We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for the price.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riva del Sole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riva del Sole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riva del Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lungomare G Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 hotels in Cefalu
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the price.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

First impressions were lovely. The entrance is light and bright. However, after that it went downhill for me. I was travelling with my husband and elderly parents. My brother had booked two sea view rooms for us several weeks before, but when we checked in only one was available. Both rooms were poky, with a washroom built for hobbits. I'm not tall by any standards, but even I had to stoop, and my 6 foot tall husband practically had to kneel to get in!
There was no ensuite shower, with 5 rooms sharing two showers in the corridor. One was unusable as it was broken, and the other had a mere trickle of warmish water.
My parents took the sea view room, which is a complete misnomer, as to see the sea one had to go out onto the tiny balcony and peer over a stone parapet. Our so-called garden view room looked out onto the industrial side of the hotel with no garden in sight of any description.
We paid 110 euros per night for this rubbish. I would never go there again.

Room Tip: Do not take the cheaper option on the top floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    35
    18
    9
See reviews for
30
109
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great location but not worth extra expense. Also can be too noisy. Plenty of other options near the beach. Spectacular lobby is worth a look even if not staying there. Climbing The Rock is a must and the views every step of the way were fabulous!

Room Tip: Do not stay on top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here with extended family (party of 7 including 1 child) for a week at the end of May. The hotel is perfectly located, easily reachable from Palermo (which we flew in to - c. 1 hour drive) and right on what must be the best beach in Sicily. We had 3 rooms across 7 people, and each room was extremely spacious, clean and well maintained. Whilst there were messages in the rooms requested that no food or drink were consumed in them, no-one questioned us buying bottles of water for the night so that did not cause a problem. Breakfasts were well varied, and whilst it was disappointing that they are served in the basement rooms rather than the beautiful restaurant, that was my only negative comment here. The hotel's best asset by far is the staff. The concierge spoke brilliant English and was so warm and welcoming. And I must also mention the bar staff who looked after us in the evenings and made a drink before bed with the family a really lovely time. The only point I would flag to any other families staying is the lack of pool (clearly mentioned by the hotel - we did not expect one) - the sea can get quite rough so if you have young children wanting to swim, maybe consider a villa/hotel with a pool to accommodate this. All in, the hotel made our stay even more special and I highly recommend to anyone. Previous issues flagged on this website (lack of hot water, lack of internet access) were not encountered thankfully so I think the owner has taken note.

Room Tip: Sea view is definitely worth getting if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Riva del Sole in mid May for 1 night. It is perfectly located in Cefalu opposite the beach and just a short 5min walk to the old town.

The service was fantastic, our bags were taken straight up to our room and we were always greeted by multiple staff members on the ground floor. We had a sea view room with a balcony which did not disappoint. The room was clean and spacious. There was a safe and a mini bar fridge. The bathroom was small yet good. The hotel offered free wifi which worked well for us. It was still fairly cold so breakfast was served inside with a large selection of Italian pastries and yogurt. The hotel also offered free parking at a large lot next door, on the road the hotel is very easy to find as it is well signposted. It is a 3 star hotel with 5 star service, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse station
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

lovely hotel with a fabulous staff, across the street from the beach. They also have a very good restaurant(which we ate at). We had a room facing the garden which was very nice. Rooms also face the beach and the sea with nice balcony's. Elevator is available. Breakfast included. Want anything, just ask. Cleanliness beyond belief. I have read some negative reviews about certain things, I will tell you that those people should stay home and go to the Jersey shore. Typical American tourists who think they deserve. NO. This pace is wonderful, so Go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Having screwed up and missed booking one night's lodging, we searched TripAdvisor and decided to try Riva del Sole. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is immaculately clean, with marble lobby floors and tiled rooms. Breakfast buffet was abundant, with ample choices for healthy eating, as well as pastries. The view from the dining room is an expansive ocean view.

Service staff at check-in as well as at breakfast were helpful.

The hotel is right on the waterfront, across from the esplanade. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Better to stay on the top (2nd) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very well-kempt and spotless hotel. We had spacious room with a sea view. Enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watching the locals on their evening promenade, passegiata. The sandy beach is just on the other side of the street and you can get beach towels from the reception. The hotel has its own little parking place which comes handy for those with a rental car.
The place seems to be family-owned and I suspect it is run by the solemn-looking older gentleman in guard at the reception and keeping the staff members, and the customers alike, on their tiptoe. It is the first time I have stayed in a hotel where "it is forbidden to bring own drinks or food in the room", assumingly in order to make the customers use the overpriced mineral water and soft drink content of the minibar.
The hotel seems to be saving on hot water as well as on air-conditioning - both of which were turned off and not available even on request. It is a pity, since the owner could have an excellent rating for his hotel by just providing these basic services and a smile to his customers, who nevertheless pay a comparably high price (125 e per night) for their stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riva del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riva del Sole

Address: Via Lungomare G Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riva del Sole 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Riva del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Del Sole Cefalu
Riva Del Sole Hotel
Hotel Riva Del Sole Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riva del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.