We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place you will want to go again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vecchia Marina

Vecchia Marina
Via Vittorio Emanuele 73/75, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
0039 0921 420388
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 90 Restaurants in Cefalu
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A place you will want to go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Vecchia Marina is a great restaurant with delicious food, a beautiful view and friendly staff. The menu concentrates on traditional Sicilian food. Our personal favourites are pasta alle Vongole (clams), tagliatelle with pistachio and prawns and bolognese you thought you knew how to cook They prepare fish beautifully, always fresh and cooked to perfection. The restaurant is very popular and gets rather busy in the evenings so it is best to book a table to avoid disappointment. We have been visiting this for many years and the novelty has never worn off! You will never find a place with such beautifully prepared and presented traditional food, romantic view and (if you smile sweetly) the chance to play with the lobsters, at such reasonable prices. It is simply the best restaurant in Cefalu!
Suzan and Alexander from London

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    14
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice location, that's it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our first night out in Cefalu, and we got a very nice table with a view of the beach and seafront. That was the nicest part of our dinner, because the food - and especially the wine - was nothing to come back for after we had seen the views.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A family restaurant in the heart of Cefalu + sea view to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is our third summer holiday in Cefalu and Vecchia Marina is one of the reasons we keep coming back. The food is delicious, local, wholesome and never boring, the staff are delightful and totally genuinely nice, the decor is very interesting with local painter's work and sea curious. Try pasta with lobster (any of the three types swimming in a giant aquarium by the entrance) or vongole (clams), fish of the day or delicious capponata and parmigiana which take a day to make at home, so best eaten out. The wines are local and honest, and honestly priced. The jeunesse in our family has also tried and enjoyed all the steaks on the menu, the porcini sauce is to die for.
By far the best restaurant in Cefalu in our opinion, highly recommended. HELENA, MARK, SASHA, EMILY AND CAROLINA - from London, Geneva and St Petersburg

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great view, good food, OK service, a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It was getting late, about 22:00 and the 4 of us still had a bit of a wait for a table. As the others have said, the view is very nice even at night. We did not have many courses because of the lateness but what we had was very good. Pasta con sarde, seafood risotto, octopus salad and scampi. However the service could have been more attentive. Even when we wanted to pay and leave it took a long time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Lovely view, good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were lucky to get a table right by the open window looking out over the old harbour at Cefalu, which is very picturesque.
The service was friendly and efficient, without being too quick.
The food was good, we enjoyed the antipasti and then my partner chose a steak and I had fish of the day, grilled. Both were of a good standard.
We finished off with a ricotta cake, which is pretty standard dessert in these parts but none the worse for that.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecchia Marina also viewed

Cefalu, Province of Palermo
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
 
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Vecchia Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vecchia Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.