We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kalura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kalura to your Saves list
Hotel Kalura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vincenzo Cavallaro 13, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Despite being out of season and all the hotels in the area being on strike, the hotel honoured our booking and were really welcoming. The room had a stunning sea view which would be even better in the summer. The breakfast was lovely and the owners were really helpful with recommendations and directions. You can walk to the town easily, along a sea road in about 15 minutes. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    165
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
59
221
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel Kalura has a lovely area for swimming and sunbathing that allows you to plunge right into the crystal clear Mediterranean from a concrete platform. For those preferring a beach there is a pebble one next to the hotel as well.

The view from the balcony is absolutely astonishing. Would say it is a must to pay extra for a room with a sea view as the other rooms faced the parking which would bring down the overall impression of the hotel.

Rooms as such are a bit out dated and not very cozy but functional. A word of warning if service of staff is important for you – this is non-existing and staff on several occasions boarder lined rude. Also a minus for charging 5 EUR for pool towels. A last comment to take into account is that the hotel is a 30 minute walk to town.

What brings the hotel up is the location and view. Never had a more beautiful view from our balcony.

Best –Views, Swimming area
Good – Breakfast
Not so good – Staff friendliness (or lack thereof)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omis, Croatia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I like how much we got for low price we paid, breakfast was good but seved outside on terace on sun even better. Bad thing is that Wifi was not available in the rooms, there is not clasical shower so water goes all around toilet. Furniture is a little bit outdated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arrived expecting two beds, got one, and were immediately upgraded to a suite with not only two but three beds and two bedrooms, two terraces, and changing room. Awesome! And at no extra cost. As a swimmer, I was eager to clammer down the stairs to the jewel of a swimming cove which included rock formations worthy of a serious sketch. So I swam. And I sketched. I rose at dawn, passing the yoga class, down to the sea, swam way out and looked back at Hotel Kalura while floating on my back, taking in the pink sky and warm water. Travel perfection. I ignored the bar and restaurant in favor of charming places in town, even though the setting of the restaurant on a huge terrace overlooking the sea is wonderful. This is a big hotel...I was expecting something smaller. But I was able to find intimatcy here in spite of the hotel's size. Nice Yamaha grand piano (unlocked) in the lobby. Played a bit...beautiful instrument. Service professional and friendly. Clean enough for me, that said I'm not the type to check the corners.
IMPORTANT: DO NOT MISS THE BUS SERVICE TO TOWN WHICH IS AT THE ENTRANCE TO THE HOTEL. It stops running too early (about 8pm) but otherwise provides easy transit to the city provided you write down the bus schedule from the sign posted at the bus stop. If you get stuck in town and don't want to walk back (about 30 minute walk), it costs $12 to get back. Worth it in my opinion and I love to walk. Final comment: the cove is so lovely for swimming that snorkeling groups show up her for their "classes", and also scuba divers. Don't expect alot of colorful fish or corals.

Room Tip: Must have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

An amassing experience! very clean, service both friendly and quick. The Restaurant was excellent. The view from the rooms was breath taking and from the terrace even better.
the Blue water was so clear you can see the bottom from our room. The beach was equipped with beach umbrellas lounge chairs a full time lifeguard. Also a snack area . I would recommend
beach shoes. A place like this should be called Paradise.

Room Tip: We had a villa that had an inefficiency kitchen. There are many many stairs so if you have trouble w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fabulous hotel in fantastic setting, but you need to be able to do steps! Lovely fixtures and fittings but let down by awful plastic soap container in shower and no shampoo!
Food was good, great breakfast on patio and nice to be able to walk into Chefalu down back streets. Grea place for relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Main hotel, overlooking patio and what a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I rarely post any negative review but you go:

We were forced into staying in this hotel as availability elsewhere was limited.

We're world travelers who have stayed in average priced hotels but in 5* hotels too and are willing to pay money for something in return.

For 129 euros, we were expecting at least an average room. We were utterly disappointed when we were given a room by the parking lot (you could hear cars, chats, people walking etc..), that was an annex to the hotel. The size of the room was good with a front area with a table and chairs. They did not bother cleaning/sweeping the front area. Our room was not clean. Same for the bathroom.

The room had very limited lights (two red lighted side lamps) and could barely see, badly painted walls with mold in a few places.

Overall it was not worth the money we paid. We paid less in Siracusa and Erice and had nicer and cleaner rooms.

Having said that, the only positive about this hotel is the setting. It's built by the water. So it's perfect for a swim or relaxing read by the water. But then again, you get that for free anywhere in Sicily if not better.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the 129 euro annex room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kalura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalura

Address: Via Vincenzo Cavallaro 13, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#11 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kalura 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zimmer im 2 Stock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kalura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalura Hotel Cefalu
Hotel Kalura Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kalura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.