We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grill restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa d'Este to your Saves list
Villa d'Este
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Grill restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Last week it was my wife's birthday and where better to surprise her for a romantic dinner together? Villa d'Este of course and The Grill. The weather was nice and warm so our table
was outside in the garden with a spectacular view of the sunset on Lake Como. It goes without saying that the food and service were impeccable. We ate fish mainly and it was delicious. They also surprised my wife with a fresh fruit birthday cake at the end of our meal. The best I have ever tasted!!! Food and service aside there is always a sensation of a magical atmosphere when at Villa d'Este. Our evening was also enlightened with the presence of George Clooney eating at the Grill with friends.
By the way, the reviews I read about people complaining about the prices at Villa d'Este make me laugh. It's like buying a Ferrari and complaining about the fuel consumption !!! Ciao

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    78
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
114
361
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were treated to lunch here by our boss in the UK, a day trip to Milan and lunch at Villa d'Este. The weather was perfect, the setting is magnificent, lunch was beautiful...take a walk around the grounds and get some lovely photo's!...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Villa d'Este was wonderful from the first moment we arrived till we reluctantly had to leave. The staff are so friendly & helpful & treat you like royalty. The hotel grounds are spectacular & well worth devoting plenty of time to wander around & take them all in. Both restaurants served excellent food, all in all our stay was a very memorable one & one we hope to do again in the near future

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are more expensive but the garden view rooms also have a great outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Villa d'Este really is worth every penny you pay. The hotel and grounds are jaw dropping. Our room was very spacious and luxurious. The service is great. The amenities are wonderful. It is a small fortune to stay but you will not be disappointed. It delivers in every way as it should. There is a reason it is famous.

On another note, the food is overpriced so plan on dining out a few times if staying. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, but it is included in the room rate so no worries there.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive Double which was very spacious and luxurious. Plenty or room for two and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Property was beautiful as I expected, grounds excellent, but rooms were very simple, I would say cheap, quality of bed was poor, rooms were very small and poorly decorated, in room I felt like 3 star hotel, spa was great but pool was floating and I couldn't use pool, felt sick, it was little windy so pool was moving too much. Main restaurant was great, but food at Grill was average.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Villa d'Este is a grand old Hotel that everybody should be lucky enough to enjoy. The location, grounds, rooms, service and food is all top of its class. At dusk on the lakefront patio we had wonderful drinks listening to the most amazing piano....brought my lady to tears.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

First, the property is amazing and the fine dining restaurant is vey good, but not superb. However, if you prefer extreme formal dining and staff constantly pouring a tad more wine, then you will love the service. Much of the setting for drinks and dinner is set to see who is dining and not turned out the windows for the incredible views. We dine and eat at both 5 star hotels and Michelin rated restaurants, but here there is a new level of pretense.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa d'Este, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.