We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa d'Este to your Saves list
Villa d'Este
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We are a well travelled couple who like to indulge in the best luxury hotels around the world. This is our third visit to Villa D'Este and that in itself speaks volumes about the hotel and our experience. From the moment you are arrive before you even enter the front door you are greeted with warm friendly staff.
We stayed for 9 nights and as always are sorry to have to go home. The hotel is for a total relaxing break where you can relax on the sun deck beside the floating pool in the lake with the most breathtaking views of Lake Como that we found ourselves never getting tired of.
The hotel itself is clothed in grand interiors of opulence in every part of it.
We dined in the Veranda most evenings which is formal dining with jacket and tie for the gentlemen but for us, this formality adds to the experience, the waiters remember your name, what you like, what you don't like and glide effortlessly through the restaurant situated on the edge of the lake, for us dinner here in the evenings is a spectacle that shouldn't be missed! Forget about the price tag and soak up every second of the dining experience, it is worth every penny!
Throughout the hotel no matter where you are there is always a staff member on hand to see to your every need.
Breakfast is served in the Veranda again on the lakeside with a spectacle of freshly prepared food that will leave no taste unattended!
A truly exceptional hotel in a breathtaking location with impeccable service that will satisfy even the most seasoned traveller!

Garth & Jenny

Room Tip: I would recommend a lake view room if first time visitor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    74
    41
    16
    9
See reviews for
110
351
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

As an experienced traveler, well acquainted with the pros and cons of much hyped luxury hotels, I was very torn as to whether I should splurge for a stay at Lake Como's much heralded Villa d'Este, or opt for a less expensive option "up the lake" with similarly positive reviews. I'm delighted to say that I chose Villa d'Este, and never looked back.

Villa d'Este is a like an old wine; the more you sit with it, the more it's exceptional character is revealed. I'll admit, I started out skeptical (I prefer small, intimate properties), but upon entering the front doors, realized that I was in the midst of sheer, unadulterated elegance. The common areas are old world glamour and sophistication -- like something out of a Cary Grant movie. That being said, the staff are down-to-earth and friendly, no stuffiness here. It's a combination hard to come by, and no doubt, the secret to this property's legendary status.

ROOMS: Our group (2 couples) were shown to junior suites in the Queen's Pavillion (both buildings are equally elegant). Our rooms were large, opulent, yet comfortable, with balconies overlooking the lake and views that if truth be know, are superior to the Cardinal Building. It should also be noted that everything in this hotel is sparkling clean and painstakingly maintained, from the grounds, to the common areas, to the floating pool, to the rooms. Yes, it's VERY expensive, but it takes money to maintain such high standards.

SERVICE: It seems that instantly, the valets, concierges, and bellman know your name, and they don't have their hands out for tips. The service level is nothing short of exceptional. At the end of your stay, an envelope with tips for the appropriate parties is appreciated, though not expected - classy to the end. I would like to give a special mention to Matteo Balesma (spelling?) whose constant smile and dedication to service is why people return to establishments such as this.

LOCATION: This is where Villa d'Este is sometimes dinged compared to other luxury resorts on Como. I, for one, can make a case for Villa d'Este being the PREMIER location. Situated a short walk from the town of Cernobbio, we found the hotel to be a haven away from the more touristy spots like Tremezzo and Bellagio. And although the lake may not be as wide and the views not as grand, it's a gorgeous, special location, with great restaurants and elegant shopping a short stroll away. If you're looking to be "in the middle of the action", this may not be for you. If you're looking for a relaxing and beautiful respite on the lake, Villa d'Este is your property.

OTHER THINGS TO CONSIDER:
1. HOTEL RESTAURANTS: I preferred my meals outside of the property. The breakfast, included in my room, was fantastic, and the food quality was excellent across the board, but the prices were extremely high. Also, their main dining room is very formal, not what we prefer on vacation.
2. WEATHER: Be prepared that summers in the lake district can bring alternating days of rainy cool weather, and hot sunny weather -- this is why it's so lush! We used the rainy days to explore the towns (the hotel provides umbrellas) and sunny days to explore the lake. Bring a sweater and a raincoat and don't let the weather deter. It's worth it!
3. 4th OF JULY: Oddly, this luxurious Italian property has the best 4th of July fireworks we've ever seen. Although we opted out of the formal dinner/dance, we were thrilled with the fireworks show, enjoyed from front row seats on our private balcony.
4. BOAT TOURS: For a private boat tour, go down to the Cernobbio square (on the water front) and book one of the local water taxi's, $350 euro for two and a half hours, a better deal than booking through the hotel, and, in our opinion, the perfect way to see Lake Como.

