We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel acropolis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Acropolis Hotel to your Saves list
Acropolis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Verdi, 1, 47841 Cattolica, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 177 Hotels in Cattolica
IOM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“hotel acropolis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a seven day break at the Hotel Acropolis which has been very pleasant. We were greeted upon our arrival by a senior member of staff and very speedily booked into the hotel. Our room was basic but clean with shower and balcony and double bed which was a little hard with pillows to match. Dining Room was again pleasant and we were booked in for half-board . Proprietor was willing to change evening meal for lunch if we advised him which was a very good gesture. Excellent salads were available each day although on occasions meals were a little below par. Nice to have waiter/waitress service from very friendly staff I believe were all part of the proprietors family. We travelled as part of a package with Direct Holidays but would certainly consider using the hotel again if we visit Cattolica in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Acropolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Hotel Acropolis. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed our service We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future and extend you our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

The hotel has an excelent location,beach almost next door,"Little train" stop outside,Saturday market up the same street. This was our second stay with Mario + his lovely family.A few staff changes since last time but still a very nice bunch.Hotel was exceptionly clean as before.Food good,breakfast was-juice+tea/coffee, cereal,toast,cheese,cold meat,eggs etc.,dinner-salad buffet+3 choices for starter+3 for main course + varied deserts.As I have a sensitive tummy+eat no fish+little meat,I could have 2 different starters(good size portions).Lunch was also available with same amount of courses +choices as dinner.We had a front room with a full en-suite with a power shower cubicle.Some rooms have wet rooms as quite a few disabled guests use this hotel.The family,grandkids and all,eat in the dining hall with the guests.There was a new beach bar this year,handy for snacks+drinks.A good,comfortable,hotel for a family on a budget..

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — Book trips with local bus company ,HALF the price.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Acropolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We were so happy to read your kind words following your stay with us at the Hotel Acropolis. We were so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service your received. I have passed on your kind words to our brilliant team and we hope you will come back to stay with us soon.
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

Like all hotels, the Hotel Acropolis has good points and bad points. The Acropolis is no different. It's a case of swing and roundabouts. The location's good. The rooms are basic but we found them clean as was the hotel in general. Another review said the owner was miserable. He may look it but, we always found him, his wife and staff very friendly. Breakfast was always fresh and replenished as stocks ran low. You didn't have to get up early to make sure you weren't left with the odd boiled egg and piece of burnt toast. I must admit that the evening meals got a bit boring though. The bar was very reasonably priced. You expect to get ripped off in hotel bars but infact, it was cheaper than the bars we visited. We can't comment on the noise from the main road as we on the second floor at the rear. We found it very quiet. All in all, it was a pleasant stay. Not the Ritz but then what do you expect on a package holiday in a poular resort?

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Acropolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are delighted to read your positive feedback about your stay at the Hotel Acropolis and we would like to thank your for the time dedicating in writing your review. We are so glad that you found our service met your expectations and I have passed on your kind words to all the team. We hope that you will join us again in the near future where I am sure you will have another excellent stay with us.
Our kindest regards from Cattolica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield E ngland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

We have just stayed for a fortnight at the Acropolis Hotel and contrary to other reviews we found it very good value for money. The several rooms we visited had plain decor as other hotels,basic furniture and the bathrooms had modern showers complete with hairdryers. Agreed with them about the beds-they could have been better but we managed to sleep o.k. The rooms were spotless and the towels were changed every day.
We stayed half board and found the Italian food very good. At breakfast the food was replenished regularly while there were people there as was the evening salad. The lunches & evening meals were waiter service as is the thing in Italy.
The main road at the front was noisy with scooters upto approx. midnight but we did not here any loud shouting or yobbish behaviour.
If you are used to the Spanish large 4star hotels with full English breakfasts, steak & chips etc. this is not the place for you. A good reference was given by the number of Italians that keep returning there year after year.
We certainly enjoyed our stay there & would recommend it to anybody.
WHEN IN ROME DO AS THE ROMANS DO!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — road noise
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Acropolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words following your stay with us at the Hotel Acropolis. I was so glad to read that you managed to try our restaurant during your stay and enjoyed your dining experience as well as breakfast. Please do come and stay with us again in the near future when I am sure we will meet your expectations once again.
Kind regards from Cattolica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

