We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with location and cleanliness of this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via A.Gramsci, 2, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very pleased with location and cleanliness of this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I laughed when I read that the other reviewer said the hotel was hard to find because it is literally across the street from the train station (though perhaps the other reviewer was driving). It is great if you are taking the train and have heavy luggage, which we did. The hotel is spacious, clean, and an easy walk to the beach. The wifi was reasonably fast and the a/c was nice and cold. The service was very friendly; they have a contract with one of the beach lidos which entitles you to a nice discount! My only complaint is that in my room the mattress had no give - it was as hard as a rock. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    82
    32
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

difficult to find these hotel (parking, stairs...). Bad view. Room and bathroom too small. Bad quality/price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying 5 nights at this hotel, and can recommend it strongly.

This small hotel offers new rooms with excellent standard. The air condition worked flawlessly. The mattress was a true double mattress and very comfortable. The TV set had a plethora of channels. The balcony with table and chairs was ideal for luncheon. There was no noise, even if this hotel is situated only 1 minute down the street from the train station. Safe in room. The breakfast table offers a small, but varied and high quality choice.

Service in this hotel was exceptionally good. Angelo, Natale and signora Pina run this as a cosy family hotel with friendly and personal service. Maids Rosa and Enza assure impeccable cleanliness.

Cefalù is a wonderful, small city with a magnificent 12th century cathedral, a charming old city, lots of restaurants and shops. The hotel is situated right south of the old city, with the train station, 2 supermarkets and the beach within a few minutes walk.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Well located hotel on one floor of an apartment block, well positioned for the train station, beach and historic centre. Entrance is across the road from the station and down a flight of steps, so shielded from traffic noise and overlooking thickly planted grounds which help to shade the spacious breakfast room. Rooms are spacious, light and airy and well equipped with safe, frig, and even a clothes line discreetly located outside the window. Everything looked new and the room was kept sparkling clean as was the entire hotel. The family ownership is very much in evidence. There is minute attention to detail and nothing is too much trouble. The buffet breakfast is extremely generous with a wide choice. Guests are made to feel very welcome and that their comfort and convenience is of prime importance. There is private parking at the rear of the hotel and anyone approaching from the beach could enter from the street and use the lift to arrive within the hotel, so avoiding the steps. Value for money is excellent and the Mediterraneo is an hotel I warmly recommend and will certainly use on a future visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed one night at Hotel Mediterraneo on my way to Milazzo (late May 2012). I chose it because of its proximity to the station and the favourable reviews it had on Trip Advisor. For the price I was expecting a basic single room - small, probably old and rather plain though clean (I had no recollection of having seen photos as I'd booked in a hurry and in any case photos can be misleading), and instead found that the hotel was far superior to the usual hotels I stay in for that price. I had booked a single and received a very spacious double. Everything was new. Breakfast was good. Staff were very helpful, particularly the young man on during the day. The hotel's a bit of a walk to the main town (maybe 10 minutes) but is only 2 minutes from the station (you can't hear the trains.) Tip: entrance is down the stairs to the right of the building. My only complaints were that the hairdryer was one of those useless ones that look like a vacuum cleaner, and no shower cap was supplied, though I'm sure if I'd asked for one they probably would have had them. For the price it was outstanding value. Probably in high season it would be much more expensive, given that Cefalu' is a resort town. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

A good budget hotel ideally located for travellers arriving from the train station (the hotel is in front of the station entrance on the left) and a five minute walk from the beach. The hotel is clean and has a friendly family feel to it.

The room was comfortable and had a nice balcony albeit with a view of the neighbouring apartments. The room had air conditioning, satellite television, a shower unit and a large double bed. Breakfast had a choice of meats, croissants and home-made cakes.

In Cefalù it is difficult to find reasonably priced hotel accommodation. We paid €80 per night for a stay of four nights at Hotel Mediterraneo in September, which I felt was very reasonable for the standard of the hotel.

In short Cefalù is a beautiful seaside town and you could do a lot worse than stay at Hotel Mediterraneo on your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at the Hotel Mediterraneo and were overall very happy.
Should you arrive by train to Cefalù, then head to the left and you find the hotel just about 75m away. Don’t get fooled by a sign that shows down the stairs (directly opposite the train station) !!! (Oct. 2011) It is wrong, someone must have turned it around once and not put back.
We were on the first floor, no. 104, our room was clean (including the bathroom) and we had a small balcony (view to a parking place) where you could hang out your wet bathing clothes. There was a small safe, a TV and a mini bar in the room. A small comment regarding the toilet: it was not put in with the best sense of space and taller people than us might probably have difficulties to fit in !
The staff is very friendly and also keen to help.
For breakfast there is a buffet, simple but ok. We tried it once but then preferred to go to have breakfast at the Pasticceria Pietro Serio just 5 min. walking away. Try the iris de ricotta – delicious !
It is easy to get to the old town (just follow the road passing the train station) and takes about 10 to 15 min. walking
We would choose this hotel again for our next stay at Cefalù.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via A.Gramsci, 2, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cefalu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#12 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Cefalu
Hotel Mediterraneo Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.