We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riva del Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riva del Sole to your Saves list
Hotel Riva del Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lungomare G Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Crosby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth a stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a week visiting other areas of Sicily.The hotel staff were very welcoming with easy car parking and assistance with luggage a bonus in the modern era. The room was fine [we opted for a more expensive sea facing room] Comfortable bed,good wi-fi connection and little noise from outside were all pluses. Only disappointment in the room was the lack of hot water in the shower . Only other negative was the limited breakfast-lovely location in the garden area but lacking healthy cereals. As others have noted, location is great -opposite the beach and close to the old town. Cefalu is a gem with a beautiful old town full of good restaurants and shops. The beach is very good -it was still very warm and the sea was perfect for both serious swimming and "paddling". The hotel was generally good and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Front,beach facing rooms on the first floor are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    66
    39
    22
    10
See reviews for
32
124
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much in spite of some of the negative comments below being true. Optimal position opposite the beach, 2 minutes walk from the old town - maybe 5 to the duomo. Good parking arrangements. All that stops me giving 5 points is the feeling, expressed many times below, that they (the owners) don't really want you there and that as long as you are there, they want to rip you off. The 'extra's for breakfast include fresh orange juice at 3 Euros!

Room Tip: If you like spending time in your room, you need a sea view. The 'garden view' which we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is right across from the ocean. We had a room with a balcony and wonderful ocean view. When I tried to book with the hotel, they wanted me to take the 1/2 board but we wanted to be free to explore in town so I reserved on booking.com and got a much better price with only breakfast included.

The rooms were very nice but the air conditioning isn't great. The staff was amazing! We looked forward to going to breakfast, not only because there was a great selection of food but because the staff was so charming! We were hesitant to book it because of some of the reviews we read but other than the air conditioning not being great (which is normal for Sicily), everything was wonderful!

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the main town which is filled with delightful stores and wonderful restaurants. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel - the room was comfortable and we had a large sea front balcony. We were warmly welcomed by Guiseppe who also helped us to the room with our bags. We found the lady and gentleman, who we think are the owners, to be less welcoming and conversation or interaction with them was a little grudging. This may be to do with language differences but most other people seem to manage even if they don't know a word of English so this was disappointing. There are some very strictly- worded Rules! - particularly that NO food or drink can be taken into the hotel. Water can be purchased from the mini bar - Hm! - seems grudging again not to at least have a welcoming bottle of water gratis on arrival. Most B & Bs do this. Breakfast was fine - the usual mix of breads, cheese and meats, eggs and sweet pastries - perfectly sufficient and well presented. It say on the web site that Trappist could be provided from the stations the hotel but this no longer seems to be the policy. We had to take a taxi for 10 Euros (outrageous) for a journey of less than 5 minutes - if you aren't heavy laden, as we were, then just walk.

Room Tip: First floor was fine and make a point of ensuring full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Like other people have commented on here, it feels like they are doing you a favour. No manners or helpfulness at all considering the crazy price they charge for what is a very dated hotel with tiny rooms. If you want a warm welcome, don't come here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel has a nice location just beside a long fine beach. The rooms are of good quality. Our room had a nice view to the sea. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was served in the garden. Good quality restaurant, but the distance to other good (and cheaper) restaurants was not long.

Room Tip: Sea view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Situated in a perfect spot. Close to the beach and close to the town. You have to walk uphill to get to the piazza but any hotel would present the same issue. The service was great and they were very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riva del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riva del Sole

Address: Via Lungomare G Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riva del Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riva del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Del Sole Cefalu
Riva Del Sole Hotel
Hotel Riva Del Sole Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riva del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.