We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Arca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added L'Arca to your Saves list
L'Arca
Seveso 14 | Contrada Pisciotto, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Cefalu
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This place is a true gem. Nestled high in the hills above gorgeous Cefalu with some of the most spectacular views I've had at any accommodation around the world, you'll feel a million dollars here! Clean, comfortable lodging with plenty of room and incredible terraces and a pool. Marjolein your host is the most helpful I've ever come across, going above and beyond to assist us with restaurant and winery bookings. Comfy, clean, very affordable and a total escape from the hustle & bustle of city life. BOOK NOW!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Albicoccia studio at Arca was by far the worst in terms of value and standard of accommodation that we stayed in during our stay in Sicily. The advertisement clearly stated that there was a pool. We booked at the very last minute, seeking assurance that the pool was indeed fine. Yet when we arrived we noticed the pool was filthy and the owner told us she was 'still waiting on parts for it to be fixed'. It wasn't fixed while we were there. She said there was 'nothing she could do about it'. We felt that she should have informed us and at least given us the chance to go somewhere else before our arrival. The studio itself was fine, although from ours there was no real view of Cefalu, but 'cooking facilities' consisted only of four rings and a fridge. There was no oven and the BBQ on our terrace was disgusting and un-useable (we complained about this and by our third day the owner had removed it). The owner offered to move us to a much bigger studio with a better view when we complained but my husband pointed out as this had no shutters and very flimsy curtains, we were unlikely to be able to sleep. Our private terrace stank because of a poor little dog kept in an enclosure beside it (I suspect this is the same smell noted by one of the other reviewers). Depending on the breeze the smell of dog pooh could be over powering. This same terrace has very little view and when we complained the owner suggested we use the shared terrace (beautiful view) up several flights of steps, which we did carrying our various meals, and accoutrements. The mosquitoes are a huge problem (I realise this isn't the owner's fault) but of all the places we stayed on the island (3 others) this was the only one without any kind of nets on the windows and yet it was the most expensive! The bed was very hard (as mentioned by another reviewer) and the little dog barked throughout the night on at least three of the nights we slept there. I really can't recommend this place, and it was a big disappointment particularly in comparison with the exceptionally high standard of self catering accommodation we found elsewhere in Sicily.

Room Tip: Avoid the Albicoccia studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at L'Arca, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Unfortunately it cannot be helped that the pump of the pool didn't work, the water was clear though and other people swimming. Sometimes things break down.
The Albicocco apartment is our smallest and cheapest studio and has a view on the town and sea,
only less then from the other apartments. If one reads the descriptions before booking, one sees all the kitchen facilities, and pictures of views from inside the studio and from the terrace.
I am very sorry that these guests weren't pleased, but perhaps they wanted a reduction? They only paid on the very last minute instead of on arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at La Magnolia with our family (parents and 3 kids) in June 2011. The apartment was very basic, nice, spacious and matched well all the photos and information we had received before arrival. The owner, Marjolein, was very nice and had made our arrival very easy with all the information and helpful tips and directions. There were even a basket of fresh fruit on the table.

We had a rental car which is almost necessary since the apartment is located on a hillside outside the city. Also it was very easy to go shopping, find different beaches and get the groceries when having the car. Many things can be said about the traffic in Italy, but it somehow works. We enjoyed driving around. Getting the car to the apartment was a little tricky thou, because the roads are narrow and steep.

We enjoyed the distance from the city and the crowd. Also the view over the city was wonderful. We could sit on the terrace on a swing and watch the sun go down over the sea. The city lights were wonderful and some evenings you could hear a distant music.

There were everything we needed to prepare a few meals and the spacious rooms were comfortable, althou a little bit dated. The bed and the pillows were a little on the worn side and a little hard, but we slept okay.

There was a washing machine which is nice to have when you travel with kids and stay longer then a week like we did. And it was nice to hang the laundry to dry while watching the city lights dim.

The best part of the apartment was the terrace and the amazing view over the city and the setting sun. Also the peacefulness and the distance to the city worked well for us.
The only set back was a distinct smell of dampness inside the kitchen cabinets. That could be due to the fact that it was the beginning of the summer and it had rained a lot before we arrived.

We had a good time and liked our stay in La Magnolia,
Thank you Marjolein!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We've spent two weeks in L'Arca (Il Nido Apartament) in August (two adults and two children) and we simple loved the place. Fantastic views, very quiet and peaceful, charming terrazza in the shadow of the olive tree, nice swimming pool and - the last but not least - the adorable pair of the owners - all this makes L'Arca worth recommending. It's close to Cefalu and nearby beaches - but far from crowds of tourists. A good place to explore the Madonie Natural Park. You definitely shoud have a car, as walking would be a bit problematic.
Full satisfaction.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in L'Albicocco studio apartment for the first week of our honeymoon. We would recommend it if you are planning a relaxed holiday where you like to get out and explore during the day but get back for a cooling dip in the evening.

The reasons for the excellent rating: Amazing view, particularly from the small but lovely pool; large living space and great views from the different balconies - even for our studio apartment which seemed to be the furthest back; Marjolein is a relaxed and present host.

Drawbacks: To get into town you have to drive each time as the journey up and down the hill is not possible on foot; furniture may be a little dated (but this didn't worry us).

It's great to be outside Cefalu which gets hot and busy with lots of tourists. From here you have good access onto the main roads which will take you in all different directions to explore the North coast and mountains.

The disadvantage of being out of town turned out to be an advantage for us - with the great view, no car-parking issues - but it did make us think ahead about getting food and where we were going to eat out.

Room Tip: L'Albicocco studio where we stayed was excellent for 2 people. A studio, but as large as our two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed for a few nights in July and the last person to right a review pretty much sums it up, the apartment was clean, spacious, and well equipped. Marjolein was extremely accommodating and helpful from booking in the UK through to arrival. We would stay again! Thanks for a wonderful stay.
Taylor & Edwards families

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the Magnolia in Cefalu, Sicily, which is also an apartment from Sunseasicily (Arca), from July 3 to 8, 2011. The apartment was very comfortable with two large bedrooms, a large living room, a nice kitchen, a very large bathroom with a very large thub and a very very large terrasse and a fantastic view of Cefalu. I would love to go back and stay another week.
The service was impeccable.
Thank you Marjolein!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Arca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Arca

Address: Seveso 14 | Contrada Pisciotto, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa L'Arca is a privately owned, self-catering Holiday complex with a fantastic view on Cefalù and its bay. It is just 3 km out of town so I advise you rent a car because the road is rather steep to walk. It is surrounded by vines, olive and citrus groves and lots of beautiful bougainvillae. A BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO RELAX AND ENJOY THE SCENERY AFTER A DAY EXPLORING THE ISLAND, LAZYING ON THE BEACH, HIKING IN THE MOUNTAINS OR PLAYING GOLF. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your L'Arca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Arca Cefalu, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Arca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.