We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is very convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cefalu Sea Palace

Save Saved
You added Cefalu Sea Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cefalu Sea Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare G. Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Cefalu
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Location is very convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here one night (off-season). It was easy to book a room the same day and very easy to park and get in and out of town. We were able to walk right down the beach into town. It was great for a large group of us the room were fairly large.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    73
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
125
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here in the last week of the season in late October. It certainly didn't have the end of season feel that some places we have stayed in have had. The staff were very friendly, helpful and were very welcoming. The hotel is spacious, spotlessly clean and the rooms are fine. We've had a wider selection at breakfast in other hotels but it was fine.
The hotel itself it situated right on the front with a pleasant ten minute walk into the old town - and what a great place that is. Fabulous narrow streets, history all over the place but beware the ubiqitous moped!
Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The combination of facilities, location and relaxed atmosphere offered by this modern hotel is very appealing. Our room was really nice, light and spacious, although the 'sea view' was across the slightly scrubby car park. You're so close to the beach that this didn't really matter too much, but I did notice it. A highlight is the outdoor pool area, which in mid-October was far from crowded, with loads of nice sunbeds and umbrellas. The pool was a bit chilly when we first got in, but sunlit and relaxing, and when we explored the farther reaches we found the jacuzzi-style areas with button-activated bubbles. We had lovely weather, so getting out of the pool to dry off was a pleasure too. You can get drinks and snacks by the pool; you could really spend an afternoon there. We also found a fantastic beach bar about 3-4 minutes walk from the hotel's beach, going left.

The breakfast buffet is standard fare but absolutely fine, and plentiful. It's nice that you can eat outside, although the outdoor breakfast area is not as pretty as you might hope. A plus is the fact that there's a laptop permanently on the reception desk for the use of guests, which we used for checking email. Slightly more negative is the fact that you pay 3 Euros for the second beach/pool towel (the first one is free), apparently to cover laundry costs? In other hotels we stayed at, the towels were free.

One thing that's a bit annoying in Sicilian hotels is how they all have signs saying you're not allowed to bring in food or drinks from outside, and since I always need to have a large bottle of mineral water in my room and don't want to spend a fortune on tiny bottles from the room mini-bar, I find this aggravating. However, it's not unique to Cefalu Sea Palace.

It's a very nice 10-minute stroll from the hotel to the centre of lovely Cefalu. On the way you'll be able to find Al Gabbianio, a good restaurant on the Lungomare across from the beach. Here we had some of the nicest food we found while on Sicily. Don't miss the delicious buffet-style Sicilian antipasti! You might also decide to climb La Rocca, which is the small mountain that overlooks the town. Be aware that the steps only go about two-thirds of the way up, though, and that you need to be reasonably fit to go further.

On balance, Cefalu was our favourite of the four bases we had during our Sicilian honeymoon. With hindsight, we could have stayed here a week quite happily and taken day trips to other parts of the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Don't know what Cefalu is like in high season but the Sea Palace is on a quiet part of the seafront with views to both sides of the bay, rooms are generally east or west facing with private balconies.

Reception areas are relaxing, spacious and comfortable with free wifi. There is a mezzanine seating area up a wide sweeping flight of stairs and there are stairs down to the bar, again with spacious areas to sit and relax, one area with a large TV; this is also where you can access the lovely outdoor pool area and the restaurant.

We usually eat in the hotel on our first day; the menu was limited (off season on a Sunday evening, so not really surprising) and unfortunately, too limiting for a vegetarian but the quality of food was good.

Breakfast was as expected - a buffet with the usual choice of hot and cold foods, all very good. The coffee from the machine was very strong but nothing that couldn't be overcome by adding hot water.

All staff that we encountered - reception, bar, cleaners - were polite and helpful. Everywhere was clean, our room was spotless. The bed was not as firm as I'd like but was adequate; I always have a problem with pillows but putting a folded cotton towel in the pillow case helps.

The hotel has a fabulous roof terrace, private car park and envious beach location. It is an easy 5 minute flat walk along the seafront to the first few restaurants but it's worth walking into the town and trying some of the better restaurants. We found that most menus were practically identical wherever you ate though.

Even in Oct/Nov, there were several traders along the beach and streets but not a single one called out to us or tried to get our attention. The worst service we had was when we stopped for drinks at the first restaurant/cafe on the beach side of the road as you enter town but it just may have been an off day.

I noticed that recent reviews for the hotel are good and older ones are not so good. We found no fault with the hotel and had no problem taking water to the room. There were three of us in a standard room which was adequately spacious. It wasn't cheap but nowhere in Italy is cheap. We would definitely return to Cefalu Sea Palace - we loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The room was great, nice big bed and well appointed bathroom. There were no tea or coffee making facilities which would have been nice but it seems to be hotel policy to prevent people from having drinks or food in their rooms. The sea view was a bit of a stretch but the balcony was lovely and sunny in the evenings. The hotel provides towels for the private beach and there is a café/bar here as well. On our first day there was a rather eccentric waiter at the beach café who scampered around at a sort of half run and got into a bit of a state, but we got everything we ordered and it was very tasty. The breakfast selection was fine, except for the scrambled eggs which tasted weird although they looked good, there was lovely freshly baked bread every morning. It's a short stroll into the old town which means it's nice and quiet here at night. It has a lovely pool and it looked better than any of the other hotels in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights for our honeymoon. We booked 9 months before we travelled and requested a superior room with a sea view and mentioned that it was our honeymoon. We notionally had a sea view but it was a small square behind an unsightly car park, having seen the view from other rooms when housekeeping were cleaning we know there were better so were disappointed by this. The room was large and very clean but the bed was not that comfortable and the bedding just ok. Also sound seemed to really travel so we were often woken by the TV, talking and the sound of people moving around in neighbouring bedrooms and the corridor. The beach and pool were fantastic and the pool was usually nice and quiet, none of the scrabble to secure sunbeds that you sometimes get! The hotel was well located, just a short, pleasant walk along the seafront into the town. The staff were also polite, friendly and helpful, especially the bar staff. The breakfast buffet was pretty good,with a wide selection. We did enjoy our stay but felt that it was probably not worth the amount we had paid as it was pretty pricey compared to other places we have stayed which were of a similar standard. We organised the trip ourselves rather than as part of a package and would recommend Roberto Bruscemi transfers if you need transport to Cefalu from Palermo airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Rather mixed feelings about this one. It's modern, and the room was attractive. But the corridors are kept in Stygian gloom for no apparent reason. The breakfast was yer average hotel international - with the slowest coffee machines I've encountered in this situation.
The private beach is fine for those that like to peg out in the sun, though, of course pestered by sellers of trinkets and masseuses.
It is a bit of a hike to the old town, where the decent restaurants are - and this was the greatest disappointment: we had one evening meal in the hotel which was, probably, the worst meal we had in a fortnight in Sicily, with overcooked vegetables and undistinguished desserts. I did feel sorry for people on full board.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cefalu Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cefalu Sea Palace

Also Known As:
Cefalu Sea Palace Hotel
Cefalu Sea Palace Hotel Cefalu
Sea Palace Hotel Cefalu
Cefalu Sea Palace Sicily
Address: Lungomare G. Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#8 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cefalu Sea Palace 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cefalu Sea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cefalu Sea Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.