We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like camping....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Badiaccia Camping Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Badiaccia Camping Village to your Saves list
Badiaccia Camping Village
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Via Pratovecchio 1 | loc. Badiaccia, 06061 Castiglione del Lago, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you like camping....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you like camping...
You'll have a swell time here. especially if you're Dutch or Belgian. Thing is... I really like camping. Though I absolutely hate campings! And since I seem to have forgotten this, I booked at Badiaccia Camping Village for a whole week.
Prices are pretty reasonable for a tentpitch and a parking spot but you really have to be into the whole 'campsite-experience'. Everywhere you turn there are people speaking dutch.. Me myself being belgian and also speeking dutch, I don't really like this at all. If I go on a holiday I hope to mingle with the locals and try to communicate with signs and gestures rather than having people around me speaking the same language I do and understanding every single word I say when I'm talking to my girlfriend.

But enough about that.. If you are into the 'camping-experience' and you love to have people around you that speak your own language, you like campings because all you want to do is hang around, get a tan, do some swimming, miniature golf an all that stuff.... I can absolutely recommend this camping. I you're concerned about facilities and all.. don't be, they had the whole thing renovated, restrooms, showers, baby changing tables and washing rooms, you name it... It's there and it's rather new.

The campsite itself is located near the lake so if you like to go for a swim in the mosquito-infested lake, it cannot get any easier!

Have fun camping, you surely won't see me again, I hate it. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badiaccia C, Direttore at Badiaccia Camping Village, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear 8E7, thanks for your review, I am glad that you recommend our Camping Village and our facilities, in the month of July our guests are mainly from north Europe, if you prefer more italians on the camping a vacation in August could be the solution. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
36
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, I'm not usually the fussy type and I am quite easily satisfied among accomidation and general places through my world travels but I can honestly say, that this is the worst place, I have ever ever had to be. 

The staff are rude, lazy, unhelpful and sexiest. 

Although the camping is cheap, there are many hidden costs. We didn't have a car and everything other than the resort was miles away from the site so you have to drive. I really would not recommend coming here if your on foot as you'll be stuck in a hell hole. 

The restaurant on site is outrageously expensive. We stayed in the city Perugia beforehand and we were eating in gorgeous restaurants with lovely italian food for less than here. A restaurant in the middle of no where that serves uncooked pasta that is utterly disgusting.. All cooked from frozen and packaged food. When you come to Italy, surely you expect at least a half decent pasta!?! 

So that people are aware of how money grabbing the restaurant is... When they bring out the bill, two of the tiniest sweets come out with it which you expect to be complimentary... But then they charge you 60 cent each for them? The staff are forceful and rude, they just want to make you finish your meal, give them your money and leave. They wouldn't leave us alone and kept asking us if we were ready to order every minute. Utterly dire. 

The lake... We expected to be able to swim in the lake as it tells you that on their website. Rather, it's a shallow pit of mud which stinks of sewage. I've swam in some revolting places before but this was unbelievable and dirty.

The swimming pool... Is completely over crowded and everyone is on top of each other. It's a small swimming pool which doesn't cater to the amount of people that want to use it. You also have to pay 3 euros for a stupid little hat to wear before you can use it. 

All the faculties at this place, sound amazing on the website but when your here and you actually try to use any of it, it's all cheap, broken and almost unusable. 

The 'entertainment' is repetitive and boring. Lots of stuff for kids but nothing for the adults... I've sat at the communal area and watched parents drown their sorrows with booze all day. Everyone is rude and unhappy. 

The wifi (if you can call it that anyway) is so so terrible. They make out its a free service for everyone but you'll spend half your life trying to use it. The signs for the wifi (which is conviently not mentioned on the website) tell you that, there's no point asking staff to help you connect because they don't know either and that only 15 people can use it at a time... And I ensure you, double the people will be trying to use it throughout the day and night so you have no chance.

The computer room (again if you can call it that) is a wooden wendy house with one messily laptop. It's so hot in there and be expected to wait outside at least an hour to even use it. 

Tennis courts are always busy... People who go on them, hog all of the time, even if people are waiting. So expect not to be able to use it also. If you want to play in the evening (because it's less busy then and cooler) they'll refuse to turn the flood lights on so you cant play. 

