We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarrely ornate but very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riva del Sole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riva del Sole to your Saves list
Hotel Riva del Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lungomare G Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Derby
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bizarrely ornate but very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Extraordinary decor, totally out of step with its neighbours. I wasn't very sure when we first went in but the welcome was first class from the man who showed us where the car park was to the lovely chap who coached me on how to say our room number in Italian.

I was slightly disappointed that breaksfast was served in the bowels of the hotel and not in the lovely dining room with its sea views.

Our room was clean and spacious, the balcony accommodate 2 chairs with room to spare and the location is tip top, a stone's thow from the old town and over the road from the beach.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, or there's not point being there! The beach road didn;t have a huge amount of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    69
    40
    22
    10
See reviews for
33
127
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We turned up in Cefalu looking for somewhere to stay and relax following a busy week touring Sicily, in late October. Having called in at various hotels in town, we decided on a double room at the front of the Rive del Sole, over-looking the beach, offered to us at an excellent rate with free parking. Despite being at the front of the hotel, the road traffic was not a problem and we fell asleep each night to the sound of the sea. The hotel is impecabbly clean, comfortable, well-run and has a team of helpful staff. Cefalu is charming and a nice contrast to some of the down-trodden places we had seen on our travels, and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A hotel that has invested lots and lots of money into good quality, over the top, classic decor that you’d expect to find in a luxury 5 star hotel in the Middle East. A bit of a misfit in a charming old town of humble origins with the remains of an atmosphere of a fishing village. If you like modern, contemporary design décor, you’ll feel out of place in this hotel. If you are into Zen atmosphere/design, don’t stay here. This is, above all, just a matter of personal taste and our random choice to stay in the hotel was not to evaluate its design/décor. All we needed was a comfortable place to sleep for one night on our way back to Palermo. We were allocated, at a correct price, a very big pleasant room with lots of space, excellent bathroom, giant size bed and all other comforts which more than met our needs. I have read in other reports that the air-conditioning goes off during the night. Although it was October, we needed the air-conditioning to sleep as the window had to be closed. At about 3am the room was too hot for sleeping and we had to spend the rest of the night with the window open to cool the room down. Although the fan was working, I think the cooling unit had been switched off however, I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt. Why should a hotel offering an atmosphere of such grand splendour have to make minimal savings on energy costs during the night ? We had advised of our departure at 6.30am for an early morning train and didn’t expect breakfast or any other service but the night porter insisted on making us a cappuccino to get us started for our trip to Palermo; it was well appreciated and a kind gesture. Would we stay here again? If we had no other choice, we’d be happy to do so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

drove in to town and picked hotel based on location and frommers description and tp s aas well..clean spacious romes friendly accomadating staff huge breakfast that i hated to leave wide spacious public areas big rooms with plenty of closet space nice bathroom ..got ocean view easy parking discounted on a very nice beach and best of all it was an easy walk to the meevil section of town...i definitley plan to return here for a longer stay ...great beach venue....hope tnot too many americanos find out about this mediterranian gem

Room Tip: always ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The location of this hotel can't be beat. Across the road from the beach and gets you a discount at the private beach facilities of Poseidon lido. We had an ocean view room which has a very tiny balcony but it came in handy for leaving the doors open overnight and getting some breeze and fresh air in the room. It was a very airless room despite air conditioning, which I suspect wasn't working or they turn off overnight. The room was basic but clean, the breakfast served in the garden was one of the better ones we've experienced on our travels, but I found the staff, especially the manager, to be quite uninterested and a bit stand-offish. It still didn't detract from the location,the cleanliness and breakfast which are paramount. Good to have free wifi available too. Restaurant serves lunch and dinner - menu looks good but we didn't eat there

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view room- you might need it for the fresh air. Just take your mosquito spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Location! Location! Location! Cental to town, beach, restaurants. Parking is free around the corner. Very nice, clean hotel. Helpfull staff, good service. Breakfast is ok, can improve the variety. Internet is working and fast!! Take a map at the front desk and go explore town, make sure you climb up the La Rocca ( the views are incredible from up there). They deserve at least 4 stars!!! We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our last day in Sicily was "unplanned," and, since my wife loves the beach, we headed for Cefalu. This hotel was right across the street from the best beach in town, so we stayed there for the day and have no regrets. The room and all public areas are clean, newly renovated, and tasteful - the restaurant is surprisingly good for the modest size of the hotel. They took my rental car and found a parking spot for free (no little effort in this town) and we spent a relaxing day on the beach. The town is only a few blocks away and has its own charm. Sit on the veranda in the evening, have cocktail, and watch the evening Passeggiata!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter at night, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Riva del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riva del Sole

Address: Via Lungomare G Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riva del Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Riva del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Del Sole Cefalu
Riva Del Sole Hotel
Hotel Riva Del Sole Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riva del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.