We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Torre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Torre to your Saves list
Hotel la Torre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Emanuele 50, Historical Medieval Centre | Lago Trasimeno, 06061 Castiglione del Lago, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Halen, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Super hotel !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Hotel La Torre is an excellent hotel. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help. It has large rooms with a nice bath room and air conditioning. The rooms are very quiet although the hotel is at the main road. I just wish I could have stayed longer in this super hotel !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roby65, Proprietario at Hotel la Torre, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    58
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
69
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The citta vecchia of Castiglione del Lago is a little jewel of a walled medieval town. Hotel la Torre is just inside the walls and very nice. The rooms are basic, but very clean three-star rooms. The owner and staff are extremely helpful and considerate. They serve a selection of very good baked goods from the bakery next door for breakfast. I highly recommend a side-trip to this town for anyone headed to or from northern Italy from Rome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Poor customer service, Staff/hosts indifferent. Room while of a good size with a nice ensuite, smelled of smoke.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

A lovely hotel in the middle of this small town which exists for tourists. Our host was very helpful and so friendly. The small town has many good restaurants, the best being Mona Lisa, and it has many shops featuring local produce, olive wood articles and some ceramics. It is convenient for a boat tour of the lake or an automobile trip to the various towns on the lake. We found the area very interesting. It's also near Perugia.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is located right in the heart of town, so no views, although we overlooked the beautiful central street. The rooms are functional rather than beautiful butr we spent so much time wandering the locality so no problem.
Breakfasts were extraordinary- the pastries were amazing.
Owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay at this excellent hotel run by Roberto Lucarelli and his sister, Simone. They are excellent hosts and are very friendly and welcoming and we felt like part of the family!

The hotel was spotlessly clean. Clean towel changes every day without asking whether or not we wanted this and I the sheets were changed once during our 7 night stay!

We did not have a car preferring to explore on foot and we got a lot out of Lake Trasimeno but you do have to work hard at it. (Roberto had advised we should rent a car).. The plus side is that we used up so much energy walking, we were able to experience the half board option at Monna Lisa (12 euros per person) and the exceptional breakfasts at La Torre without putting on any weight! The breakfasts were without doubt the best pastries we have ever had anywhere in the world!

We cannot recommend La Torre highly enough so a very big thank you to Roberto and Simone for making this an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Room 8 on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The hotel is ideally situated in Umbria and is well appointed. We had a large, bright comfortable room overlooking the village's main street. Great service was provided by the fantastic owners who were also able to provide advice on the places to see and how to get there. The hotel is in the old walled village surrounded by restaurants and delicatessans. Came for 3 days and stayed 8! Found this by chance but can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Torre

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 50, Historical Medieval Centre | Lago Trasimeno, 06061 Castiglione del Lago, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione del Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Castiglione del Lago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Torre 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel situated inside of Castiglione del Lago, a marvelous and panoramic village on Trasimeno lake, in a green nice central part of Italy, Umbria, only at few kilometers from Tuscany and many interesting places. An old palace, converted in a tastefully renovated hotel, situated between the fortress - Palazzo Ducale and the main square with the S. Maddalena's church, furnished of all modern services ideal for business people and refined tourists who love to enjoy holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel la Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torre Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.