We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Colla 55, 17015 Celle Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Celle Ligure
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on way back from Rome. Nice hotel with good lift access to all floors. Rooms are roomy and modern but no air-conditioning.

Restaurant serves a limited menu with some choice but waitress did not speak english. Food is very good and well priced as is wine.

The problem with this hotel is it is across road from railway so it is noisy all night especially as you have to leave window open.

Not for the light sleeper

Room Tip: One on opposite side to railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    35
    29
    37
See reviews for
27
55
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vandel, Denmark
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is located very close to beach and In the middle of the town. But the view is bad.
The room was acceptable . Parking is nearly a hell. The food awfull. The staff cannot speak english and was incompetent.
But the town and beach and the local people very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

for the first time in my life i was asked to pay 25 euro more if i want to use the air condition that was in the room !!!, the staff is not friendly at all,the breakfast is minimum i will never go to there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have visited this hotel a few month ago. The rooms suit one star hotel and prices. The toilets and other utilities were dirty. The personnel isn't frienldy and bearly understands english. If you are interested in being bashed around and in throwing your money down the drain, consider visiting it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night, having read previous reviews. As a result, we weren't expecting much. The room on the 4th floor was very average: clean and had everything we needed. It faced the railway line, so the view wasn't great. The trains weren't that frequent during the night and I didn't hear them, but my partner did.

Indeed, it seemed that there were no hotels on the waterfront (which is beautiful); they're all clustered around the railway station, so ideal if you're coming in by train.

If you're coming by car, there are only a handful of parks in the hotel, so you have to try your luck and hunt down a carpark outside. Go for a white parking spot, rather than a blue one -- then your time parking there isn't limited.

The hotel is well located, just a short stroll away from shops, restaurant and the beach.

The worst bit? The breakfast, probably the lousiest I've had anywhere. The previous reviewers were not wrong!

The best bit? The extremely friendly receptionist -- very welcoming and charming.

For €85 it was fine. Just don't expect much... and head down to one of the seaside cafes for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Booked at short notice, so not cheap. Good location - 150m walk to the beach. Managed to book a secure parking space by email. Bedroom was fine. A little noisy with road junction and railway station alongside. Bathroom primitive, but OK (hand held shower, with no screen or curtain). Breakfast very basic indeed: watery orange juice from a machine, tepid milk for basic cereals, warm, slightly rancid butter, instant coffee. We asked nicely and managed to obtain good cappuccini from the bar. If it were cheaper, I would stay here again, but go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side, away from the railway, should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

I've just returned from a 8 nights' stay at this hotel with my husband and 4-years old daughter.
Good points:
- ideally located, 150 mt. from the beach, the railway station and the playground
- rooms are spacious (ours had been refurbished a few years ago, it had a marble bathroom and the furniture was in good condition)
- affordable rates
- big and free parking lot just opposite the hotel
Bad points:
- catering is quite poor: we had paid for half board (breakfast and dinner). Breakfast is served near the lobby, tables are very small and the choice of food is quite narrow. Despite offering 3 different first courses and 3 different main courses, I would not say that the menu was satisfactory: portions are big but in the end you can only make a choice between pasta and soup. Serving staff was corteous but always seemed too busy.
- cleaning: the room itself was clean but the balcony had obviously not been cleaned for a long time. Floors in the common areas (especially in the restaurant) did not really appeared to be "spic and span".
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to families who need a quick access to the beach (as we did) and like a no-frills approach.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — catering
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Colla 55, 17015 Celle Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Celle Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Celle Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Celle Ligure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.