The toilets and showers are clean but at night, be prepared to hold your breath as you enter a chamber of bugs. 

I've normally had great luck with lonely planet guides (which we have been following for the past 2 months in italy).. But this is how we heard about the place and I hope that they'll take it out of it. 

Save your money and your time and DO NOT COME HERE. Luckily for us we had 2 months of Italy to make up for it but the reason I'm leaving this review is to save those who don't have as long or just go here for a smaller holiday because you'll be wasting your time. 

My boyfriends money was taken from our tent: €200!!! And a fight broke out in the restaurant while we were eating. Horrible place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piastow, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very nicely located camping at Lago Trasimeo, Very good facilities including pool, shop and restaurant. Mini disco for kids in the evening. A lot of trees and very nice landscape. Most amazing bathrooms I ever seen on camping with automatic doors and luxury amenities inside. I stayed in bungalow, which was ok for one night. Very good prices like for this location

Room Tip: Instead of a tent - ask for low cost bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badiaccia C, Direttore at Badiaccia Camping Village, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear hiszpan, your appreciation on our completely renewed bathroms is welcome, we care about it. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The only things that might disturb you is either croaking of frogs or the light of fireflies. This place is as beautiful as it gets!! Perfect setting of Tuscan Sky, Greens, serene lake and hills for a quiet romantic vacation. This was the place that made me feel a little bad about being single :P but nevertheless... i enjoyed the place as much as i could. The Bathrooms and Toilets were very Clean. The cafe serves good food but the crepes v had for breakfast were cold ant not good. There is a departmental store in the cafe which stocks everything that you may have forgotten to get, at a little higher price (obviously). People are friendly , staff as well as the fellow campers.. you can get the camping vans and tents at extra cost. So just come with you essentials and have a beautiful time :)

Room Tip: Take the spot facing the lake... and wake up to a beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We went MId May and it was very quiet. As it was raining we took up the offer of a 2 bed bungalow (new) for E90 about the same price as a pitch - was great and very clean. Restaurant was warm and served good food and staff are jolly.

Toilet blocks were amazing and there is a great one for kids . All warm, fresh, very clean and modern

Room Tip: Ask to see the bungalows before deciding, the older ones with the kitchen outside looked just that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Campingsite especially suited for families with teenagers....
Site is lovely: lots of trees -so plenty of shadow- nice beach and swimming pool, very pleasant cafe with helpful staff and the bathrooms have a "home-quality"_....but o, those nights!
The campsite claims to have a restperiod from midnight until early in the morning. Unfortunately nobody bothers to uphold this in any way. So nights are filled with shouting.
Teenagers however, like this campsite very much.
If you are Dutch you musn't mind the fact that the rest of the people on the campsite are Dutch too. If you are not...than the same applies.

Best reason to stay here is the fact that is near Castiglione del Lago. Beautiful little town; Spectacular theater.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,UK
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is the most luxurious camping village we have ever used. The bathrooms are Italian marble and spotlessly clean, the swimming pools (one for children and the other for adults) are well-maintained and supplied with loungers and parasols, there is a restaurant selling good quality and reasonably priced food and drink, and the ice cream on sale is one of the best we've tasted.

A very relaxing place and convenient for lots of 'must sees' in Umbria and Tuscany too seeing as Trasimeno is almost on the border of these two areas.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Badiaccia Camping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badiaccia Camping Village

Address: Via Pratovecchio 1 | loc. Badiaccia, 06061 Castiglione del Lago, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione del Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Castiglione del Lago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Badiaccia Camping Village 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Trasimeno Lake, between Tuscany and Umbria, it offers a perfect starting point for excursions to the most important and cultural places of Italy (Florence, Siena, Assisi and Perugia). Perfect for a relaxing holiday in a friendly environment. Attentive and qualified staff are most helpful in getting the most out of your stay, supported by high standard facilities: private beach, swimming pools, tennis court, football, basketball, minigol, free WIFI, TV room and a staff of animators who will cheer up your days with shows, tournaments, baby club, dance nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Badiaccia Camping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badiaccia Camping Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.