We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Olga Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Regina Olga Hotel to your Saves list
Regina Olga Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 18, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tired and dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I don't want to sound too negative about this hotel, so first, the good points:
It has centrally situated with beautiful views of the lake (provided you book a room with a view, otherwise you might find yourself looking at the car park).
It is conveniently placed close to the boat pier for lake trips.
The air conditioning works well.
It has a pleasant pool area.
The staff are polite and efficient.
Now for the bad points, and I'm afraid there were just too many:
Shabby entrance lounge, very old fashioned furnishings that have seen better days. The same applies to the bedrooms, which are a decent size but the furniture surely dates back to the 60's, as do the bed coverings and curtains. There is lack of drawer space, we had to pile clothing in the open-fronted bedside tables.
The bathroom is merely adequate with poor quality toiletries, paper thin towels, very thin loo paper, and a minute bath/shower which had obviously not been used as a bath recently because when I turned it on, lots of black gunk came out of the taps. The hair drier is the old-fashioned kind with a hose, very inefficient. Every time the person in the room next door uses the toilet you can hear it flush.
There is no Sky TV, and a poor choice of English language channels.
No free WiFi - this is not acceptable in the 21st century.
No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, nor is bottled water provided, except in the mini bar at an extortionate price.
We did not eat in the hotel apart from breakfast, which was barely adequate.
This is not what I would expect from a hotel charging 300 euros-plus a night. It really is such a shame because with an injection of cash to upgrade the interior, this hotel could be wonderful, given its location and outside appearance. As it stands, it offers seriously bad value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a full lake view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    92
    59
    16
    10
See reviews for
25
98
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went with Riviera travel on their Lake Como tour. As per the Sicily tour the food at the hotels were sub standard. I assume as the group is budgeted to a certain amount per head the quality is sacrificed. I would recommend that if you go on a tour take it as a B+B and go out for your food. of course you do miss out sitting with your companions from the tour which is disappointing but going out in the evening does add to your holiday experience.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and the rooms good, and so i dont wish for my review of the tour food to reflect on the general feel of the hotel which is very nice.
We did find that the water system was noisy and if fellow travellers got up in the night and flush the chain we all are woken

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Before setting off on our holiday we looked at the reviews and wished we had chosen a different hotel. On arriving we found the hotel staff very efficient in booking us in. They were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Nothing was too much for them. The hotel may be a little dated but that added to the charm, it was very clean and the bedding and towels were changed every day. Situated in a beatiful position and a short walk to the ferry station. I only regret was that we didn't ask for a lake view with a balcony. We would not hesitate recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed at Regina Olga Hotel for a week during May 2014. The hotel decoration itself is very classic to old fashion. The latter is not necessarily a negative point since some people like this type of decoration. Some of the furniture in the room though looked like they lack maintainance or need replacement. No coffee maker or kettle available in the room.The bathroom itself looked renovated and very nice and comfortable. The room was cleaned every day and the towels and bedsheets were changed likewise. However if one would look behind the TV and under the bed would notice a considerable amount of dust. The brekfast buffet was not exactly what was expected from a 4 stars hotel and especially the scrabbled eggs had a "strange taste". The boiled eggs were also cold. Also in order to order coffee you would have to get on hold of the waiter since otherwise it would take some time for them to come and ask you what type of coffee you would like to have. The personnel working at the hotel bar were really friendly and helpful when they were around but some times it was difficult to get on hold of someone. The best point of this hotel was that it was just next to the lake and 1 minute walk from the ferry that takes you to Como.The price of this hotel was too high compared to what it offers.If back at Cernobbio I would only go back to this hotel if there was an offer at the room price, that would bring it down to half of its original price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Perfect location, quiet and friendly atmosphere. Wonderful lake view , good food, a swimming pool. Some 50 meters to the river station, many authentic places to dine and wine, Piazzetta cafe, located a bit up the hill has got superb wine selection by glass and bottle as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed as part of a tour group. Bar prices very high ( hotel next door much cheaper where we went each evening ) nicely situated right beside Lake Como, the ferry takes you to lots of different places, the ferry is right on the doorstep. The room does not have tea making facilities so might be worth investing in a travel kettle otherwise tea and coffee expensive. The restaurant was nice for breakfast but our tour group were served dinner in a characterless events room with basic food,buffet style, plenty of it but little choice. The large round tables seated eight so could be awkward if you didn't get on with your fellow passengers or preferred to sit as a couple. Staff were ok but not over friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor facing lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Overall, a bit of a disappointment.
Staffs are cocky and indifferent.
Rooms are old and not exactly clean. Quite noisy, thin walls means u will hear sounds from next door, even above and below u.
The view is great if u get a room that is facing the lake.
Quite close to Como SG train station. The hotel is right in the middle of a more historical area so location-wise, it is great.
Restaurant is pricey but quality only so-so.
One last thing, no iron available....

Room Tip: Get one facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#5 of 7 in Cernobbio
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asnigo Hotel
Asnigo Hotel
#6 of 7 in Cernobbio
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#2 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
12.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
14.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Olga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Olga Hotel

Address: Via Regina 18, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Olga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Regina Olga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Olga
Regina Olga Cernobbio
Regina Olga Hotel Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Olga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.