We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Cantina

Ristorante La Cantina
Via V.Emanuele, Castiglione del Lago, Italy
0759652463
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The service in this restaurant was particularly poor when we dined there. Waiting staff were off-hand, unhelpful and failed to understand that when one is eating a liquidised fish stew, one needs a spoon. The codfish dish was utterly revolting- fish over-cooked, watery, flavourless stock- foul. We sampled three courses and because the main dish was unacceptable, we decided to opt for fresh fruit for dessert as there was no danger of disaster.
It must be said that if the atmosphere had been better, we might have been more tolerant of the food, but I would go so far as to say that some of the staff were downright rude. The town is a tourist hotspot and if tourists are disliked, one should not embark upon a career in hospitality and catering. This restaurant is not cheap either. Avoid it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    186
    95
    29
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza in nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited La Castiglione del Lago on our first day in Umbria, and decided to go to La Cantina for a pizza. It was very pizza - though my impression was that this was not just with tourists - and received good service and very tasty pizzas. The covered terrace is atmospheric, and, on a hot day, was beautifully shaded. We only wanted a light meal, so had two different pizzas, wine and coffee and enjoyed it very much. Looking at earlier reviews maybe we were fortunate, but we would have happily returned there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is one of the larger restaurants in Castiglione del Lago and allthough the food was good, the service was not as friendly as we have had before in Italy. No time for advise, forgot drinks for the children, not willing to answer questions...so would not advice it..there are better around.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Ristorante La Cantina is located in the old part of Castiglione del Lago. Our first impression when we walked into the restaurant was that it had a very nice atmosphere but it seems like the staff seemed very unorganized and not very service minded. Nevertheless, despite our inotial impression, we decided to give it a go. Unfortunalety, it turned out that we should not have. We had to wait over 25 minutes before we got any bread or we got the chance to order. When we finally got our main meal, we only got half of what we ordered and despite that we pointed out that only one of us had gotten our main meal they did nothing at all to remedy the situation. At that point we had had enough and asked for the bill and got out there as soon as possible, The restaurant has a lot of potentional with its nice location and atmosphere but it had miles to go in terms on how to be service minded or run an effective restaurant. It is a classic tourist trap restaurant who are very keen to get you in the door but once you are in they do very little to have a pleasant evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,325 reviews 1,325 reviews
902 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 272 cities Reviews in 272 cities
482 helpful votes 482 helpful votes
“Good place for Pizza but not traditional Umbrian/Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went with a purpose to get Pizza.. In Italy you need to go for Pizza at Night and if you get in the afternoon its for tourist.. I also look for beehive ovens or old wood ovens..(A lot of the tourist places have the small little ovens. They had one and we decided to give them a taste. We were served promptly and friendly. The pizza was actually pretty good and the cost was excellent. My thing with the restaurant is they seem to have a catch all menu and not focused. They sell stuff, have hotel, etc.. So a lot of marketing.. I would go back for pizza but was not overwhelmed with the true Italian menu or atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Cantina also viewed

Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.