We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Plumeria Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Plumeria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Plumeria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Ruggero 185, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Easton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent four nights at La Plumeria at the end of September. The hotel is ideally located in the Centro Storico and is only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Due to this location, it is not advisable to drive to the hotel, even to drop off or load luggage. Rather, make sure to get detailed directions to the hotel's remote parking lot and call the hotel to send its van to meet you there. The parking lot is an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel so, once the baggage is dealt with, your car is easily accessible.
The facility has been recently renovated and both the common areas and the rooms are attractive, immaculately clean, comfortable and very functional. We had a large bedroom, which oddly had two bathrooms and a private balcony overlooking the courtyard. We found the breakfast buffet to be more than adequate and typical of those provided at Italian hotels in La Plumeria's price range.
The most notable attribute of La Plumeria is the quality of its staff. Everyone, including the receptionists, wait staff, cleaning staff and Guiseppe, the van driver, was exceptionally friendly, courteous and helpful. We did not hesitate to seek their advice regarding restaurants, activities and directions. The staff was unfailingly happy to help us and their recommendations were always spot on.
If we return to Cefalu' we will undoubtedly again stay at La Plumeria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    52
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
102
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for six nights using it as a base to see the north and north west of Sicily.
Centrally located in the old town just down from the cathedral it is ideal and within easy walking distance for local restaurants.
The staff were more than helpful and always cheerful. The buffet breakfasts were adequate if a little boring.
Our room was fantastic (301) A spacious bedroom, an upstairs sitting area with TV, a comfortable bathroom and to cap it all an outside private terrace. A real place of pleasure at the end of a hot and tiring sightseeing day.
The car parking in the hotels private parking lot was helpful because parking in Cefalu is not easy but it is a fair walking distance from the hotel, a good 15/20minute walk which can be a little taxing after a hot and tiring day.
However overall we enjoyed an excellent stay in this fully refurbished and modernized hotel.

Room Tip: We believe that there is only one room with a view from the terrace which was the one we had 301. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

La Plumeria has a very nice atmosphere through the tasteful renovation of an old building near the city center of Cefalu. The rooms was comfortable and everything was very clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good with a good selection of local and international servings.
As Cefalu is a very lively city it was sometimes a bit noisy in the night/morning - you should consider that if you have a light sleep. The parking lot is about a ten-minute-walk away from the hotel but you can call to get picked up.
Overall we can strongly recommend La Plumeria if you're going to stay at cefalu - we think it's one of the best places to stay at.

Room Tip: The topmost room is a little penthouse with a terrace - that's the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great hotel in great location. Rooms are impeccably clean if a bit small....but that is the reality of
an otherwise charming hotel in the very heart of Cefalu. My wife and I spent two nights there and we would go back in a jiffy. The staff was excellent and so genuinely friendly.

Room Tip: Some rooms have slightly bigger showers than others....you should check to see what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If I had to come up with one critisim all I can say is you would not want to be too tall in our room as there was a low ceiling but the room was large, clean, comfortable. The location is PERFECT. Breakfast was lovely. Parking was convenient - we had no problem finding it (which was a first for us in Italy) and the shuttle comes right away to get you. The staff was very helpful, welcoming and friendly. It was a good choice and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After much difficulty finding the hotel's off-site parking, the hotel was charming and in an excellent central location. The staff was friendly and attentive. The room, though small and facing a courtyard, was meticuously clean. I guess there must be larger ones as indicated by the reviews.
Breakfast was nice and conveniently served in the courtyard.
We had to catch an early flight so the shuttle to the parking was not running but there was no problem driving right up to the hotel at 5 am.
All and all, our stay was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Thanks to previous reviews on TripAdvisor we chose to stay at La Plumeria. We wanted to be in the center of town but close to the beach and that it was. We were beyond happy and it was everything we hoped it would be and more.
The hotel itself is very clean and well run. We had a room right facing the street only up one floor and we never head any noise. The room is well appointed with all the necessities with a typical Italian breakfast served from 7-10 .
But the stars of this little gem are the staff. Flavia, Fabiana, and Giulia at the front desk were knowledgable, helpful, curtious and welcoming! The entire staff was friendly, spoke English and all very much ready to do what they can to make our stay memorable.
Thank you and we hope to see you again, our friends at La Plumeria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Plumeria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plumeria Hotel

Address: Corso Ruggero 185, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#3 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Plumeria Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Plumeria Hotel is situated near the famous Arab-Norman Cathedral and Cefalù 's splendid sandy beach, the building's elegant façade has been, which conscientiously preserved even with the railings retained in traditional Sicilian style. The Hotel faces the Corso Ruggero, the main street of the Norman town's historical center. The renovation was completed keeping the original late-medieval style and modernizing the rooms and the public areas at the same time. The hall, the lounge bar, the characteristic courtyard and internal garden, the dining room were all architecturally re-designed keeping local traditions and all are meticulously furnished with antique Sicilian furniture.The Rooms, from the enchanting single with a small terrace facing the Cathedral to the comfortable junior Suites that can comfortably accommodate an entire family, unite tradition with technology. Each has a balcony overlooking the traditional streets or courtyards of the historical center. Our young and qualified staff, our abundant homemade Breakfast, our Services, such as high-speed WiFi available throughout the building and the Parking Lot, located outside the city center and connected to the hotel with a free shuttle service, all contribute to a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Plumeria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plumeria Hotel Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plumeria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.