We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Marinaio

Locanda del Marinaio
Via Porpora 5, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
+39 0921 423295
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 91 Restaurants in Cefalu
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pasta, Chowder
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, very pleasant seating inside and out and marvellous food. I can't say we tried every restarant in Cefalu, but this would be hard to beat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    97
    26
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
S Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Cefalu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I had the beef carpaccio (divine), bruschetta (delicious), spaghetti with clams and fresh pesto tagliatelle. All the food was presented beautifully, without the lashings of iceberg lettuce seen in other restaurants here. The service was friendly and relaxed, and the setting (indoor and out) was lovely. We finished with a freshly made tiramisu, the best we've had. There were several tables of locals eating here, including some waiting for tables to become free. Easily the tastiest and most thoughtful food in the town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance on the first afternoon of our arrival in Cefalu. We looked in and saw that a large table was reserved, and then a young couple passed by and were disappointed that the restaurant was closed. We took a chance and went there that evening, and the food was excellent, and the service very good and never rushed. We ate there several times after that and were never disappointed. The first time it was a chilly evening so we ate inside. What also impressed us was was the modern, clean and bright look of the restaurant with white-washed tables and chairs. (Also one of the smartest loos!) Of all the restaurants we ate in, this was our favourite and the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent meal in a friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I were so impressed by this new restaurant that we ended up visiting twice in our five day stay in Cefalu. Compared to the other restaurants in Cefalu old town, many of which I felt were overpriced with excessively long menus, Locanda del Marinaio offered something different. The dishes were all beautifully presented and the service friendly and welcoming. The fish antipasti plate was excellent, as was the broccoli and almond pasta.

Good luck to the restaurant with this new venture - definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food but couple of pointers to watch out for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Reading trip advisor before we went, saw this as a new restaurant that did food that was different. We agree, food was great and staff attentive. Nice spot, central with dinning area inside and on the street. Couple of minor issues, perhaps language. The waiter mis understood my wife's order and she ended up with a tomato salad as a main course despite clearly asking for the sword fish and then a bit naughty, offered lemonchello in a complimentaty way and found we'd been charge for them. Worth going but be clear on what you order and watch out for what you are charged.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda del Marinaio also viewed

Cefalu, Province of Palermo
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
 
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Locanda del Marinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda del Marinaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.