We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Pescatore

Hotel Al Pescatore
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Pescatore to your Saves list
Hotel Al Pescatore
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Caldura, 7, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Priddis, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Needs Improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The pluses with this hotel are its location and there is free parking right there. The lady who checked us in was fabulous - she provided us with maps and lots of information on the attractions in the area. However, our room was small and dark. It was clean, but there were loose knobs, one of the shower doors was missing, the built-in hairdryer was split into pieces and we had no hot water for our showers. The breakfast was poor - the corenettos and the buns were stale and caffe was from a machine. The cheeses and meats looked like they might have been out for several days.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before checking in and plan to have breakfast elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
8
35
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Al Pescatore was our only choice at a reasonable price, as every other place in Cefalu was full. However, the price of 60 euros for a double room proved to be somewhat unreasonable, as the room was very seedy, only superficially clean (meaning that we didn't really feel like touching anything in there), and just depressing as hell. The breakfast was a sad event indeed, with three wieners on a plate and a few not very good croissants. The staff were, however, nice, and were trying to do their best.
This was our most expensive night in our trip around Sicily and also the worst.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaffikon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

A real alternative in busy Cefalu! Literally on the other side of the rock, near the tourist harbour, quiet, good bed, great view to the rock from the rooms at the back, car park! Very friendly hotel run by a family. The beautiful walk to town is along the coast and takes 15 min.
Irene and Nik from Switzerland

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

After staying at several other hotels during my recent visit to Italy, I found Al Pescatore Hotel in Cefalu to be my VERY best experience, even compared to several much more expensive hotels. Al Pescatore was immaculately clean, very modern and totally comfortable and quiet with an awesome view of the Mediterranean. The location is great, an easy walk to the town center and attractions with taxis available as well. But best of all was the wonderful Sicilian family that owns and runs this hotel. Ms. Anna, the owner and her daughters truly treated me like family. They always had a smile for me and willingly helped me with every need I had, Ms. Anna even made phone calls on my behalf on her cell phone. She is a truly a "people person", very sincere, who makes you feel "at home" and her daughters, Grace and Zeudi are equally kind and helpful. Their morning breakfast was delightful and included fabulous cannoli and other excellent Sicilian pastries along with many Italian coffee options. There is a very nice restaurant and also a sandwich shop/bar in the same building called Al Solito Posto ("The Usual Place") with great, reasonably-priced foods and desserts and a great counter-girl, Francesca. Overall, this hotel deserves a very high rating and Signora Anna said they would probably receive an additional star next time due to all the investments and upgrades the family has recently made to the hotel. I have been to Italy three times and stayed at many places but Al Pescatore was my very favorite hotel experience by far! I ended up staying for three days (and actually didn't want to leave)!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel was extremely noisy and we had a disgusting balcony view over the back which stunk of sewage. It reminded us of a hospital of some sort. The breakfast was revolting. Dont bother , stay elsewhere! the only thing that was a plus was the location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

When we got into Cefalu on a Friday night, all of the beachfront hotels were booked...most of which were 120 Euros / night. As we drove out of town, spotted the sign for Al Pescatore. It's only 2km away from the centro and they had rooms at 75 euros which overlooked the marina from the balcony. We stayed two nights. Grace, the mamager, speaks English and she was very helpful. They have free Wifi as well. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We only spent one night there, but were quite pleased with the hotel. The room was decent sized and had an ok bathroom as well. The furniture was old, but the room looked freshly painted and it was all clean. We enjoyed having a room towards the back since we got a good sized terrace to ourselves. It had a sun lounger and a chair and a table. Another chair would have been good, but we used one from the room and enjoyed sitting outside a little. We had no problem with noise, but I’m not sure who many guests they had that night. Breakfast was amazing for someone who loves sweets, it seemed like half a pastry shop and was more than I would expect at a two star hotel. We also were quite pleased with a friendly reception.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Pescatore

Address: Contrada Caldura, 7, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Pescatore 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Pescatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Pescatore Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Pescatore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.