We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay in Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais

Save Saved
You added Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Loc. Pietrafitta 46, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Stay in Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Today we left, Borgo Pietrafitta - it was our third stay there and we thoroughly enjoyed being there. The location is great - offering spectacular views of the picturesque landscape of Tuscany. Of course, a vehicle is a must... Many charming little towns can be easily visited within 10 mins of driving. Larger towns, e.g. Sienna are easily reached by car. Reasonably priced restaurants, offering typical cuisine of this delightful area, are also within easy reach. In particular, we enjoyed meals at La Piazza restaurant. The food was great, even though, at times, the service was not so impressive!

The accommodation is rustic...very suitable for the area. Perhaps more powerful globes for light, would offer more comfortable lighting in the rooms, especially in the bathrooms. Bathrooms can also benefit with more hooks for hanging bath towels, especially if there are two or more people occupying the apartments. Phone and Internet connection, can present a problem - having to acquire these services only outside the Reception area, BUT after all, Pietrafitta is in the country not in a large city. May be housekeeping services, should be offered to those staying a minimum of one week - once a week would have been sufficient to freshen-up the rooms, even though there was no problem with cleanliness inside or outside this place.

Overall, Pietrafitta is a lovely place for a peaceful stay in the Castellina in Chianti area and would definitely appreciate the opportunity of staying there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgopietrafitta, Direttore at Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Borgo di Pietrafitta on Trip Advisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed the location and we are really pleased to read your comments about your experience at Borgo di Pietrafitta. .
Thank you for your suggestions which are very important to us. We took notice of your feedback and be sure that we will use it to improve our services.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    31
    10
    11
    5
See reviews for
37
66
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, RU
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had spent a lovely week in Pera2 apartment. I was a bit worry about a/c absence when booking and contacted Cinzia - the director of the property, who kindly and patiently replied all my questions.
The residence is peaceful and comfortable. The location is perfect for day trips and allows to have dinner in lots of fabulous restaurants in the area within only 5-15min driving. The price is rather high for the number of services provided. But the property is really great.
As a word of suggestion I would appreciate better lighting as it seemed rather dark in the rooms/bathroom.
I'd be back with pleasure someday.
Complimenti!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgopietrafitta, Direttore at Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Victoria,
it has been a real pleasure welcoming you to the Borgo di Pietrafitta and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us!
If you miss us during the year, have a look at our facebook page!
We always post something nice about the Borgo and the Chianti region …
Grazie e arrivederci!
Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlin, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent in this beautiful area of Chianti only one day on our way to Island of Elba. But hotel is really
perfect. But I must recommend a GPS in your car, because to find a right way is not so easy. The rooms
are very nice, quite big and clean, well furnished. We have only some problems with air - conditioner.
Staff was very helpfull, they arranged a tickets for ferry to Island of Elba.
We spent a nice evening in small restaurant/bar near the hotel (Nuvolari?) Menu and vine was excellent.
Breakfast was good with italian coffee and ham/cheese, some cake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgopietrafitta, Direttore at Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a delightful review of your recent stay with us. Did you enjoy your stay in Elba Island?
I was really pleased to read your feedback about your experience at Borgo di Pietrafitta and how happy you were with the service and surroundings that we provided. I have passed on your kind words to the rest of my team, who is happy to know that you appreciated Nuvolari’s cuisine.
I really do hope that you can join us again in the near future.
Greetings from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We came to the Borgo di Pietrafitta in July of 2012. We had booked one of the rooms as all guest houses were booked out. Welcome and room were both good. Yet I cannot recommend to book the rooms. The whole relais is geared to the needs of the chalets on offer. There is no minibar in the room. The fridge in the hall way is no safe place if you want to cool some drinks. Other guest will find it useful to make use of them. Windows do not offer a view as they are very small. This helps to keep the heat out which is important as there is no AC. Room service tends to forget to empty trash cans... hmmm. The breakfast is kept as basic as possible. E.g. there are no simple things like hard boiled eggs on offer and you should like toast. None of the items on offer are fresh. Really nothing to get you off to a good start. Take a swim in the pool: I did so every morning and evening. Very nice but I felt that as little was done to take care of the pool as was to the furniture and the flowers around. And I almost forgot: You are at a winery in the heart of the Chianti region: Not anymore. They still have the celler but it is no more in use.No tasking offered... hmm. Overall verdict: great location, nice facilities but no service. 140€ is for two per night is too much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgopietrafitta, Direttore at Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Borgo di Pietrafitta on Trip advisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed the location and our facilities. Because our guests’ suggestions are very important to us, we have taken notice of your observations and will use them as a springboard for the next year. We would also like to inform you that, as of July 2012, all of the guest rooms in the villa have been equipped with ceiling fans in order to combat the exceptional heat of this year. Unfortunately, we are unable to install air conditioning as the motor and fans would deface the edifice of the 1700s villa. We are also very sorry that you did not join us for our free weekly wine and olive tasting in the wine cellar even though we gave you a personal invitation. We are sure that you would have enjoyed it as is evident by the many positive reviews we have received. A sincere greeting from Chianti!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We spent a beautiful weekend here and LOVE the chianti area. Location wise it's perfect. But as a couple we did not ave enough privacy. The place is large as it used to be a whole village. Now the different houses are paratmnts for rent do naturally a lot of families rent them out on a weekly basis. I defiantly recommend this place to families but if you are looking for a romantic getaway, I sugget looking at one of the other hundred compaction options in te region. There are so many cute ones!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgopietrafitta, Direttore at Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience in tripadvisor and we are glad you loved our location in Chianti.
We really hope to see you again in springtime or in autumn when colors in Chianti are great and the atmosphere at the Borgo is ideal for a romantic gateway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My best friend and I stayed in Casa Pera 2 in June. It was truly an unforgettable experience for us. The staff were always hospitable and never made us feel as if we were bothering them with questions for directions etc. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Washroom facilities (water temp and pressure for shower) were perfectly fine. We only had the breakfast there one morning, but it was great. The view from the pool was sureal in the evenings while the sun was setting. We stayed 4 days and it was the perfect central location to make daytrips in any direction. The grocery store in the local town (5mins) was nice and close to stock your pantry. And if you chose not to cook supper, there is a fabulous little restaurant/bar at the end of the lane (Nuvolari) with a superb menu. Conversation with the manager (Walter), chef and staff were one of the highlights of our trip. And the convenience of being able to walk back to your apt. after enjoying some wine was ideal.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgopietrafitta, Direttore at Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the amazing review and for sharing your experience at Borgo di Pietrafitta with other travelers!
The staff and I are all very pleased when we can read reviews such as yours! :)
See you soon in Chianti!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent 5 sublime days in Tuscany and Borgo Di Pietrafitta was a remote tuscan farmhouse style villa accommodation self contained, they do have apartments also but i would strongly recommend the self contained villas , the surrounding towns are all gems and all worth the visit , the vineyards are to die for loved every part of this region, you do need a car though to get around, but well worth it, definitely coming back to this place

