We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waking up to singing birds in the center of a small Italian village on the Como lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Ristorante Giardino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Ristorante Giardino to your Saves list
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina, 73, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Waking up to singing birds in the center of a small Italian village on the Como lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

It's a legacy hotel. More and more hard to find this way these days.They are not build anymore in this fashion :-)

It's a hotel above a nice restaurant. The rooms are basic. And seems there is no elevator (I haven't seen one). Every room for sure is different as the building is old. But I felt at home right away! Of course Im biased (I basically grew up in a small hotel above a restaurant myself). We spent a good relaxing quiet night here.

Waking up with some sunlight seeping through the curtains a bit with the only sound being the loud singing of many birds. Very nice! :-) You can't get that experience in a modern hotel. Open the window a bit for nice fresh clean air. View on the 'giardino' with mountains in the background. Getting up to enjoy a great breakfast in the dimly lit quiet restaurant. Stepping out onto the village road of this heart-warming quiet Italian village. If you like this kind of thing this is a great place.

The rooms are a bit dated as is the bathroom but all is spotless clean and contain everything required for a good night sleep. Bring your own shampoo and soap as the ones provided are not very good.

We could leave our luggage at the hotel and went for a boat trip on the Como lake. The jetty is just 5 minutes walking down the road.

At lunch time we returned for a great lunch outside in the nice Giardino restaurant and to pick up our things.

We had a great time and keep a good memory.

Room Tip: A room on the garden side is very quiet and relaxing. A room on the road side could (possibly) be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albergo Ristorante Giardino, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review.
It's true... we are a small Hotel and we try every day to join a family friendly style with something more than a two stars Hotel!
Our Staff works like a family and we try to bring our feelings in this job to improve a simple overnight stay like a really old-fashioned experience in a small Hotel, with its history, its soul, never same as a chain Hotel.
Cernobbio helps us in this... walking through our small centre, along this beautiful lake...
We hope to host you soon!
Best Regards,

Roberta
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
26
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Albergo Ristorante Giardino live up to its name of being a restaurant first, an INN second. The , hotel itself is very basic, clean, neat and has all the basic you would need. get a room face the mountain/garden side will be quite. No complain about the room given the price charged compared to the neighbor fancy hotels. the food downstairs was fantastic, one of the best we had in the area. location is also very convenient and we were able to walk around in Cernobbio (a very very small town) A great choice for travel on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain/garden side are quieter but you could hear the restaurant downstairs if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in the very centre of Cernobbio, the staff is very helpful. They have a small parking but it may be full. The rooms facing the street can be noisy when you want to keep the window open in summer. The air conditioning in some rooms (we tried two rooms) may also be noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just three hundred meters down the road is one of the best and well known hotels of the world (Villa d'Este). The difference: certainly a much lower standard, but at a fraction of the rates of the other hotel. The room is standard, nothing fancy, in line what you can expect in this rate category. The big pro of the hotel is its garden and restaurant. Great service, good food, and a very appealing atmosphere. The hotel is centrally located and close to the boat stop at Cernobbio.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the garden side. The main road is very close to the front of the building, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Years ago I spent considerable time in northern Italy and was a frequent guest at the hotel. After an absence of 8 years I returned last weekend. The weather was terrible. The hotel and our stay there more than made up for it. Sure, the rooms are on the small side, but this is Europe, not Dallas. They are immaculate. But the real plus is the care that is shown to all guests - you are not really a guest, but a part of an extended family. And after 8 years away it was a wonderful homecoming. Cristino (the owner) is the most hands on manager any property could want and his attention to detail is fantastic. Mike, from the Philippines, who works the dining room, has been there 12 years and will take excellent care of you. It is not on the lake, so views are non-existent. If you want views, pay 3x as much and head to the lake front. The value at Giardino is exceptional. Suggestion: tour the lake and take the boat from the local stop and spend 2 hours getting to Bellagio.

Room Tip: No pool. No kid's activities. But the area has many activities that are "kid" friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albergo Ristorante Giardino, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for your beautiful words on behalf of all our Staff, Cristino and Mike first.
Unfortunately the weather does not give us any chance this year...
Waiting for the sun, we look forward to host you soon one more time.
Thanks for sharing your review on TripAdivisor.
Best Regards,

Roberta
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

In the heart of Cernobbio, close both to the lake and shopping & restaurants, a nice small hotel. I had a single room, not very spacious but clean and well equipped with all I needed, also air-conditioning. Friendly personnel, especially at the breakfast buffet. No problem for early morning check-out, breakfast was ready some 20 inutes prior to given time. Very good value for a two-star hotel.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have heavy luggage ask a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albergo Ristorante Giardino, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mrs Lisa,
thank you very much for your review. I read your writing to Morena, who usually takes care of breakfast.
We hope to host you soon.
Best Regards,

Roberta
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had dinner at the Giardino Pizzeria. It was the BEST pizza we had while in Italy!! My husband got one of the meat pizzas and I had a calzone. The calzone was bigger than my head! You get a lot for your money at this restaurant. We highly recommend Giardino's....wonderful food, great wait staff and a beautiful setting!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albergo Ristorante Giardino, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guests,
we thank you very much for your beautiful review. We hope to host you again when you will come back to Italy... thanks for choosing our Restaurant.
Best Regards,

Roberta Colletta
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.1 mi away
Albergo Centrale
Albergo Centrale
#3 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#5 of 7 in Cernobbio
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asnigo Hotel
Asnigo Hotel
#6 of 7 in Cernobbio
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regina Olga Hotel
Regina Olga Hotel
#7 of 7 in Cernobbio
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Giardino

Address: Via Regina, 73, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Ristorante Giardino 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Giardino Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Ristorante Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.