We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Cantina

Ristorante La Cantina
Via V.Emanuele, Castiglione del Lago, Italy
0759652463
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great view, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on a Sunday, the place was buzzing but we managed to get a table outside in the lovely courtyard. I had the menu trasimeno and my husband had the menu Umbria. Both were well presented, nicely balanced and good value for money at 24€ Worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    165
    89
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with a nive view over the lake trasimeno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant was very clean, also the toilets.The service was very good and quick and the prices were not too expensive. The view was good but not amazing as there were a lot of trees blocking your view. Besides this it would definitly recommend it to everyone to eat here. Even with your kids.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Not a hallmark for Italian cuisine”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Staff claims that pizzas and meals are served starting at noon. Now: we were there at noon, they took right away the order for beverages... But the kitchen was still closed.
They took our order for pizza at 12.30 (by the time, imagine the temperature of my beer...), the pizza arrived at 12.50, and the closest definition I can give is "sloppy": small, salty, burned and with little topping.
Staff never smiling ... I guess we can blame this in the owners much more than on waiters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Saturday night by the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were glad we'd pre-booked for our first night in Castiglione. The place was pretty busy but we had a great table outside, on the terrace overlooking the lake. The service was professional and the maitre 'd was friendly and helpful. We went with his recommendations for the wine. Good choice of dishes, price was €120 for two courses for five people, including 1 btl of red wine. We would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“What a fab, buzzy place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked a lunch table for 13 of us - outside, but shaded with lovely peeks through the tree to the lake beyond. Lovely setting for a warm summers day. The place was ram-packed and there was a wonderful almost noisy buzzy atmosphere with everyone talking, laughing and enjoying themselves. The staff were pleasant and efficient. We had a mixture of pizzas through to more expensive fillet steaks and T-bone. Beers all round - fizzy stuff for the kids. Conto was €220 - an absolute bargain IMHO. I'm perplexed as to why this restaurant is low down the list in this town - it really deserves to be up in the top 5.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Cantina also viewed

Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.