We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Artemis Hotel to your Saves list
Artemis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 101, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved the customer service, specially Mario on the front desk. It is well located, just 5 minutes walk to the ocean. Our room had a balcony with lots of sun and fresh air. Room was clean. Hotel was charming. Breakfast had freshly squeezed orange juice, great food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    105
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
132
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent 5 nights in this hotel while touring around Sicily. We booked it based on recommendations on trip advisor.

Location
Hotel is situated on the main street in Cefalu, a short walk from the seafront and the oldtown. Secure free parking was availailable down the street. It is also within walking distance of the railway station.

Staff
Any staff we dealt with were really excellent. Friendly with lots of helpful suggestions, the receptionist gave us several recommendations for good restaurants. She also advised against taking the car to Palermo, a piece of advice we were glad we took. The staff in the breakfast room were really helpful and pleasant. I asked for an omelet and there was no problem with getting it, food was piping hot and there was a good selection. Bowls were replenished often. Lots of fresh fruit on offer as well.

Room
we had a very nice room with a balcony with side sea view. It was spotless and cleaned every day. The modern bathroom was clean and had enough good towels. Hairdryer was powerful unlike in some of the other hotels we stayed in during our trip.There was a terrace with sun beds and small jacuzzi pool opening off the corridor on our floor. There was also a mini gym.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked this hotel at short notice when we decided to visit some friends who were holidaying in Cefalu and we were very happy indeed with our choice.The Hotel is immaculate and must have been recently refurbished our room was on the top floor at the side with a good size balcony, walk in shower and very modern bathroom with a bidet too! We had a side sea view and although the road was sometimes busy and the train line was visible it was a very quiet location. There was free access to a small gym and a new jacussi hot tub on the roof solarium till 9.00 every night which was an extra bonus . Although the hotel doesnt have its own restaurant you will get a very nice continental breakfast as well as a free aperitif and nibbles (brioches, brucetta crisps ) in the evening before you go out.
Its placed very near the long and gorgeous sandy beach, and you are able to reserve your sunbeds via the hotel reception however ,if you want, you can walk to the old town in 10 minutes. There is a supermarket just behind Via Roma towards the beach if you want some extra snacks etc,plus, lots of bars, ice cream parlours and fashion shops.
Staying here was a contrast to the old medieval part of town and suited us a little better as it was quieter and the traffic was so much safer- as safe as italian traffic can be!
When walking in the old town which is a delightful mass of typical Sicilian medieval streets full of churches, shops and restaurants - be aware that even when some of the roads are closed to traffic that people will still drive down them only without their engines or lights on.
Enjoy Cefalu it has something for everyone,the old town is noisy, the locals are friendly and helpful but just be careful of the roads.

Room Tip: 4th floor was very nice indeed, top floor, quiet and some with views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went there in Cefalu with the motorbike, apparently we booked with another B&B but unfortunately we couldn't find the place (we booked via other website and they didn't give us the right address and also we tried to call this B&B and they couldn't explain the correct way to go so we cancelled it) This hotel is very easy to find and their is nice and safe parking area under the hotel, very quiet and clean and everybody there is so nice to us even we came with the motorbike :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Artemis Hotel is a beautiful, clean, and modern hotel located within walking distance to the beach and the old city. The staff was nice and the breakfast was good. I did go back and forth between giving it 3 or 4 stars, but decided to keep it at 3 for the following reasons:
-While there is a guarded parking lot available, it is quiet a walk when you have luggage and it is not easy to get to when many of the roads are one-way. There is also a parking garage under the hotel, but that is only available for suite guests.
-The Wifi is terrible. If you are able to log on, it often drops you. While yes, you are on vacation and shouldn't really be online anyway, work/school/life continues and it may be necessary to email.
-The hallways had a very loud echo so it was impossible to talk to anyone in the hallway without the rest of the rooms on that floor hearing you. When in my room, I was also able to very clearly hear everything the people in the rooms next to mind were doing, including listening to full conversations.
-The biggest disappointment is the fact that checkout was at 11. We had travelled around Sicily and only stayed in Cefalu for one night. Since checkout was at 11 (opposed to 12 in other hotels), we were limited with the time we had at the beach and in the town the next morning. It may sound silly, but that one hour is a big deal!

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Sicily and you would think they would have better perks than the other less expensive (though just as beautiful) hotels did. I am not sure how this hotel compares to others in Cefalu, so I would say overall it is a nice place to stay in that town. However, the other hotels I stayed in within Sicily were much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Artemis is very clean and only a short walk to the beach. Its free parking garage which in Cefalu is a very nice perk is only a 2 minute walk. Our triple room had 3 balconies, comfortable beds and was very quiet, probably the best we slept in our entire 3 week trip.
Mario at the front desk was very knowledgeable about the history of the town and gave us a quick overview when we first arrived. It seemed as though whenever I needed a reservation made or a beach towel or directions he was always there and more the willing to help with enthusiasm.
Katia served a lovely breakfast which was vast and delicious. There was also a complimentary happy hour each evening which was nice after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

me and my gf stayed for 5 night at this hotel. it's pretty new, clean with nice and comfortable rooms. the staff is very friendly and helpful. the hotel is conveniently located. everything is in walkingdistance: 5 min to the beach, 5 min to the old-town, 2 min to the next grocery. situated on the main road, the place is easy to find and has its own garage. breakfast was ok, although we did not like the breakfastroom too much. we thought it is a bit dark.

overall: a bit pricy but probably worth the money. so, i do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: pick a classic room: includes free parking in the garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel

Address: Via Roma 101, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#9 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemis Hotel Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.