We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Artemis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artemis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 101, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Cefalu
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is located on the approach to Cefalu and a short walk from the old town. Everything you want to see (beach, old city etc) is a short walk away. The rooms are clean and modern and the breakfast is also good. It's very helpful that the hotel has secure parking nearby (just up the road from the hotel). We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    87
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
108
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Just left this hotel after staying two night. Stayed in the classic room which was well furnished, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff are very friendly and service is excellent. Conveniently located for the train station and two minutes walk to the beach. Ten minutes walk to the old town. Ticks all of the boxes

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Newly refurbished hotel very near the station in Cefalu and in walking distance to the beach and the old town; we had a standard room which was the smallest room we had in Sicily but adequate for two nights. The bathroom was modern and the shower was excellent. We also had a safety deposit box and a fridge. A balcony overlooked apartment blocks to the side of the hotel and had a table and two chairs. While there was no sea view it was a pleasant stroll down a side-street and along the beach to the old town where there are many restaurants overlooking the sea. There is also a supermarket close by. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we had free wifi at all times. The breakfast was good with juices and fresh fruit, yoghurts, ham-filled croissants, scrambled eggs, some cheeses and cold meats and lots of cakes. Filter coffee was provided with hot milk. Cefalu is a lovely old town only 50 minutes by train from Palermo.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
721 helpful votes 721 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The staff is pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean, modern, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel has some down-sides to it, however, of which the potential guest should be aware. First of all, unless you book a suite or other special room, you will have to park 3 blocks away, pulling your luggage up and down sidewalks with no breaks in the curb. There is also no driveway in which you can pull up your car to drop off luggage. Another annoyance is that there's only one small elevator, big enough for one person with a large suitcase. If other people are checking in or out at the same time, you will have to wait a while or lug your suitcase up and down the stairs. Finally, the internet service was slow and unreliable. The TV did have channels in foreign languages though, something we didn't always find in some of our other Sicilian hotels.
While the location outside the old town may save one some traffic hassles, it is certainly a good 10 minute walk to the old town at a brisk pace, not 5 as another recent review suggested. It's also 3 minutes' walk to the beach. The nearest decent restaurants are a 5 minute walk away (down to the beach, then to the right). To be honest, I think the non-prime location is compensated for by the fairer price than most of the other 4*'s in town. If you can handle the inconveniences associated with this property, it's a nice place at a fair price. The breakfast was average. Not the best, but certainly nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: A ground floor room will help you avoid having to deal with the single small elevator. None of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadier en Keer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

At the reception we got an excellent service during the check in. we were a little bit early but the guy at the frontdesk made some arrangements so we could get our rooms within 10 minutes.
The rooms are nice and clean and big enough. During the rest of our two night stay the front deskservice maintained on the same level.
The location is great. By a 10 minute walk along the boulevard you"ll reach the city centre. I can't agree with some of the reviews that the location is in "a not so nice place"; it's just near the centre and not in it.
Everything the other revies say about the breafast is true. There's only one waitress for the breakfast area and ours wasn't the most friendly one. The quality and the presentation of the buffet is below 4 star. The cheese and meat are pilled up each other, the quality of this wasn't what we had experienced before in Sicily. A tip for the hotel: less is more. Buy good local product and present them on a smaller scale.
All in all a good hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Book a room withe the gardenview and not at the front of the hotel (streetnoise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location, its about a 5 minute walk to the old town and the beach. Super clean facility with a balcony and a good bed. The room was the smallest we stayed in during our two weeks in Sicily but it was fine for the two of us. The free breakfast left a lot to be desired and the internet wifi was spotty and slow, all in all a good room for the price with free secure underground parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

yes it was very clean, but I can't say that this was the best place to stay in Cefalu : the breakfast service ended 1/2 hour before the indicated timing, the second day there was no warm water running! The staff was friendly but scarce. wifi did not work properly. That's why I say that maybe it was too early in the year and they werr not prepared yet. I did not find the hotel charming, more like a functional beach hotel for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artemis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel

Address: Via Roma 101, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cefalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#9 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemis Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Artemis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemis Hotel Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.