We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cefalu Sea Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cefalu Sea Palace to your Saves list
Cefalu Sea Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare G. Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Rutherglen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We enjoyed our two weeks in the Sea Palace, clean, bright rooms, excellent staff and a great position - a short stroll from the town along the boulevard.
If I had a complaint it would be be the limited menus at dinner, the food was good and the menus varied but with three dishes for the main course some might struggle, my wife doesn't like fish so she was limited to a choice between two dishes. Not a big problem but "could do better"
The public areas of the hotel were spotless, bright and cool. The pool area was never cluttered and the pool was good although with the proximity of the sea we were only at the poolside twice. The hotel's section of the beach was clean and well appointed, plenty of sun beds and umbrellas, the beach bar menus was limited but the service prompt and friendly and the sea fantastic!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the outdoor area of the restaurant and had no real view but not a problem as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    101
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
65
189
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Let me start by burying the misconception given in some comments on Tripadvisor (usually by people who either had just one evening meal in the hotel or "heard from others" ) that evening meals are poor. We stayed half-board and all meals were excellent, served in a very efficient and professional manner. Breakfasts catered for the tastes of all nationalities whilst evening meals were what you would expect, typically Italian. There were 4 courses starting with varied (and large) anti pasta dishes. Yes, there was just one option to choose from here but if it was not to your taste then you could help yourself to a salad. The pasta dishes usually had a choice of three whilst the main course had a similar number of choices, the fish course being particularly tasty. There were plenty of desserts to choose from but,if anyone is like us in hating the sugary, the creamy and the colourful and fattening desserts, then there was plenty of delicious fresh fruit to provide a very acceptable alternative. There were two particularly distinctive dining nights, a "fish night" served in the rooftop garden with a sensational view looking across to the old town and cathedral as well as "La Rocca." Also, there was a "Sicilian Night," an evening of delicious food but, for a change, served as a buffet. On these two nights, water and wine were both free to half-board guests, a nice touch.

A quiet, unobtrusive efficiency was evident amongst all staff. The pool and its area were kept immaculate, corridors and reception were light, airy and spotless and there was a first class, quiet air-conditioning system throughout the hotel (absolutely necessary) The beds were huge,the walk-in shower superb and when our safe lost its code (twice), it was fixed within minutes after telephoning reception,(unlike some establishments I have stayed in).It would be possible to pick out tiny faults but it would be really nitpicking. The distance to the town itself is a pleasant 15 minute walk, the distance giving the hotel some peace in the evenings (if you are looking for night life and action then this is not the hotel for you).

I wouldn't go to Cefalu again in early July, it was far too hot and humid (mid 30 degrees centigrade). If, (like us) you want to get around and see things you need it a bit cooler and breezier. For the sunbathers, it is perfect with the private beach and clear water just across the road in front of the hotel. One tip, avoid trips with the big travel companies. Thomson's coach trip to Palermo from Cefalu was over 50 Euros per person. We went by train (the station is10 minutes walk from the hotel) and the return journey was just over 10 Euros each. There is much that I could say about Thomson Holidays and the like, but the need for such companies is fast diminishing. Their "service" in the full sense of the word is negligible. Next time, I will cut them out, book direct, arrange my own transfer and trips (super train service on the north coast) but it will be the Sea Palace again !! (I didn't see one hotel that looked as good or had the position that this one possessed)

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have the best views and, towards the rear, have some shade on their balconies (yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have stayed in here for our honeymoon. It was wonderful. The hotel is new and modern apparently the best in Cefalu. The room was lovely & spacious. There was plenty of choice for breakfast. Staff was very professional.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We've just returned from 2 weeks (first two weeks in June) at the Cefalu Sea Palace hotel in Cefalu, Sicily. When we arrived after a long and tiring journey from the UK we were given keys to our room, which was on the ground floor; however I had specifically asked for a higher level room when I booked with a large well known tour operator. The (very polite) receptionist informed us that they had not been made aware of our request and they were unable to move us up as the hotel was fully booked. The room was overlooked by quite an ugly car park (tip: when booking it might be best to ask for a room overlooking the pool). Our room, however, was spacious, spotless and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom had a great walk-in shower with lots of room, rather than a cramped cubical or fiddly over the bath shower attachment. There is a mini bar/fridge, however it appeared to be warm..... another couple we spoke to said the same thing.

