We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best holidays ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa d'Este to your Saves list
Villa d'Este
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“One of our best holidays ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just returned from a sensational stay at Villa D'Este. Having already stayed at Casta Diva the experience was like chalk and cheese. Everything at Villa D'Este was just perfection. It's as if time has stood still in this Grand Dame of Italy and at breakfast one morning I told my husband that it reminded me of childhood holidays with my parents in Italy when the world was safe! The service was excellent and friendly whilst still being professional. The whole place exudes luxury and although first impressions could lead you to believe that it was going to be stuffy, that could not be farther from the truth. We were upgraded to a lovely room with separate sitting room and that oh so magnificent Lake View. The style of the bedrooms is not exactly my taste but it just seems so right for the whole experience. The only slight disappointment was the service at the pool. At these prices I don't believe I should be given towels to make up my own mattress. Frankly i found these young pool attendants a little lazy. Lunch on the terrace was delicious gazing out at that amazing view and the cocktails great. Dancing under the stars to the resident pianist was just magical. We have just given our agent the go ahead to book us in for a week next year and frankly I cannot wait

Room Tip: A lake view is what it's all about
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    86
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
129
406
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I do not think I can find a better place to stay. Everything in this hotel os perfect, room, food, service, view....We stayed here for our honeymoon and everything was perfect. If you go, do not miss the gardens. They are stunning! Go in the summer, so you can enjoy the pool. We got an upgrade for a room with a partial view and a bottle of champagne. The staff is very polite! And the breakfast with the lake view...OMG. The best I've ever had!!!

Room Tip: Do not bother with the room. The outside of the hotel is soo good that you will not stay in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

What does the fictional PBS television series Crawley family have in common with Villa D' Este? Well, they could have come to this estate for their holiday and feel very comfortable in the surroundings, formality and richness of hotel and staff.

What makes a great experience at this hotel are the people who support this grand operation. Words can't express the high degree of hospitality and professionalism observed by the staff. This degree of dedication to hospitably make guests feel special and this is what brings the extraordinary charm to this historic northern Italian renaissance style hotel. From the room maids to the head concierge, all contribute to the charm of Villa D' Este.

From the registration process to the small personal greetings from the staff, once you arrive on this special estate you understand the pride that is required by all staff members. They make their guests feel special. This extra effort is remarkable in a day and age where these important traits are forgotten.

The hotel dates back to the 18 century. The grounds and gardens are mystical and romantic. Taking a walk each morning one will view many Roman style structures reminding the the visitor of early Roman influence. The rooms are extremely large for European standards. The ceilings are 12 feet and they are all individually appointed and decorated with period antique furniture and art pieces. The details of the bathroom and room are beyond the expectations. My only untoward experience was a bed that was hard.

This is not the place to bring the family or children. It is for couples primarily. It is meant to be quite and relaxing. Come here and the cares of your life will go missing.

The food is beyond my culinary skills to described their superb gastronomical taste. The morning brunch is $75 at a Ritz Carlton in the U.S. The breathtaking views of the lake and piano serenade make this a wonderful memory. This is truly one of the best travel experience of my life. I want to thank the staff for all they did to make it incredible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed for several days at Villa D'Este and it was truly a wonderful experience. The location is perfect, on the western shore of Lake Como in Cernobbio. Its grounds extend up the mountain, including these fascinating gardens, sculptures, and a man made replica of Roman ruins made by the original owner's wife to keep her General husband amused. It's a bit of a hike up there, but the views and photos from up there of the Villa are stunning.

The food in the Veranda restaurant is excellent, and the breakfast buffets are very extensive and quite good.

The room had a balcony overlooking Lake Como, and a separate room in a suite arrangement. Very spacious, with a great balcony to sit on, overlooking the floating pool on the lake.

Music in the evening on the Veranda, a nice bar, I could go on and on. A truly special place.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the Queen's Pavillion, with a balcony on the water side. The others aren't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you are willing to splurge a bit to enjoy lunch in a superb setting, I recommend the terrace at Villa d'Este. The service is very professional albeit a bit brusque and the food is very good. At the end of your meal, you receive lovely petit fours to enjoy with your coffee and they bring out fresh cotton candy for the children just for the fun of it! Just expect to pay for the privilege (about 100 euros per person). After lunch, enjoy a stroll around the beautiful gardens which are normally closed to the public. A wonderful souvenir of our stay at Lake Como!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Perfect places still exist in this world. I don't think that you can find better place on the lake Como; it is superb, but cosy and lovely. Rare combination. One of the best places to enjoy nature and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Villa d'Este is a very special place, far more than a hotel. Every view and every turn has a special surprise. Everything was so perfect, it's difficult to express. Villa d'Este also has an understated elegance in it decor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa d'Este, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.