We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History with taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Monna Lisa

Ristorante Monna Lisa
Via del Forte, 2, 06061 Castiglione del Lago, Italy
+39 075 951071
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Seafood, Pasta, Soups, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Castiglione del Lago, Italy
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“History with taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We are an American couple who live in the area.

The first thing that impressed me on my first visit several years ago was a little story on the menu about the, "Cucina Povera". The poverty kitchen. How people managed to eat in in the really hard times. These have become my favorite dishes. The owner, Maurizio, is a very bright guy who does a lot of research on food. He has a couple of new dishes worth investigating.

Some years ago they found a man who froze in the Alps who over 5,000 years ago. They analyzed the contents of his stomach and found a grain, Grano Monocco, that hasn't been around since the Bronze age. Maurizio found out that they had extracted the DNA of this grain and are now growing it! Maurizio found it and now has two pasta dishes on his menu made from this ancient grain. It has no gluetin and is very healthy. Google it, it's interesting. I liked it.
Monna Lisa has many fancy contemporary dishes to tempt you, but I love the traditional dishes made to Monna Lisa's standards. Nobody does it better. Where else can you try food that hasn't been around for 3,000 years?

Maurizio is one of those rare people who is actually smarter than he thinks he is. A rare man. Trust his judgment about food and wine, you'll be the richer for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    308
    127
    34
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Remarkable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The food is authentic Italian very well presented and whatever dish you choose it will be freshly cooked and taste as good as it looks. My wife requires a gluten free diet and received help and advise from the menu and had a good choice of fish dishes (the best sea bass we ever had) and excellent steak.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of the best culinary experience! Are you somewhere around the go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Corona, Montalcino, Arezzo, Montepulciano - if you are somewhere close to those cities, then you need to go to Castiglione del Lago. Not for a city tour but for a great culinary experience. The owner will recommend great food (both for adults and kids) and great wine. We were living around Cotrona but we managed to be there twice. One of the bests bruschetta (three different taste), wonderful spaghetti vongole, fantastic soup with sea food (hide portion, which can be shared for two), hime made ravioli with nuts and shrimps ... Very Tasty ... and unique desserts :))

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Excellent service, helpful and friendly serving staff, so-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We made early reservations for our party of eight so that we could see Rigoletto at La Rocca in Castiglione del Lago. Friendly welcome and helpful advice from the manager who seated us a nice table in the piazza. When it came to ordering, he was keen for us to try some Umbrian, as opposed to Tuscan, fare. He suggested an Umbrian riserva made from Gamay grapes over my preference for a Nobile di Montepulciano. I should have stuck to my guns. The second bottle, an Umbrian Sangiovese, which was the vino rosso della casa was better. Coperti included some lovely pieces of Umbrian but, early warning signs of the fare, we were served with small pieces of pizza, meat pastries, cubed (processed) prosciutto and mozzarella. Some of us then had excellent antipasti of large shrimps and melon; others had a (very large) prima of homemade pici and very good duck sauce. The secondi were less good. Two of us had the Umbrian fish soup, which is a pale replica of French bouillabaisse: the freshwater fish - perch, tench, eel, trout, and pike - were too oily while the tomato sauce was the wrong side of subtle. Others had slices of veal and pork that were bland. The best of eight secondi we agreed was a grilled whole bass. The contorni were very good, especially the patate al rosmarino and spinaci (some with chicory and chard). We skipped dolci as we had to rush for Rigoletto. €240 for 8, including tip. Service was excellent. Would we return? Probably not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good - but not excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

the food at the restaurant is great - so is the wine card. try the pasta with truffles - not truffle oil, but the real thing, and dig into the wine card try something special.
the service is ok, the tables and seating ok, really a place to come for good food

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Monna Lisa also viewed

Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Monna Lisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.