We were told by the holiday company rep that the hotel is very strict about guests bringing in food and drink from outside, for "hygiene" reasons, and there are signs in the room regarding this. However, this was quite obviously ignored by guests. I suppose the thing is to be fairly discreet.

The hotel wasn't as big and grand as I had expected from both the tour operator's website, or the hotel's, but I think it was all the better for that as it felt quite intimate. The hotel as a whole is spotlessly clean and the reception area bright and airy and the staff friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast choices were the usual suspects of ham, cheese, eggs, cereals, fruit and the best bread I've had in a long time. After the first week, however, I was starting to wish for a little more variety.

When we went to the hotel's beach, just across the road, we were greeted by a JCB going up and down as it carried out some beach repair work. The beach bar hadn't been erected so there was intermitent hammering, sanding and drilling. There were some complaints about this and this activity, although it continued, was dampened down and ceased to be a problem. It did have overtones, however, of the film Carry on Abroad. Apparently, the owners of the hotel are always late in getting geared up for the season according to another beach bar owner. If you're going out now, you shouldn't have a problem as the work was just about finishing when we left. It's a nice beach, however it's very developed and I imagine in July and August it would be uncomfortably busy.

The hotel was quiet at night, which was great, and it is in an excellent position being about a 10 minute stroll to the wonderful old walled town with it's great restaurants (L'Antico Corte was a favourite, as was the little basic cafe/bar La Pergola).

We would certainly go the Cefalu again and would be very likely to stay in the Sea Palace, but probably later in the season rather than at the beginning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool if you don't want to look out at an ugly car park. Also, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

A truly brilliant hotel. Helpful and friendly staff, fantastic spacious practical and clean rooms, excellent poolo and pool area and facilities. Great restaurant although we were B&B only. Beach area is well policed and maintained (change huts and toilets are under construction) but again location to hotel is perfect with a 5 minute walk to the very old and quaint medieval town just teeming with shops and restaurants. All in all a great holiday and would and will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Good hotel for a Cefalu holiday. Opposite the beach and only a short walk into town. B&B is best and most of the recommended Tripadvisor restaurants in town are good. Excellent staff throughout hotel particularly the bar staff. Breakfast is fine. Nice pool area can be hot as sunken below road level. The rooms are bright and clean and be sure to have in writing a seaview room or you could be facing the ventilation shafts on the ground floor. Rooms do not have tissues or hooks for bathrobes or a mirror over the dressing table. A bottle of water would not be an expensive touch either. Only irritation was the beach bar, toilets and changeing facilities all undergoing restoration which you would have thought would have been completed before June and the Roof Garden Terrace also undergoing refurbishment though should be completed by now. Lovely lawn at front of hotel, where one should be able to enjoy a drink and watch the sun go down is only used for weddings which are plentiful and not for the hotel guests. Closer to three stars than four stars but still worth a return visit.

Room Tip: You have a choice. Face the sea and town with sun in the morning or face the sea and headland with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel is fantastic - swimming pool, bedrooms, everything except the food - we booked b/b the best option as the food there is not up to a 4 star standard. You would get better food in a 2 star hotel. The one time we had an evening meal in the hotel was the last. We were served 1st course which was ok, 2nd course which was fine the main course consisted of small tinned potatoes, brown slop of cauliflower and two slices of pork which was served cold - called the waitress and informed her the meal was cold she apologised and took the meals away and come back with them fresh from the microwave - so we got up and left - I'm sorry now I paid for the meal. I reported it to the front reception that the food is horrible. Sorry I don't expect that type of food when I am on holiday.
Restuarants in Cefalu are fantastic so much better to eat out.
Would recommend this hotel but on b/b basis.

Room Tip: Pool view or high - 3rd floor back at side seaview of the hotel - you get the afternoon sun and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cefalu Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cefalu Sea Palace

Address: Lungomare G. Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Cefalu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cefalu Sea Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cefalu Sea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cefalu Sea Palace Hotel Cefalu
Sea Palace Hotel Cefalu
Cefalu Sea Palace Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cefalu Sea Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.