We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Buca del Gatto Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Buca del Gatto Hotel to your Saves list
La Buca del Gatto Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Astronomia,1, 57023 Cecina, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cecina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vejle, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had an 8 days stay with half board. When we arrived, we were very disappointed. The shower were broken, it smelled from the sink, wi-fi did not work and the dinner and breakfast buffet were below average. Not enough food and not great italian food like we know it.

Tennis courts fully booked when we arrived but we managed to play anyway.

The beach is small and crowded.

Nobody besides a few in the reception speaks english or german.

Mainly Italian guests.

not worth the money and we will not be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    128
    61
    39
    23
See reviews for
233
65
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

First of all. When you visit Italy be sure to eat en stay at places where Italians go. This hotel has 90 procent Italians. The other 10 % consists of Swiss, Belgians and Germans. Somehow the Dutch haven't discovered this place yet.

If you like Italian food this is the place to be. They offer a buffet every night and it is great. Every day three different pastas, fresh fish, lam, pork, potato's all Italian style.

The rooms and bathrooms are very clean but now is the time for some renovation. It begins to look a bit old.

The airconditioning is functioning very very good.

This is a family orientated hotel. This means that there is an animation team that starts with singing on the beach in hte morning and at 16.00 by the swiming pool. If you don't like loud music until 12 at night don't go, or choose a room not facing the pool. The animation is mostly Italian orientated. If you want to let your children take part into events you have to introduce them to the team. There is no disco or other dancepossibility after 12 at night.

The staff is very very friendly. They do everything to make you feel welcome.

This hotel is situated 8 minutes walking from the beach. They have their own beachpart where you can use the beachchairs for free.

The hotel is not near to Cecina. You need a car to get to the village. If you don't have a car it is difficult to get to Cecina. The public transport is terrible. You have to order a bus at the reception. From Cecina you can make trips by train to all the places in Tuscany.

There is a wellnesscentre but it was very very quied there during our stay.

Concusion: If you have children, don't mind animation noise, like italian food, want to relax on the beach or by the swimmingpool... this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Our stay at La Buca del Gatto was very delusive.
Maybe it was too early at the beginning of the season, but I think a 4 star should always offer the same level.

Positive points: the hotel is well located, near the seaside and next to a charming pine wood. The Spa looks great, the swimming pool too but it was under cleaning and not yet open (while the weather was summer like). The various buildings look nice and small. You can borrow bikes and children can play in a playground. The staff is very very welcoming, listens to you, tries to help.

Negative points: the half board was awful. A tiny buffet was served, with carrots, cucumber and tomatoes, a piece of bad fish and two potatoes. Dessert: an apple or a pear. Was it because the season had not begun, again?
Our room was terrible: the cigarette smoke of the neighbours came in our room via the communication door between us, we heard them all the night.

Hopefully, as we were to leave after only one day (which was not planned), we were given another room, which was so different that we thought that we had changed hotel. The buffet also became a little better the 3rd day.

Conclusion: it's a very good place to stay if you choos the highest level of room.

  • Liked — The location and the staff.
  • Disliked — The first room and the food.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Stayed here for two weeks with the family (2 adults 2 childeren). The rooms are clean and well maintained. There is daily cleaning service and the rooms are all located in 5 main housing area's. All have airconditioning. There are a lot of facilities (tennis / basketball court, 2x swimming pool, bike rental etc) and there is WLAN internet acces (15 euro p/w). Nearby is a small bistro for a reall mean cappucino, further down the road is the beach. The food is quite good and there is a wide variaty (fish, meat, pasta etc) and there is a small wine list as well. When we where there the large majority of people on vacation where italians. The location is near Livorno and Pisa, the town of Sienna is in reach but it's quite a drive (take the SS68 via volterra & san gimangano) The only downside we could find was the lack of english speaking staff (incl animation team).

  • Liked — complete facilities & clean
  • Disliked — english language support
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Buca del Gatto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Buca del Gatto Hotel

Address: Via della Astronomia,1, 57023 Cecina, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Cecina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cecina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Buca del Gatto Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your La Buca del Gatto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Buca del Gatto Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.