Room Tip: only stay in the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgopietrafitta, Direttore at Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you very much!!! It’s great to read how you loved your stay here and the Chianti area!!! We are very happy about it… hoping to see you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais

Address: Loc. Pietrafitta 46, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Specialty lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo di Pietrafitta is situated in the heart of Chianti, between Florence (48 km) and Siena (20 km), in the most beautiful part of Tuscany lying 600 m above sea level, overlooking the amazing Chianti rolling hills. All 15 apartments, recently renovated, welcome travellers to soak in the reassuring charm of tradition that the region provides. We offer you a selection of different apartments: - Small units: self-catering apartments for 2/3 people composed of a living room with fireplace and kitchenette or kitchen, 1 double room, bathroom and equipped with private garden.- Medium units: self-catering apartments for 4/5 people composed of a living room with or without fireplace, kitchenette or kitchen and two double bedrooms. Some of the apartments either offer two bathrooms or equipped private patio. - Large units: self-catering apartments for 5/6 people composed of a large living room with fireplace, kitchen, two double bedrooms, two bathrooms and equipped private garden.All apartments have a private entrance and modern facilities like SAT-TV, washing machine, dishwasher, oven, microwave oven, heating, coffee machine, telephone and fireplace (in select units). Outdoor services: infinity pool with a terrific view over the valley, a private parking place and barbecue area. Other facilities (additional charges apply): bike rental, cooking classes, Vespa tour, wine tours with driver and local wine/oil tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Pietrafitta Relais Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Borgo Di Pietrafitta Relais Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.