that we could have it on as we wished, which they sorted out, I did not find it particularly hospitable. We were also kept awake by chat from the garden restaurant at night, which rattled on to the middle of the night sometimes. Would I stay there again or recommend it? No.

Room Tip: Back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Albergo Centrale, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear friend, I am sorry that you found the problems in our hotel, I try to figure out with you what's worked:
- Light on each side of the bed?
all our rooms have bedside tables on each side of the bed and the bedside lamp Soprea you are, I do not know what type of problem you've had, I hope you Riseca to tell me so I'm going to solve it:
- Air conditioning?
The air conditioner is free of charge and is managed by the guests because autonomanente in iogni rooms there is a control panel to adjust the temperature and decide the switching on and stop
-Breakfast:
Our breakfast is buffet type, that does not mean hot dishes (eggs, becon, etc.), but we decided to give our guests the hard-boiled eggs, many prefer the cold and want to warm the other, to all of our guests say always ask the restaurant staff, who will be happy to accommodate your requests extra in our breakfast we always give our best, coffee, tea, fruit juices, croissants, homemade cakes, fresh bread, biscuits, honey, jam, chocolate, milk, yogurt, corn flacks, puffed rice, cheese, ham, and you can decide how much you want volteservirvi the cappucciono or coffee or whatever.
Restaurant:
I'm glad that you enjoyed dining on the terrace, and as you have many other guests dined on the terrace, but as you talk during dinner they also speak, but the restaurant closes at midnight and after that there are no other people.

I hope avre the opportunity to host it again with us, so will have the possibility to ascertain the truthfulness of the things that I said.

One last thing:
Appreciation to our hotel are always many, of course, there are also complaints but does not seem to me that the guests of the hotel are on the verge of complaining all the time, rather .......

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night and we were thoroughly impressed. The front desk was very helpful and the room was clean and cool. We were amazed at all the lakefront estates all around here and we were grateful to find a reasonable hotel. We walked down to the lake and took the 10 minute boat ride in to Como for lunch and sightseeing. It was great to leave the car behind.

I'm confident we will find an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Albergo Centrale, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Friend....THANK YOU about your wonderful review!!!! our hotel want to be it for our guests, a comfortable hotel in a good position to do some tour all around the lake Como region, the thing I really appreciate in your review is that the person in the desk it was helpfull, that is most import thing for the tourist who come here, have the most information as possible to decide which is the best thing to do here . I hope to have the possibility to meet you in your next trip in Lake Como Area.

Have a nice day.

Giorgio Dugoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minturn, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Park your car here, right next to the Cernobbio lakefront, and enjoy your Lake Como experience! I was traveling with my wife, 8 year old daughter and mother in law, and we were comfortable in a three bed room, where we had a great balcony overlooking the town park and a HUGE bathroom.

The breakfast was fantastic, and the front courtyard on the main street very welcoming and comfortable. We were very happy with the ability to walk the main drag right out of our hotel, and went to the lakefront multiple times to enjoy the local life. We ate an Italian pizza at the lakeshore restaurant and walked among the locals in the evening.

In the morning, we took at cruise on the lake to the little picturesque towns up from Cernobbio and then came back - I remember it being incredibly reasonable. Like $7 Euro to take a 30 min or so Lake Como ride.

Try Albergo Centrale - it was great for a quick stop in Cernobbio!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Albergo Centrale, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear friend, thank you to give us your wonderful review!!! you shoot on the target!!! this is what I think that our guests must appreciate about our location and our hotel, a good place to stop for a few days and have the possibility to visit our lake and his beauties!!! very easy to do and you do not need the car because the public harbor is at 100mt far away from our hotel and if you want in 10min by boat you are in the centre of Como, the biggest city near us, with a lot of thing to see and to do.

