We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use an upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Cecinella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Cecinella to your Saves list
La Cecinella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via della cecinella, 7, 57023 Cecina, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Cecina
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Could use an upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Well, what shall I write.... For a 3 star Villaggio it's  worth the money. 
Appartment is not bad, but it hasn,t been cleaned thoroughly for a long time (lotsa spiders on the ceiling). 
Our bed was verry wobbly. If one person moved, the whole bed was shaking. 
The kitchen was poorly equipped. No microwave, no oven, no watercooker, no coffeemachine ( but hey we are in Italy, so who needs one). 
We had a tv, but the screen of my ipad is bigger, and for worse, we had no tv signal at all. Wifi was available, but only in the main building. And because of the remote location, even Vodafone had a very poor signal.
And the worst of all, the shower had a showercurtain.... Yuk... Assuming they never clean those ( how would they??) one can imagine it's not very hygenic to take a shower.


The nearby beach is not the best beach of Tuscany so for a nice day on the beach you have to drive by car. 

Parc however looks nice and clean. Only yelling is from childeren at the pool or from the nearby camping. Parc is very quiet! 
On site shop has all you need, restaurant has friendly staff, fitness is not worth mentioning.

In short, we will never come back here. But not because of the Villaggio. But because of the awefull Tuscany beaches nearby. And maybe because of the shower curtains. A little upgrade could do this parc no harm!

Don,t trust your TomTom while driving there!! Unpaved roads are seen as normal roads. Not good for your car. Unless you drive a SUV

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    79
    57
    12
    16
See reviews for
113
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oberwil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

La Cecinella is a smart location of apartments and houses for adults with or without kids located out in the green adjacent to the sea village Cecinella. It offers all you need for a splendid holiday and can form the base for exciting trips to unlimited attractive locations and spots in the Tuscany area. Sports for all taste is offered in the Villaggio and in the near surrounding. The sea is close enough where you find after a short foot walk rural beaches. While crossing the smashing pine tree forest where the univers stands still you're enttertained by the crickets who chirr deafening under the needle roof. The village named the same with Cecina lives the Italian style on excelent levels. Food and dishes in all variations, gelati of all flavours and full-bodied wines keeps you from returning home. The service of the Cecinella team is professional with the charming italian hospitality. We can highly recommend this location enjoying it since 2004.
Martin and family

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Nice average resort - not very authentic or classical Italian, but had a welcoming atmosphere. The kids enjoyed the pools and the evening entertainment.

The resort is situated on a field in the outskirts of Cecina close to the seaside and it seems a bit remote, although it is only a few kilometres from Cecina. However for travellers who want to take a few daytrips, cities like Pisa, Lucca , Volterra and San Gimignano can easily be reached within a couple of hours by car.

Would I recommend it? For families who just want a week by the pool with the traditional aqua arobics, entertainment games and perhaps a few short daytrips this resort is an ok choice, however, if you look for a more authentic Italian holiday I would probably check out other alternatives first.

We travelled in the high season, which of course is always more expensive, but I'd still say I was a bit disappointed with the facilities considering the prize of the stay. Especially the onsite mini-market, spa, fitness center and restaurant were disappointing.

Piece of advice: If your GPS sends you to an off-road route starting with a very narrow bridge, turn around and find an alternative route - otherwise you'll be in for a 15 minutes very bumpy ride.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We have just returned home from Cecina and have nothing but positive memories.
La Cecinella is a quiet family oriented destination. It is located at the end of a cul de sac, 800 metres from sea (via a beautiful pine forest).
The premises are very well maintained, spotlessly clean, nothing fancy but very acceptable. Apartments are all seperate and spacious. Facilities are good - pool is lovely, good pool activities for all. Pools side restaurant provides good good at resaonbale prices.
Its a great base to combine relaxation with some sight seeing.
Pine woods nearby are fabulous for walkes and cycling - everybody seems to cycle!
Recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cecina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stella Marina
Hotel Stella Marina
#3 of 16 in Cecina
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tornese
Hotel Tornese
#2 of 3 in Marina di Cecina
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
15.0 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#9 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sileoni
Hotel Sileoni
#1 of 3 in Marina di Cecina
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Marinetta
Hotel Marinetta
#3 of 9 in Marina di Bibbona
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villaggio Club Cecina
Villaggio Club Cecina
#9 of 16 in Cecina
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cecinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cecinella

Address: via della cecinella, 7, 57023 Cecina, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Cecina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Cecina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cecinella 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Cecinella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cecinella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.