We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VILLA d' Este” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa d'Este

Save Saved
You added Villa d'Este to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa d'Este
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cernobbio
TEXAS
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“VILLA d' Este”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Has to be the best hotel we have ever stayed. The staff is A ONE. Can't beat the view of the lake.
The pool is a real treat.The food was a mix of Italy and Swiss. It is a don't miss it place. I could go on and on, but could never be able to say enough. BUD CARTER

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    61
    34
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
290
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Villa d'Este is a truly magnificent property on the shores of Lake Como, Italy with it's own suspended swimming pool which is unique in itself. The staff are so well trained in hospitality, are always friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Queen's Pavillion with views of Como in the distance and overlooking the suspended pool.
The gardens are magnificent, the choice of restaurants varies from casual to elegant. Watching steam ferries travelling the lake from Como, Cernobbio and onto Bellagio is entertaining and a rare sight.
It's like stepping back into history but with all modern amenities and facilities one could ask for. It's been three years since our visit because we are always travelling and stay in other beautiful properties but Villa d'Este together with Hotel du Palais, Biarritz, France are our favourite European hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My visit this time was during the fall season and just a few weeks away from the hotel closing for the winter, and what a wonderful time for a visit if you like to have the place to yourself. There was a group from a well known financial institution conferencing there, and I am guessing it was a end-of year celebration for the best of the best financial analysts!

This late in the season we were able to have a lakefront junior suite for an amazing price, a room we would not even consider during the summer season for the reasons of price and availability. Our room was literally fit for a king with two balconys overlooking the lake and main entrance to the Cardinal building. The decor was VERY old world - red velvet, silk, and brocade, with gold leaf and chandeliers everywhere, not really my style, but it was certainly like living in another world - a fantasy world. The bathroom was floor to ceiling black and white marble.

We enjoyed most of our meals in the two dining rooms mainly for convenience, in addition to not wanting to leave this beautiful location. You will find a few restaurants just a short walk into town, with a couple of shops here and there, but you will find that you just want to sit and stare at the lake or explore the lovely grounds. We enjoyed the walking trails behind the hotel, which includes a full spa facility and indoor tennis courts. The chef's garden was delightful as well, and with "fall in the air" the landscape was beautiful as well. The weather was in the high 50s and perfect for exploring.

I am looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room and go off season for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Villa d'Este is probably the most exciting hotel i have ever been! You live in 'history' not present, heaven not earth. the whole experience, from the views, rooms, service and even the shower was out of this world. I highly recommend this hotel. Don't miss to walk in the fabulous gardens attached to the Hotel, and if you are lucky you will dine with George Clooney at the hotel restaurant, we were not!
One small comment though, the food was not up to the whole divine experience! But, this did not affect us at all...

Room Tip: Ask for top corner rooms, you will have great view from the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have to think that this is perhaps one of the most beautiful settings for a hotel in the world. My husband and I took our teen daughters here and they were in heaven taking pictures and drinking it all in. Comfy adjoining rooms had gorgeous marble bathrooms with all the amenities expected. My husband had all his shoes polished nightly over the course of our stay and they came back wrapped carefully in felt bags. This is just a sample of their attention to detail. Amazing work out facility and the concierge arranges for reasonably priced cars, so no reason to not go through them. The food is delicious, and yes, expensive, but that's to expect here. And oh what breakfasts! A spread on the buffet unlike any other. Belgian waffles, fresh salmon, crazy good chocolate croissants! Yes, I will come again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the more main hallways can be a little noisy. Avoid rooms facing the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

A close friend of mine invited our family to join his for their annual vacation to Villa d'Este. That was 3 years ago, and it is now a luxury that my family is unwilling to live without. First, breakfast is part of your stay, and I dream about it all year. It is amazing. An example of their attention to detail was they used to have apricot donuts, but this year when I noticed they were gone, I inquired. The hotel actually held a meeting, made them for us, delivered them to our room, and had them on our breakfast table for our entire stay. Perfection. Every July I will be there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have stayed at this beautiful property 3 times-each time for 3 nights. What an experience! Besides, the grandeur of the property, a beautiful view of the Lake Como, it has modern amenities. The Breakfast is outstanding. The complimentary WiFi is amazing-better than any other hotel I have stayed in.Italy.Best of all, the service at every level is amazing. They really treat you like royalty. My advice to friends has been- if you can afford it, this is a heavenly sojourn. So far, everyone who has gone there on my recommendation has loved it, thanked me profusely for the discovery and vowed to come back soon.

Room Tip: Must ask to stay in the main block. Try for a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste
Villa d Este
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, LHW, Expedia, Otel, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa d'Este, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.