We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna di Julio

La Taverna di Julio
Via Vespucci 5, 06061 Castiglione del Lago, Italy
0039 075 9659268
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have been several times to this restaurant now and the food just gets better and better. There is a fantastic selection of both meat and fish dishes not to mention the pizzas which are cooked on the wood burning fire in the restaurant. The staff are very friendly and you can tell its a family business who are proud of what they do and wish to please its customers.
This is my favourite restaurant in the Lake Trasimeno area and I look forward to returning again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    56
    16
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paciano, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Big smiling welcome & the food is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Located on the SS71 which is the road from Chiusi to Castiglione del Lago=north. You can see it from the road next to the COOP warehouse.
Great steaks cooked over an open fire, great pastas,great pizzas, a wonderful tiramisu for dessert.Probably the lowest prices in the area for exceptionally well-presented food and nice wines. It's a good idea to make reservations & they speak English. It's casual and very popular with the locals. You will see lots of 20 something Italians here on weekends with dates!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you are a meat lover this is the place to choose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Premium quality meat, friendly staff, just come and have fun! We had a great time, freshly colore meat, well seasoned and accompained by nice wine. At the end of the night the owner sat on our table and spent a good time with us. Recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Steak In Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have been quite a few times now both to the old place and more recently the new build. The steak is amazing and the local wine works well with it. Best steak I have had with out a doubt!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A true find, bargain prices for fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is in a beatiful restored mill done to the high quality of finish.

The menu is extensive at bargain prices. (our bill for 6 came to 115 Euros, we had t bone steak for our main meal.)

Efficient staff, don't miss a visit to a fine restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di Julio also viewed

Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Taverna di Julio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna di Julio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.