We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Plumeria Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Plumeria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Plumeria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Ruggero 185, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 hotels in Cefalu
garden city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My family and I just returned from Cefalu and I am happy to report that this town and hotel was the perfect choice for us. La Plumeria is conveniently located, rooms were clean, staff very helpful and breakfast each morning was a plus. We have vowed to return. My only criticisms: improve on the purchase of towels/felt like sandpaper and parking is a nuisance. Overall, I gave this hotel an excellent rating and we would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    48
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
90
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Perfect location - in the middle of the main street, so you are sorrounded with restaurants, shops etc.
The area had some problems with the water, so we didn't have any water the first night. It was fixed sometime after breakfast the next morning. Not ideal, but since it wasn't for longer, it went okay.
The breakfast in Italy usually consists of sweets/different cakes. They had some bread and cheese/ham, but quite boring.
The hotelroom was on the 3.rd floor. The room was over two levels, with the bed on the "ground floor". Nice terrace.

Room Tip: We had room on the 3.rd floor. You must walk some stairs both to get the room, and inside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in July 2013 and loved the place! The entrance is very discrete and reception area modern and inviting - the location is also brilliant, 2 mins from cathedral square, 5-7 to the beach and 15 from the marina... All very easy walks.

They have also done a 20% discount deal with the two nearest beach clubs which is great although they are very busy unsurprisingly at this time of year and it is extremely hot, I think 37 degrees Celsius on one day!

We had room 204 which is very big and has two ensuite shower rooms which was great but as a note of caution, this room is so big that the air conditioner really struggles as it is slightly small and so to chill the room you have to leave it on 24/7 and close the shutters to keep the sun out otherwise it gets very hot in here.

The staff and breakfast are lovely, wifi works v.well and although there is no pool on site we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - you will not be disappointed so give it a go!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my husband and my last stop on our honeymoon and what a great way to end it! La Plumeria is a small boutique hotel that is in the perfect location in Cefalu. The staff was extremely helpful & friendly. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony overlooking the street and a bottle of red wine was waiting for us upon our arrival.

The room itself was very spacious and clean, as well as the ensuite bathroom. We had a very comfortable stay and loved being able to open up the doors to the balcony to listen to the sounds of the town at night. We enjoyed a bottle of wine while we people-watched.

Be prepared for a bit of a tricky parking situation, as the parking lot for the hotel is located in another section of town and can be difficult to find due to the one way streets. Though, we had no issue at all, once we found the parking lot, we rang reception and a van very quickly to wind us through the tiny streets of Cefalu that the hotel is located on (this is why parking needs to be in another section of town). Just plan ahead by finding the location on a map before you get to Cefalu and you'll be fine.

Breakfast was OK, quite average, but we would recommend taking advantage of it as it allows to get on with your day and plan for a bigger lunch and/or dinner.

Again, the location of La Plumeria is amazing. You're right in the middle of the beautiful, historic downtown Cefalu and what an amazing town to be in the center of. You can step out the front door of the hotel and wander the cobblestone streets or be at the beach in minutes. Cefalu was our favorite city we visited in Sicily and La Plumeria made it perfect. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Cefalu, it is THE place to stay!!

Room Tip: If you enjoy people-watching, book in advance and request a room overlooking the main street. The ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The good:
* Fantastic location. There is no way I would stay anywhere else than in the old town of Cefalu. I saw where the highest rated Cefalu hotel was located and I wouldn't trade locations for quids.
* Very friendly staff who are happy to help with suggestions for tourist sites.
* Wifi works very well.
* Bathroom is small but perfectly serviceable.
* Nice balcony overlooking quiet side street.
* Free parking (not in the old town because of traffic restrictions). They offer a service to drive you to and from the parking which was very easy to find.

The bad:
* Beds are small.
* Breakfast was too basic.
* Noise from doors banging during the night were enough to wake me from my sleep. Perhaps they could do something to prevent the banging of the doors.

Conclusion:
I would stay nowhere else if I ever came back to Cefalu. It's not a perfect hotel but the good things make it above average. I would rate it higher if they fixed the door banging problem and provided a few more options at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The good impression started already before we arrived, with the information about the parking and the transfer to the hotel - which worked perfectly. The hotel is very well renovated and perfectly situated in the center of the old town, and at the same time only 5 minutes walk to a small beach. The room was large, nice and with a good view to the small streets and the atmosphere of Cefalu. The breakfast (very good selection) could be taken outside - a very nice start on the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We returned to La Plumeria hotel this year for two weeks and once again found it outstanding. The hotel is spotless, the staff are friendly & extremely helpful. Breakfast is all the usual goodies served in the dining room, on the patio or in the courtyard. The hotel is right in the centre of the historic town so everything is 2-5 mins walk away, including a small bay that you can swim in, the hotel will lend you beach towels if you don't have them. The parking is 10 mins walk away & the hotel pays for a taxi to and from hotel for you. The staff really make this hotel special, everyone seems happy to be working there.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Plumeria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plumeria Hotel

Address: Corso Ruggero 185, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#2 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Plumeria Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Plumeria Hotel is situated near the famous Arab-Norman Cathedral and Cefalù 's splendid sandy beach, the building's elegant façade has been, which conscientiously preserved even with the railings retained in traditional Sicilian style. The Hotel faces the Corso Ruggero, the main street of the Norman town's historical center. The renovation was completed keeping the original late-medieval style and modernizing the rooms and the public areas at the same time. The hall, the lounge bar, the characteristic courtyard and internal garden, the dining room were all architecturally re-designed keeping local traditions and all are meticulously furnished with antique Sicilian furniture.The Rooms, from the enchanting single with a small terrace facing the Cathedral to the comfortable junior Suites that can comfortably accommodate an entire family, unite tradition with technology. Each has a balcony overlooking the traditional streets or courtyards of the historical center. Our young and qualified staff, our abundant homemade Breakfast, our Services, such as high-speed WiFi available throughout the building and the Parking Lot, located outside the city center and connected to the hotel with a free shuttle service, all contribute to a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your La Plumeria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plumeria Hotel Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plumeria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.