We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family run hotel in authentic Italian holiday resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gambrinus Mare

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cattolica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gambrinus Mare
Via Carducci 86, Cattolica, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 174 hotels in Cattolica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic family run hotel in authentic Italian holiday resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay at Gambrinus Mare and we will definitely return again. The owners Lisa and Gianni, and all their staff, made us feel very welcome in their comfortable and modern hotel, which is just a few steps from the spotlessly clean sandy beach of Cattolica.

We have two young children and I'd say the hotel was particularly suited to families, as the Italians love children and are very tolerant of noise and play. The hotel has two dedicated play areas for the kids and often there are activities for them to take part in. The hotel also provides a lot of the bulky items like buggies, highchairs, cots, etc., which cuts down on the amount of luggage you have take.

The food is excellent and is served buffet style, so you can have a taste of everything. There is always a great choice at every meal and even my fussy kids found plenty of food they enjoyed. The dining room bustles every mealtime as Italians enjoy chatting loudly, but it all adds to the atmosphere. Every evening Gianni dresses up to sing and entertain the children (and adults!), which is always a hit, especially the "Grab the Chicken" song!

The hotel is situated at the quieter end of Cattolica, although it is on a fairly busy road. There is a lively pedestrian area about 2 minutes walk from the hotel, that has plenty of shops, cafes and entertainment in the the evenings. The Italians enjoy promenading after dinner, often along the boardwalk behind the beach.

We hired umbrellas and loungers at Malu Beach 93 (the beach is divided into different areas, all with their own facilities, which you normally pay for separately from the hotel, direct to the beach staff, although this is included if you go for the all-inclusive package at the hotel). I'd also recommend this beach area for young families, as it has a nice play area, a small, shallow pool, toilets, showers and changing areas.

The resort is within easy reach of Rimini airport by taxi, or Bologna airport if you hire a car. We have done both and would probably choose Rimini again if possible, as the public transport in Cattolica is good enough to allow some trips without the need for a car.

Overall, this hotel is highly recommended for a family who want a lively but relaxing holiday somewhere away from the usual tourist hot-spots. The owner Lisa is Scottish, so you won't be stuck if you don't know the language, but otherwise I would be surprised if you hear much other English when you are here as it seems to be mostly Italian families and older people who holiday here. They obviously enjoy it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Gambrinus Mare, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Lisa & Family thank you so much for dedicating time to write your amazing & detailed review, well done!
It was a great pleasure to have you all here again this year and as always i really enjoy our wee chats, especially to fellow Scots!
As you have pin pointed our hotel is ideal for families with children of all ages and the buffet for lunch & dinner is, as many guests have already told us, ideal. As you know, food in Italy is a big thing and very important with a massive variation of pasta, meat & fish choices so there is always something for everybody!
We are so glad that with the correct mixture of a, warm welcome in modern soroundings, friendly atmosphere, superb food, fantastic and well equipped beaches in a lovely, clean resort that you will come back yet again for another fabulous holiday!
Have a nice day,
Lisa & Gianni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
243
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I have been going to The fabulous Hotel Gambrinus Mare for 9 years now and I can honestly say it is the best Hotel by far I have ever stayed in!

The hotel is a family business expertly ran by Gianni and Lisa whose attention to detail is absolutely first class. There hospitality and warmness are guarenteed to make sure you will have a fab time when you are there.They both go out of there way to help you at every turn.

Lisa is Scottish which means there is no language barrier either.

The satff are firs class and are always polite and very helpful.

The hotel has over 40 rooms and is spotless throughout. Right on the sea front gives amazing views of the Adriatic coast also. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and very modern with en suite bathrooms and balconys. There are also flat screen tvs, air con, phones and hairdryers.

The food is amazing and from last year the Gambrinus has now adopted a buffet theme which means you can sample all of the freshly made dishes! Believe me when I say, you will definately be up for seconds!!! The Restaurant is beautifully decorated having been renovated last year. It is spacious, spotless and nice and cooled with air conditioning. Each day you will find something new from fish, meat and veggie dishes not to mention all the side dishes and pasta dishes which are freshly prepared for you! The food is to die for and the buffet theme means you can have as little or as MUCH as you like! Definately amazing value for money!

The hotel lounge and bar is also spacious and those travelling with a family can sit there and relax as there children are looked after by the hotel's babysitter who offers a wide range of activities for the children in the hotel's Pirate room! Our kids loved it and spent most of their time there! From facepaints to puzzels there's lots to do. You can also let the kids eat in there to give you some quite time at meal times!!! BLISS!

Hotel Gambrinus Mare is a great place to stay in and each year when you return you always find it has been modernised or decorated. It's warm atmosphere will make you at ease and feel relaxed, just what you want for a perfect holiday.

The local airports is Rimini, with only a 20 minute transfer. Flights leave UK from Stansted or Liverpool with Ryanair. Or alternatively you can fly into Bologna.

Cattolica is a great place to enjoy a family holiday, with lots of fun things round about to do. The beaches are the cleanest in Europe and you will be amazed with what's on offer. Water parks and theme parks are also close by if you fancy it too.

All in all, we can't wait to go back each year and are counting down the days until we return this summer in July! Check out there web page for more details or give Lisa a call!!

Room Tip: There are various room types available, depends what you are looking for but all are modern. Not all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherwell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We love the hotel, the place, the people, the food everything about our holiday
We have been several times and always go back, you will love it

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We were advised about this hotel about four/five years ago and checked the prices/flights etc and although very economical, the journey involved a stopover in London so we decided to give it a miss, too much hastle we thought. A year or so later we stumbled across it again and also discovered other flight routes to Rimini without going to London. So we decided to give it a try.. What a decision that was!!!!! One of those rare moments in life when you just know you called it right.
This was our third visit in as many years and will be part of our holiday plans for years to come. Lisa & Gianni are the proprietors of this 40 odd bedroom hotel set in the quieter part of town about 100-150 yards from the beach and what a beach, if you find anything to better this then you really have found something to treasure. The beach runs the full length of the town from a small harbour at the north to the Marina at the South and is split into over 100 impeccably run sections that have there own receptions, toilets, playareas,gyms and in some sections Bars that all border the Boardwalk.
Lisa & Gianni work tremendously hard to create a warm, friendly and caring atmostphere that you tend only to find in family run establishments. You become an immediate part of the place as soon as you arrive. Lisa & Gianni's attention to their guests is first class particularly at meal times and the food is simply superb. Pasta, seafood, soups, meats etc all cooked to perfection AND served to your table, apart from the excellent 'Salad Bar' which is Buffet Style.
Gianni is full time Proprietor, part time Entertainer, part time Magician and all round Nice Guy. Lisa, well she is Just Magic...
Go on check out the web site, trust me, there are no 20 year old photos here, what you see is what you will get AND more. This truely is a ''Hidden Gem'' and would guarantee anyone who visits WILL return.
Ciao for now Lisa & Gianna and again Grazie!!!!
Bill & Liz, Glasgow xxx

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gambrinus Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gambrinus Mare

Address: Via Carducci 86, Cattolica, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Cattolica
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 hotels in Cattolica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gambrinus Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Gambrinus Mare to your Saves list