We have just returned from a week staying at the Acropolis Hotel at Cattolica. This Hotel is sold in the brochure as a really nice hotel. The first apperance of the outside and the lobby - yes it was good , and I thought yes we have a nice place , The landings did'nt look too bad but once the key was put in the door and the door of the bedroom opened it was like walking to another hotel and back in time. There was no fridge ,or hairdryer in the rooms and the air condition was controlled by the owner downstairs in reception, and if you switched it off you would have to go and ask them to switch it back on. The beds was of metal frame - one was hard and the other soft , the shower room/ toilet was pre 1970 look and also the decor in the bedroom. There was a gap between the door and the frame !! The bed linen was clean with towels changed every day , and the maids did the best they could , It is only so much cleaning you can do when you have broken tiles
etc in the shower. The food was very good only a bit to regimental and the waiter was very scatty/ or bad memory., and for the owner, I think to start he should put a smile on his face and then people epecially the British would feel a bit more welcome. Cattolic itself is a fantastic place and also Gabbice Mare. If anyone fancied a quick lunch Cocco's bar is the place to go . Right on the see front , one of the waiters very helpfull and polite and spoke a good english the other not quite as good. This place is very noisy at night and into the morning with scooters travelling and people shouting and singing in the streets well into the early hours of the morning. We will certainly be going back to Cattloica but I don't think that we will be staying in the Acropolis again unless they have a major face lift in the bedrooms. I am suprised that this hotel was 3 star as I would only rate it as a 1 - 2 star at the most .

  • Liked — Nothing spring to mind !
  • Disliked — An accumulation of everything !
  • Tips/Secrets — If you expect luxury you will not get it in this hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

Good location, just a few steps from the beach.
Clean family run hotel. Meal times very restricted and far too early for our family. Dining room operates on almost 1950's butlins style set up. At breakfast, once its gone its gone regardless of the fact you may have an hour or more of service left!
The beds are absolutely terrible we didn't sleep other than on the beach!
The area is nice very relaxed, but we found everything expensive.
Theres a nice lemon around the corner...no im not mad!!... it served ice cold fruit drinks and lemon was its speciality. hence the name, not cheap either but very nice.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Acropolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words following your stay with us at the Hotel Acropolis. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all the facilities and service we provided you with. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Cattolica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

My family and I (2 adults and 2 children aged 4 & 6) have just spent a week at the Acropolis Hotel. The location of this hotel is perfect; less than 5mins walk to the beach, only 10mins walk into the centre of Cattolica and about the same distance in the other direction to Gabbice Mare.
The hotel room was not a bad size especially considering we also had bunkbeds in addition to our bed. The room was cleaned, and sheets and towels were changed every day so although the furnishings were quite basic and in some need of redecoration - they were spotlessly clean.
We stayed on a half-board basis and the meals were of very good quality. The evening meal started with antipasti, then the first course - pasta or soup, second meat or fish course and finishing with pudding. The range of antipasti, salads and veg dishes was really excellent and extremely tasty. We sampled starter dishes such as macaroi and ragu, pasta with shrimps and pesto sauce, and the soups. Choices for main course included salmon, beef, veal, pork stew and swordfish (amongst others) and everything we tried was tasty.
The bar area is spacious and drinks are available at all times.
In summary the best aspects of the Acropolis are its location and the food, but on the downside our room was in need of a refurb, and we found the beds really hard (but obviously this is just a personal preference - to some folk they could be perfect!).

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Acropolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind words following your stay at the Hotel Acropolis. We were so glad to read that we met your expectations and you found our service and the general ambience of the hotel to your liking. Please do come and visit us again soon.
Our kindest regards from Cattolica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acropolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hotel

Address: Via Verdi, 1, 47841 Cattolica, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Cattolica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cattolica
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Cattolica
#67 Family Hotel in Cattolica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acropolis Hotel is located in a quiet area of Cattolica, where you can enjoy a wonderful view of the sea and the surrounding hills of Gabicce, Gradara and San Marino. The three-star family run hotel, offers a large parking garage, a sun terrace, gym, sauna and whirlpool. Organizes themed evenings featuring good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Acropolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis Hotel Cattolica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.