We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miralago

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miralago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Miralago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Risorgimento 1, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Cernobbio
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

To all who seek quiet comfort, good food and elegant surroundings then the Miralago is the hotel for you. I booked two rooms for myself and my parents for one week - we all agreed we should have stayed a month! The place itself is lovely but the hotel was the crowning glory. The staff are so friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them. My mother has a restricted diet - every evening the owner asked her what she felt like eating and he prepared it regardless as to whether it was on the menu or not. He always advised on the dish of the day so that really I didn't bother to look at the menu and just trusted him to bring me whatever he thought best. The food was excellent - while there I ate ravioli stuffed with fish from the lake and served in a divine seafood sauce - I really wanted to lick the plate it was so good. The wine was superb and we were only drinking the house wine!! The rooms are lovely and everywhere you look there are lovely black and white photos of how Cernobbio looked 50, 60, 100 years ago. The only disruption to your afternoon nap is the church bells chiming the hour which is so romantic. The pace of life here is slow and elegant, no one shouts yet everyone is happy. While we were there the local Cernobbio Festival opened with a gala all about Dante. It was so interesting and entertaining. Ferries run regularly from the end of the pier which is a two minute walk from the hotel, to Como and other towns and villages on the lake. This place is a real gem! I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
18
51
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed for two nights while visiting Lake Como; the hotel is in a small village just outside Como town but perfectly located to catch ferries to all parts of the lake. There are a couple of bars and restaurants to eat in evening if you don't want to go into Como.

The hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful. We had a Deluxe room which was ok but would be interested to see the size and decor in lower standard rooms as facilities were basic. The room was clean though. Would recommend for location but don't expect much from the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

This hotel is on the waterfront and a short 1minute stroll to the ferry along the promenade.

Breakfast is a range of fruits, yoghurts, pastries, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, with bread. The toaster is slow and the toast comes out crumbly, so I gave up on toast, but that's the only complaint I had with breakfast. Coffee was on tap and if you wanted an espresso or capuccino you just had to ask. There is plenty of food, and the service is prompt and attentive at breakfast.

The hotel serves delicious and fairly inexpensive meals for lunch and dinner and we ate here on a number of occasions. At the time of staying, you got a 10% discount if you booked the meal to your account. The whole area is a sea of fantastic restaurants and cafes, with deli's in the shopping area selling all manner of pre-cooked foods if you wanted to eat cheaper.

We stayed in room 414, which was the largest on the floor. Ask for a balcony room if you can, because that will give you 3 balconies to access from your room...delicious when the evening breeze starts up.

The internet is wi-fi and cost 5euros a day for 24 hours.

The rooms are a little hot for us, the airconditioning not quite up to the challenge in this hot climate, but we managed. An afternoon siesta was a must to cope with this heat.

There didn't appear to be room service, but the mini bar had plenty of cold drinks.

The hotel is spacious and pretty, and everyone speaks english.

The hotel doesn't serve meals after breakfast on Wednesdays.

The bathroom is huge in our room, don't know about other rooms. The shower is excellent.

If you bring a string/stretch travel clothesline then you'll have 3 balconies to choose from when it comes to drying clothes. We were here for 10 days and that became an issue as it's not that cheap to get clothes laundered here.

My husband and I loved staying here and we'd come again in a heartbeat. It's perfectly positioned and the views are fantastic. We would stroll over to catch the ferry to Como and other lakes district towns.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

A wonderful hotel by the Lago di Como with excellent service and view. Also the location is good, easy to take a boat to Como or to any other place

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

this is an older style hotel set right by Lake Como in the delightful town of Cernobbio -- it is absolutely lovely with balconied windows overlooking the lake. the staff is helpful and very friendly, the restaurant is very nice with outside tables and a good breakfast included. there is a ferry dock nearby with boats to many other Lake locations. we cant wait to go back. if you require a very quiet room you might want to pass up the view and ask for a room on the back -- the lake front can be a little noisy at night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Foye de Vinax
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

My husband took me here for my 50th brthday. We had a corner room on the second floor with wonderful views of the lake. (You do pay extra for these rooms but worth it) The rooms are small but very clean and a very comfortable bed. The shower rooms are tiny but functional. The hotel staff were very efficient and helpful. A word of warning be wary of drinking and eating at Harry's Bar across the road from the Miralago, very expensive and not particularly good. Our meal on our last evening on the terrace of the Miralago was excellent and about 30% cheaper than Harry's Bar!

Hotel Miralago's loacation is just perfect, very easy to get the ferry to Como and beyond and a wonderful place to just sit and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We loved staying at this hotel. It was recommended to us by an Italian friend and we didn't know quite what to expect. We had booked a room with a balcony overlooking the lake and it was well worth the extra money we had to pay. The room was clean and well equipped and the staff were so friendly that nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were great and there was plenty of variety to satisfy all tastes. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and the food was to a high standard and served by waiters who were friendly and very conscientious. This hotel is in a small town and I would recommend both it and the town to anyone. The boat stops at the jetty about 100 yards from the hotel and will take you to almost anywhere on the lake. I really didn't want to leave!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miralago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miralago

Address: Piazza Risorgimento 1, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miralago 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Miralago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miralago Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel Miralago Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miralago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.