Overall, this is a special, special place, well worth a visit, at least once. Would we always want to splurge on such a property? No. Are we glad we enjoyed Villa d'Este for our first trip to Como? ABSOLUTELY!

Room Tip: A junior suite with a balcony is the ticket. If you book through Amex, you can possibly upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesboro
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in a lovely suite. I planned our entire trip around to be here on the 4th of July. The property boost a lovely formal soiree with cocktails, live music and dancing, a multi course dinner, a ballet, fire works and more. We were unfortunate that mother nature did not allow all of this to be on the lake (it rained) but the staff pulled it off flawlessly! Also the fireworks did happen over the lake, wow what a show! The staff was so attentive! The breakfast buffet was well done and we had a couple of good meals on property. But that view, the grounds the garden, the floating pool! I have always dreamed of coming here and it did not disappoint. Put it on your bucket list!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We booked in for a week into a junior suite with a "full frontal" lake view but stayed 5 night/6 days because of poor weather.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Mossimo the GM who appeared to be everywhere and who together with his team looked after us like Maharajahs (Think Udaivillas by Oberoi).

Think Great Gatsby/Hampton's and you get the idea of the ambience of the place. Stunning location (If you can afford it definitely pay the extra and get the lake view as that is what you are here for)-We were in room 559 which levitated above the lake but was smaller than 217 which our friends stayed at but definitely had a better view than 217.

The food at breakfast and the Verandah restaurant were top notch. Try to make it for the 4th of July celebrations which were amazing not least of which was for the fireworks!!

Wonderful break in spite of some bad weather days thanks to the hotel and most importantly its most welcoming staff.

We booked through Virtuoso which gave us a free meal (worth for us about 300 euros as we stayed 5 nights and also a free minibar-yes including alcohol!-replenished daily) so you may wish to explore this.

Room Tip: Queens building lake view. If you do not like walking ask for the cardinal wing so that you d not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoffandSarah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Everything about this hotel exudes old style class. The setting, the buildings, the decor, the bars, the dinning rooms, the bedrooms, the suites, the staff........and the food, as the locals say..Madonna!!

Really this is one for the bucket list if you have not been there. Everything is just perfect.....Oh, ok...... one slight niggle about the room service, which is a little limited. We were enjoying ourselves so much we thought we would spring for a super treat and picked up the phone in the expectation of a soon to arrive trolley laden with caviar and vodka, and strawberries and champagne. I was stunned that they did not have caviar on room service!

I had got over the disappointment by the next morning and a leisurely cruise around the lake followed by a delicious lunch on an island left the caviar a distant memory...Until late that night again! What is it about things one just can't have?

Room Tip: Obviously a lake view and to hell with the expense!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent Hotel - perfect rooms, beautiful gardens, best concierge and stuff. You really have to read history of this place in order to feel it. We booked exclusive junior suite and had a lake view. Had a chance to enjoy pool and rent a boat for a few hours and cruse lake Como - curtsy of Villa d'Este. Breakfast was wonderful with a view. The only slight disappointment was a dinner at the Grill. It felt like old country club dinner. You'll be better of with Il Gatto Nero in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Treat yourself, even for one day as my husband and I did, you will remember it for the rest of your life..I felt like a Queen, better than a Queen, staying in this magnificent yet low key Hotel/Villa. Situated on the Stunningly beautiful Lake Como in Italy, you will be overwhelmed by the wonderful service, the majesty of the rooms, the GARDENS are to die for..And, your Incredible meal at the end of the day in their wonderful restaurant, have their PASTA..will have you believing you Made it...such a dream come true. And just up the road by car, (you will be near a very well known and Extremely good looking actor who happens to have a Villa right there in Cernobbio,) you will be able to stop and take a ferry over to the island of Bellagio! You will feel like a Princess on the boat, with the sun on your face and the warm breeze in your hair, as you travel over to the sweetest little island ever! But that is for another review..:)
Enjoy, Life is Short!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa d'Este, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.