We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic villa by Lake Como” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa d'Este to your Saves list
Villa d'Este
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa by Lake Como”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I always make it a point to spend at least a night per year at this magnificent hotel.There are lots of nice lakeside hotels in Italy but this one takes the cake.
Sweeping views of the Lake Como whist relaxing on the lakeside terrace and having your favourite drink
The pasta and crepes Suzette at the restaurant are particularly good
The other bonus for me personally is as I drive extensively in Europe and Villa D'Este is one of the very few resort type hotels easily accessible from the motorway.It's about a 5 min drive from the motorway exit

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    81
    41
    15
    10
See reviews for
124
383
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Recently we were at the Hotel Villa d'Este and it was a beautiful experience. Magnificent Place built in 1947 is a heritage property converted into a hotel. Very tastefully done it reminds of the Grandeur of the the times and the romanticism of Royalty. It is a very regal property and has a floating swimming pool giving the impression that one is actually swimming in Lake Como. We understand, it is refurbished every year. No two rooms are furbished the same. Most of the rooms face the Lake giving an excellent view.

Food & beverages were excellent & tasteful. Hospitality par excellence ! Very good experience.

Particularly enjoyed dining at the Restaurant on the lake.

Room Tip: Most rooms are facing the lake. Select one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The best meal we had in Italy and the most expensive. We always splurge at least once on an overseas trip and this was it. We arrived in style by water taxi which gave us the opportunity to look around the incredible grounds. Nobody bothered us or questioned if we were guests as I noted some others had experienced. We had pre lunch drinks inside the villa in opulent surroundings and then lunch in the verandah restaurant which was wonderful. This included a lovely bottle of Soave which bore no relation to wine of the same name which we have often bought in UK supermarkets. We shared a lobster concoction starter which was delicious and then a grilled turbot for two (which was taken off the bone by our waiter) with scallop potatoes, tomatoes and vegetables. Again, absolutely delicious. We finished off with really good, if slightly different tiramusu desserts, some local dessert wine and coffee before we headed back to Como to catch the fast boat back to Bellagio. Service was friendly and professional and if you are willing to fork out around E300 this is a must do if you are anywhere around Lake Como.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den bosch
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I only stayed in the villa for 1 night, but since we arrived in the early morning and were able to stay until late afternoon the next day, it felt as if we stayed longer. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.
We booked a room with lake-view, they upgraded it to a junior suite and it was lovely.
We made a 3-hour boat trip at the lake and that was so nice! We had lunch in the town Bellagio and then the boat took us back to Villa d'Este, where we had our afternoon tea at the terrace. Lunch and dinner at the hotel is of high quality too, breakfast was especially nice because we were so lucky with the weather, sunny and warm, so we could sit outside and enjoy the view.
The staff is outstanding, for European standards it is absolutely the top, couldn't be better in any way.

Room Tip: Lake-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sp
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is maybe one of the best hotels in Europe. Magnificient property located meters from the Lake di Como with perfect gardens, decks, pools, tennis courses. You really feel like a king here. Rooms are very spacious with excellent amenities. In summer and spring, this is a place to see and be seen. The restaurants are good, but I have dined better. But it is just a matter of sitting at the Veranda restaurant with a lake view that you forget about the food. But take your tie and jacket if you plane to have dinner at the Veranda. No exception. As an alternative, you can eat at the Grill, a less format option at the hotel. Downsides: (1) shower inside the bathtub is quite complicated for elder people and those with any moving disability; (2) it was mid October and they have turned off the air conditioning in the entire hotel and rooms. There was only heating for a temperatura of 18 degrees Celsius. When I questioned about the air conditionding, I was told that it would be turn on only in Spring - by April 2014.... If I wanted to cool down the room I should leave the window opened... (that's for a room at 1,000 euros a night). Also, the bathroom was so hot - with no window - that you could stand no more than 15 minutes in it without feeling dizzy... But besides these minor things, everything else was beyond perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

For around 7 or 8 years now we have visited Cernobbio. As shall we say "seasoned but weary" travellers we are usually reluctant or sceptical of "going back". Most times the place just doesn't seem as good as our first visit. Not Villa D'Este. Every time we return we just cannot comprehend how truly superb this hotel is....we are never disappointed but always totally delighted to return. To sit on the terrace on arrival with a drink and absorb the view and ambience of Lake Como is one of lifes great travelling experiences. We have our favourite suite and the team are so helpful and obliging in every way.

Room Tip: You MUST have a lake view. We like to suites with a view of the Lake and the village towards Como
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely 4 night stay - classic elegance! Concierges are top notch. I really recommend walking around the grounds - there is a lovely path which leads to very nice vistas. The restauraunts are wonderful and breakfast buffet not to be missed. It is an easy walk to the ferry.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa d'Este, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.