We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel that clings to the rocks above the Mediterranean sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Calette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Calette to your Saves list
Hotel Le Calette
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vincenzo Cavallaro, 12, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel that clings to the rocks above the Mediterranean sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a very nice resort away from the town of Cefalu but in walking distance to where all the action is. Our room overlooked the swimming pool and the ocean what better place to sit on our balcony and watch the sea with a glass of wine. Nice restaurant for dinner and first rate breakfast.( But ask for a cappuccino if you like coffee).

Room Tip: Pool view room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    115
    43
    20
    15
See reviews for
71
181
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel La Callette is in an excellent situation. The staff are very helpful. The pool area is small but the sun area at the hotel is excellent, providing sun loungers and easy access into the sea for swimming. We did not try the private beach in the town so cannot comment. It is only 20 minutes walk into Cefalu town which is a pretty old town, short taxi ride from the station (15 euros). The cathedral has some stunning mosaics. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at Le Calette for a week in September booked through Citalia. The hotel is a series of buildings and appartments strung along a pleasant pedestrian path, none of which are too far away from the main building with its dining facilities, bar and pool. The pool area has lovely views out to sea. The hotel also has it's own excellent bathing deck and sunbathing area. We were in a unit that was furthest away from the main building but did not feel isolated and the room was very comfortable.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast was fine although I would recommend that you ask for a cappuccino rather than drink from the coffee flask. Only had one evening meal at the hotel basically because there were lots of interesting eateries in Cefalu.

It's about a 20 minute walk into the centre of Cefalu which is a fascinating mass of little streets. Several restaurants have terraces/balconies facing the sea. Very charismatic/romantic until the mosquitoes make a meal of you - apparently September is a bad time for them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked the largest and most expensive studio for 3 adults. 2 rooms the site mentioned. Well my 23 year old dauhgter had to sleep on a couch. Do not book this room voor 3 adults. No privacy for anyone of us.
Three nights very noisy because of weddingparty's, no compensation at all.

Too expensive for the room and the service.

Nice terras, but bad snorkling due to poor sight under wather.
Rather close to the centre of Cefalu, which is nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in Le Calette for 10 nights in September 2013 with our two yr old. To be honest I was dreading a hotel holiday with a toddler, but the hotel was fanastic choice.

Rooms are good size and clean. Furnishing is quite basic (but this is pretty standard in Italy), but great storage options and hotel provided clean cot and bedding which they changed daily. Only issue was that we didn't have a bath, which proved difficult with toddler (as shower head is fixed), but we could have asked for room change. We were in ground floor room, which had lovely veranda with curtains you could draw for privacy on evening.

Breakfast was beautiful setting overlooking the port and far exceeded normal Italian standards (with fruit, croissants, sliced meats, cheese, yoghurts, cake, eggs and bacon). It also started at 07.00am, which is helpful with young children who get up early!

Hotel has a great swimming pool, with smaller area for toddlers. It also has great little play park, and although basic, still a good option to entertain a bored toddler. There is a beautiful decked beach area (although it was so peaceful we didn't dare spend time there with our toddler:-) ) and an equally beautiful little cove which is a brief walk down below the breakfast area. The hotel does have a beach area at the very end of the promenade past the main town. We used it a couple of times and was nice, although quite a distance from the hotel (you would need a car or to use hotel shuttle bus - although bus is quite restricting due to limited trips available).

As for location, although would have been great to be little bit closer to town, it worked well for us. It took us about 20 mins to walk into town with a pushchair. There are a couple of challenges (steps down to path and steep climb up hill past port), but didn't prove an issue.

Perhaps the only issue (other than the shower) we had was that the hotel does have a nightclub, which was quite loud on a couple of nights, however perhaps we were just envious of those who could still enjoy it!

Overall, great hotel and would absolutely recommend to both couples, and families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are plain and I would not describe them as luxurious in anyway which I expected for the price we paid. However its a great place and I would certainly go back. If I could award 4.5 stars I would have.
Its a seaside location but there is no beach. The hotel has a huge deck onto the sea which is fine for adults.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely junior suite with view which wasn't the best but the rooms were wonderful. Great beach area with double lounge chairs. Wonderful restaurant. Offers massages!! Had to do that.

Three senior women exploring Sicily and this is just what we needed after a week of touring. We never left the hotel. Just relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful view, massage, and food. There two nights.

Very helpful desk, service. We arrived when lunch was done but staff opened up kitchen by pool so we could eat. Good food. People were so friendly. Would go back.

We were surprised that the jacuzzi was not with hot water. Odd. It just bubbled.

Came in by train which we all highly recommend. 12 euro on Sunday from Taormina. Grabbed cab to hotel which was 15 euro.

Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We each had a junior suite which was nice. It consisted of a sitting room with daybed and full bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Calette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Calette

Address: Via Vincenzo Cavallaro, 12, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cefalu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#6 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Calette 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Calette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calette Hotel
Le Calette Cefalu
Hotel Le Calette Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Calette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.