We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, lovely Tuscan inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda La Capannuccia

Save Saved
You added Locanda La Capannuccia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Locanda La Capannuccia
Loc. La Capannuccia | Pietrafitta, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful, lovely Tuscan inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

I can't say enough good things about Locanda La Capannuccia. A friend and I stayed for two nights and loved every minute of it. The owners were welcoming and warm and we enjoyed spending the evenings talking to them. The room was very clean and the bathroom felt like it has just been renovated. We had a deluxe room and it was quite spacious, as was the bathroom. There are definitely mosquitoes there and no screens on the windows and no AC (just a ceiling fan), so just be aware. We loved it so much though that sleeping in a warm room was a small consideration.

The inn is surrounded by Tuscan hills and it's really lovely. We saw fireflies, deer and a wild boar during our stay. The driveway down and then back out can be a little treacherous and nervewracking but well worth it for what you get when you arrive. The location is perfect for touring the Chianti hills, as it was easy to get everywhere.

We had dinner at La Capannuccia one night and while a little expensive, was easily one of the best meals we had in Italy. Daniela is a wonderful cook and I highly recommend having at least one dinner there. The breakfast spread was bountiful and delicious.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

My wife and me stayed at this B&B in september 2008 for 10 nights. From the beginning we have been very pleased with this lovely House and it's hosts.
Too bad it has been too cold to use the pool (which is not typical for that time of year), but on the other hand, that did not bother us too much. La Locanda Capannuccia lies wihtin the woods, about 2km from the next mainroad down the hill, which makes it more than quite. You won't hear nothing but nature there.
Next town is Castellina in Chianti. So you have the ideal base to explore Tuscany. The lovely hosts will always assist you in finding the right places to go to, whether for sightseeing or for dining. If you love good wine, you're also in the right place. There are some of the best Chianti-vineyards in vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

This review is overdue but thought better late than never as we would highly recommend La Capannuccia.

We stayed there in September 2007 as the last stop on our Tuscan holiday. La Cappannucia is a lovely Tuscan farmhouse and our room was both comfortable and well-appointed. The house is set in a picturesque valley surrounded by Tuscan hills, secluded and wih a real sense of peace about it - there are comfortable loungers overlooking the valley and we enjoyed sitting there in the evenings with wine and cheese as the daylight slowly faded. I also had a lot of fun on the twisty-turny drive down through the woods from the main road.

The location was superb for exploring the Chianti area and Daniella gave us some great recommendations for dining in and around Castellina-in-Chianti, especially once she found that we were both foodies. We also dined in one night and had a delicious Tuscan meal - Daniella is an excellent cook and her chickpea soup lives on in our memories!

  • Liked — Its authenticity
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

what a wonderful location! Came here after Rome and Florence and the tranquility was amazing! Really nice hosts and wonderful rooms - never had such a good nights sleep.

Perfect location for exploring Tuscany: we went to a few vineyards, walks around and ate in the local town, went to Siena and San Gimignano - I recommend them all.

There was only one other couple staying when we were who we met at Breakfast and we all agreed that this place was great and we wished we had spent more time there

  • Liked — Location, and the peace and quiet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

Nothing could have prepared my wife and I for the ultimate relaxation of Locanda La Capannuccia, and its wonderful hosts.

We took advantage of the offer to have dinner prepared for us the night we arrived. It was delicious, and just the beginning of our excellent stay in the Tuscan countryside. The included breakfast was just as great.

Loved our room, with views of the surrounding hills. It was very clean, well decorated, and the bed was heaven.

We liked this place so much, that we asked to stay an additional night. We'd have stayed even longer if we didn't have further plans. It's a great home base for Tuscan day trips to cities such as Siena, San Gimignano, Florence, Castellina, etc., etc.

It was fun just driving around the surrounding countryside visiting vineyards for wine/oil and just getting lost, and found again.

I'm a little late in posting this review, but I wouldn't hesitate to send my best friends here! It was by far our favourite place to stay on our honeymoon.

  • Liked — Location, the owners/hosts, meals.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda La Capannuccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Capannuccia

Also Known As:
Locanda La Capannuccia Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Loc. La Capannuccia | Pietrafitta, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda La Capannuccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda La Capannuccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.