We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Brace

Ristorante La Brace
Via 25 Novembre, 10, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
+39.0921.423570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Cefalu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went to La Brace twice during October for dinner and the food is exquisite. It's run by just a mother and son and she does all the cooking and he's front of house! She's an excellent cook and after our first visit booked to go straight back the following evening. It's extremely good value for money and couldn't recommend it highly enough. We'll be back next year for sure for the meatballs and fillet steak! To die for!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    84
    33
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Quaint, friendly and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went to this lovely mother and son run restaurant in the old part of Cefalu' thanks to a recommendation: although it was very busy and we had to wait ages for a table, it was worth the wait and we were grateful they accommodated us so late in the evening (we were the last people there). The food was delicious, with just a touch of Asia due to the owners' Dutch/Indonesian origins. The wonderful, charming, multilingual young man runs the restaurant, bar, till and does all the orders and table service, whilst his talented and very interesting mother does all the cooking single-handed! Outstanding.
We ate ourselves to a stupor and then spent an hour outside chatting to them with a drink and a cigarette. An evening to remember. Well done!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We found La Brace by chance and so glad we did, the food was amazing no matter what we ordered. It's run by a Mother and Son, the Mother is the Chef and believe me she could teach these so called TV chefs a thing or two. Try the Fillet steak it melts in your mouth, best I've ever had or the chefs spaghetti special wonderful. Book in advance to avoid disappointment as it's very popular.
Plan to visit this little gem again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A nice restaurant, central location and very polite staff. Ate here with my brother while on a vacation in Sicily, matched our expectations be it taste or price. Had a nice plate of tournedos with vegetables and mashed potatoes which was fresh and hot, my brother tasted the salmon fillet which was cooked properly and delicious as well. The bill- it was not like we expected, in fact very budget friendly. Enjoy a nice meal here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great restaurant in Cefalu'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food and service were excellent. Family owned and very tasteful dishes. Very clean and a real gem in Cefalu'

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Brace also viewed

Cefalu, Province of Palermo
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
 
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Ristorante La Brace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Brace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.