I hope to have the possibility to have you and your family again at hotel Centrale!!!

take care

Giorgio Dugoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed with two friends for one night. We pre-booked a room for 3 and were a little worried when the first room they show us had a large double bed and a sofa bed. however, when we explained that we booked 3 separate beds we were shown to another part of the hotel. The room was nice and quiet, the beds were comfy and the bathroom was adequate.
Breakfast was included in the price and it was all very good value for money.
The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Albergo Centrale, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
thank you dear friend!!!! and thank you to give us a great review!!!! I tell you that the 3 bed room is with 1 king size bed and 1 single bed or 3 separate bed and if we do not receive any information from the guest normally we give the room with 1 king size bed+1 single bed, in your case we have the possibility to move you in the 4 bedroom who have normally 1 kingsize bed and 2 separate beds, I tell you this only because I think is correct to give at my client the correct information.

I'm waiting for you here again.

Giorgio Dugoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barga, Italy
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We've been looking for years fo a place to stop over when we travel from Luxembourg to Tuscany. Now I can say we found it. This hotel is only a few minutes drive away from the motorway in Chiasso. In the center of Cernobbio, on the Como lake. Good size room, view on the square, no noise, TV, wifi, clean, cosy, comfortable. The staff is friendly. There's a romantic restaurant in the cantina, and breakfast is up to Italian standards. The good surprise is the price: 79 EUR for the two of us, breakfast included. And there is a private car park. The only thing this place does not have is: a view on the lake. We'll come back here every time we pass thru Como/Chiasso.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Albergo Centrale, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Good Morning and happy Easter, sorry if I answer so late!!!

Thank you to your wonderful review and I'm happy that you have found our hotel for your stopover during your trip, I it will be a pleasure to welcoming you again, just one thing only for correctness, the price that we have give to you was a special price but during the high season the price is different, but anyway next time you want to come in novembre write us an e-mail and tell that you have spoke with me about the price.

have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a typical old fashioned type of hotel which is a rare find these days. Although it is over 100 years old, the bedrooms are light and fresh, with comfortable beds and bedding and the bathroom was very spacious and well equipped with two minor exceptions - no soap holder in the shower and the hair dryer was on the wall opposite the mirror necessitating some acrobatics to dry hair using the mirror.
There is no lift, so ask for a lower floor if that is a problem. Help was offered with luggage.
The hotel was very cosy on a very wet weekend and the management and staff were very professional and informative. The hotel was very clean. WIFI broke down the weekend we were there, but management were soon on to it and it was apparently caused by the storms at the time.
The cold breakfast buffet was excellent quality and range. We had one evening meal which was very good value and the restaurant was lively. There is also a cellar restaurant, which we did not try but it is open on Sundays and was obviously popular with locals. There is an outside terrace for summer months.
Parking was very easy at the rear of the property and very safe. The lounge bar area/ reception was a bit small and limited for seating in bad weather.
The hotel is located within a few minutes walk of the lake and in the centre for all facilities: banks, shops, restaurants etc.
We had a room at the back, which was very quiet, but probably there would be some traffic noise at the front of the property as it is a main road. We shall certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back proibably quieter but not so nice a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Albergo Centrale, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
thank you for your great review, sometimes when I answer at the reviews I see the differences between the clients and I know that is impossible to satisfy each of them, but when I see the review like this I know that we are in the correct way to try to give the best services to all our guests. I'm very happy that we have find all the bests characteristics of our hotel and our wonderful lake. hope to see you here again in your next holidays.

Giorgio Dugoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Centrale

Address: Via Regina 39, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato nel pieno centro storico di Cernobbio, a soli 50Mt dal lago, l'Albergo Centrale è una splendida costruzione dei primi del '900 interamente ristrutturata. Le accoglienti 22 camere, di cui 2 attrezzate con cucina autonoma, sono dotate di aria condizionata, TV satellitare, frigobar, telefono diretto, asciugacapelli, internet WI-FI.Parcheggio gratuito riservato agli ospiti dell'albergo, a richiesta garage coperto € 10,00.Le sale ristorante, accoglienti e rilassanti, suddivise in due ampi spazi, supportate da una cucina tradizionale con piatti semplici ma genuini, unitamente ad un servizio spumeggiante, renderanno il Vostro soggiorno più piacevole. All'arrivo della bella stagione, una splendida terrazza sarà attrezzata al ristorante per piacevoli pranzi e cene all'aperto ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Venere, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Centrale Cernobbio
Albergo Centrale Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.