We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Santa Lucia, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Family run hotel on the outskirts of Cefalu - a charming, picturesque town 20 minutes walk away along the promenade, built around the magnificent Norman Church, in a beautiful piazza.

Rooms are dated but spotlessly clean and well cared for. There are three buildings and a program of refurbishment is in progress (and did not intrude on our stay in any way!). The sea view rooms are in shade much of the day - the mountain view rooms get full sun, so take your pick! Bathrooms are fine. Balconies have two chairs and no table, which is strange?

The traditional pool area is always in full sun and there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols - you need to take your own beach towels as the hotel does not provide them.

The hotel beach at the foot of hotel is lovely, very clean, clear water, fine golden sand and stunning views.

Some might say the breakfast lacks variety, but it is a typical Continental / Sicilian breakfast - cereal, fresh bread, continental meats, yoghurt etc.

Evening meals were very good - salad and/or soup, a pasta dish, a meat or fish course and a dessert - plus the table service was excellent, front desk service less so!

All in all a very good holiday hotel. We loved it!

Room Tip: The Blu Bar in the basement provides good evening entertainment. The Bar / Coffee Bar at the entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan_100_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
katowice
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel was good, I would suggest to pay extra for sea view room, we have got room with very small bacony (hardly 2 people could fit there).The room was dark but comfy, food was really delicious especially dinners. I would reccomend for young couples, at the disco bar music was playing all night long ( even closed window did not help), We have chosen that hotel because of the location which is amazin, Cefalu is beautiful, 15 min walking distance from the hotel. Beach is very small, I would not reccomend for people which like to spend time at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karolina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is an exiting place. When you wake up every morning you go to your private balcony with an unforgettable view. You have 5 min walking distance to the hotel beach and 15 min to the historical town Cefalu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radoslaw K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I cannot understand all the poor reviews for this 3 star rated hotel. Spent 4 nights there with husband and daughter on 4th floor (room 414) with great sea view in a spacious room with adequate bathroom. Fridge was included at no extra cost. Room and hotel was very clean. Old fashioned yes but not worn out!

We were given a table for our stay, food was good but not much choice. We were given two choices of starter and mains and you had to give your choices to the waiter the evening before. Waiters and all other staff pleasant enough. Was disappointed that the Blue Bar was closed during our stay (end of season). Visited the bar in the adjoining building where we had drinks, ice cream and pizza - this bar is frequented by the locals and is quite lively. Pleasant walk down into Cefalu either by the steps to the beach or on the main road.

Cefalu was wonderful so interesting a real delight to walk around. I cant wait to return - however next time we will ensure that we check out the trains are all running - our last day was a festival day and the train station was closed when we went for our train and so encountered a 120 euro fare to the airport. Rail travel is very cheap and a good way to get around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hop2it_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opole, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We've stayed in the hotel one week (15 - 22 September 2012).
Hotel was totally worn out. Horrible acoustic - forget if you want to have a good sleep - you hear your neighbours coming back around the midnight, you hear your neighbours waking up for breakfast in the morning. You hear the noise from all the toilets/bathrooms above and around you.

Food was of a very poor quality, not variated. Breakfast very limited - every day the same set, 2 different sorts of cheese, 2 different sort of ham, strawberry, peach jam, youghurt, milk, 2 sorts of cereals.


During dinner you you get "attractions" like local articst singing Elvis Presley or Eros Ramazzotti and Cher in one :)

Air-co was switched off 2 days after we arrived (hote staff said: end of the season).

The beach: dirty, with stones.

The hotel is situated very closely to the railway line but it's not at all
burdensome. On the contrary if you get the room looking out on the street you hear cars driving all the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puwsioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cefalu hotels

Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

3 adults (twin & 1 single) h/board. Arrived late at the hotel at 11:30pm and we were left to find our own way to our rooms.After 20mins got help from the kitchen staff.We missed our first eveing meal,but in our rooms was a cold meat platter(nice touch).We found the food in the hotel was very good(open buffet for breakfast,day before menu choice evening 3 course meal
waiter sevice).There is a small fridge in the room.Very nice pool area and free carparking.The hotel is on a busy road junction and is very noisy.It was very hot,but weirdly the hotel switches off the air-con on 15th Sept,so had to sleep with the windows open.About 100 steps down to the narrow/long but very clean beach.Cefalu town is about 15 walk and is very pleasant with shops & restuarants.All-in-all a pretty good holiday,8/10

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the sea,its a bit more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJWBridgnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

holiday booked via newmarket holidays,hotel grading 3star. Only recommendation I can give is for the maid service,however, rooms sparce and 8 euro daily charge for air con, apparantly took effect from 15.09.12. trip 28/9/12-06/10/12. Phone in room did not have a dial tone. Steps to beach steep, cannot comment upon beach apart from lack of it. Bins in stair vicinity unemptied, broken glass strewn over walkway. 3 course eve menu was a hoot, pretentious and arrogant waiters,took on look of a school dinner hall, with full lighting on. Desserts were bought in and still frozen upon service to clientel. Upgraded to balcony and sea view, adjacent to balcony was trainline and balcony itself no more than 3 ft in width,no handle on outside of sliding door and room on 2nd floor, I view this a Health and safety issue. Nil toilet in lobby or pool area, I perceive this to make guests attend cafe area to purchase snack to be allowed use of toilets. Lobby area seating unkept with rips and tears in seating, not masked ,but, in line of vision upon first arrival. Nil daily entertainment and bar was two tables pushed together with a tablecloth over and two coolers, beer 400% mark up to supermarket and wine also, 3.99 euro supermarket and 13 euro per bttle. Sicily was wonderful what was seen, thankfully. Rep gave only minimal information as to daily trip itinerary, concluded in full day not taken advantage of, i.e beach stop, but, nil bather/towel etc. due to nil informed. I have had pleasurable experiences throughout my stays in Italy,however, this trip was a hammer house of horror, the hotel should be renamed 'fawlty towers' or may be seen in a future victoria wood episode. I think it is one for 'The Hotel Inspector' -UK television.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darlenelarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.5 mi away
Baia del Capitano
Baia del Capitano
#11 of 36 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#9 of 36 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 36 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#13 of 36 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#3 of 36 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro

Address: Contrada Santa Lucia, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Lucia e Le Sabbie D'Oro Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing