We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Accidental Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Torrione

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castiglione del Lago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Torrione
Save
You added Il Torrione to your Saves list
Via delle mura, 4, 06061 Castiglione del Lago, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A Happy Accidental Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We got lost looking for the B & B we had booked in Perugia, and having passed the gorgeous Lake Trasimeno on our way, we doubled back and happened to snag a room in this super charming B & B inside the old city walls. What a charming spot!

Franco, the lovely manager, saw how frustrated we were from our getting lost and ushered us into his gorgeous tower garden overlooking the entire city and lake, with 2 glasses of white wine!

After he gave us a chice of 2 sweet rooms - no frills but lovely and comfortable.

The breakfast was continental, served in the garden - the view made it gourmet!!!

The town of Castiglione De Lago is absolutely adorable! Not as touristic as other "ancient" towns, positively charming! We walked to the supermarket, grabbed some cheeses, meats, wine and bread and had the most lovely picnic on the lake!

But please - DO NOT MISS THE MONA LISSA Restaurant!!! On a separate review you can see what I think of the meal there!!! Mmmmmmmmm!

Sometimes the most frustrating experiences give light to the most delightful ones - Il Torrione and Castiglione Del Lago certainly prove that!

Room Tip: If they were available I would have grabbed one of the rooms that face the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were attending a concert in the ruins of the castle in Castiglione del Lago. As the concert would not be finished until late we decided to stay the night. Booked at Il Torrione because of the wonderful gardens and the pleasant owner. Spotlessly clean room overlooking the gardens that are set in the old tower with wonderful view. Enjoyed croissant, coffee and juice served to us in the gardens, so beautiful and peaceful in the sun. The B&B have lovely lounge chairs so we decided to spend part of the day relaxing in the sun with good books. We were so sad to leave we booked for an extra night. Truly a lovely, romantic, relaxing, peaceful place to spend a vacation. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms opening on to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great views of the city and the lake from private, amazing garden. Breakfast is served in the garden - must not be missed. Room was small but sufficient and very clean and cozy. Owner is very friendly and service minded - speaks many languages! Very centrally located, at the end of very quiet small street. Parking in the street below the old city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed in the tower which was 3 levels with pirate stairs and it's own little roof top balcony.
Franco was a great host and his lively artwork adorned all the walls.
The garden was built into a tower which was part of the old city walls and provided a wonderful view over the lake.
Franco brought us breakfast here in the mornings and we had our wine here in the evening.
He also recommended Monna Lisa Restaurant which was superb.
Castiglione del Lago is a delightful small town and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Hugely recommend staying in one of the two garden rooms here. Main attraction is the beautiful garden where you can sit in a deck chair while overlooking the lake. The owner is also very nice and has great restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Torrione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Torrione

Address: Via delle mura, 4, 06061 Castiglione del Lago, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione del Lago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglione del Lago
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Il Torrione Living with and surrounded with art. The Il Torrione B&B is an ancient buildig completely restored with regard to its historic architectural character. There is an appartment for handicaped people availabel. All the rooms of the Bed and Breakfast Il Torrione are equipped with bath/shower and a modern heating system. They all have been peronalised with selected furniture and pictures on the walls painted by the owner. Services * Briefing:on all the important things of surrounding the area and events * Half board on demand * Transport from/to the Station * We accept well-behaved dogs * We speak English, German and French ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Torrione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.