We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect remote countryside stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda La Capannuccia

Save Saved
You added Locanda La Capannuccia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda La Capannuccia
Loc. La Capannuccia | Pietrafitta, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“perfect remote countryside stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

La Capannuccia is a wonderful B&B, with very nice hosts Mario & Daniella. We really enjoyed our stay over here and even booked some additional nights.
This B&B is located at the end of a ca 1.2 km gravel forest road - nothing to be afraid of as we could easily do it with our car which has a rather low suspension. This road contributes certainly to the charm of the B&B, as it gives it a more remote and quiet feeling, and we also had plenty of nice meetings with local wildlife (boars, roe, porcupine) along this road. The room was comfortable and kept very clean. Our (standard) room had a private bathroom with a shower. Oversee customers should be advised that there is no airco, which is . They have a nice clean swimming pool and a terrace to enjoy the evening/night sounds, drink some wine, read a book .... The flowers in the garden attract a lot of butterflies, and beautiful lizard rest on the stone walls in the olive-tree garden. This B&B has a very quiet countryside atmosphere, away from the more touristy parts of the Chianti, but only less than 10 minutes driving from Castellina.
Breakfast is really great and portions are big! You can also order a home cooked Tuscan meal, which does not come really cheap (ca 25 € pp, depending on what you like, for a 3 course menu), but is excellent.
Overall this is an excellent B&B and one of the best places I ever stayed. We really enjoyed our stay over here, and can only give a recommendation. Given the price they charge, I think this is a very good value option if you prefer a quiet countryside stay.

Room Tip: we had a standard room which was fine for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed there one night in order to visit a nearby winery. At the end of a quite impressive winding road, there’s this peaceful and beautiful B&B. The room was spacious, comfy and felt typical of the region. The owners were helpful and charming and served a generous breakfast with a great selection. We definitely miss their pecorino cheese!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

My partner and I are from Sydney, Australia and had decided to take a 3 month trip, mostly through Europe and our stay at La Capannuccia was one of the absolute highlights of our trip.

We had hired a car and drove from Rome and actually had no intentions of staying in Chianti but got charmed by the quaintness of Castellina. After scouring the streets for a nice B&B we noticed that the Lonely Planet recommended this little B&B, hidden off the roads. Boy are we glad we listened.

The owners, Mario and Daniella were incredibly lovely and took us in, despite having no prior reservations. We got in in the late afternoon and they were kind enough to offer the option of paying for a home cooked meal, which we gratefully took (the weather in Italy at the time was not so crash hot). We asked for traditional Tuscan meals and we were not disappointed.

Our stay for the night was so lovely that our original intention of staying one night went out the window and we booked an additional night. We asked for another home cooked meal on the second night (with a recommended Chianti wine) and amazingly this surpassed the previous days. So much so that I had to ask for their chickpea soup recipe before I left! =)

The rooms were so cosy and we had amazing views over the valley. The owners were so hospitable with suggestions on areas to visit, providing us maps and having a friendly chat whenever we were in the house.

Thank you for an amazing couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

After the hustle of Rome and FLorence it was a sweet treat to settle in to the quiet of La Capannuccia, which is 1.2 K off the highway. The room was well appointed and lovely with a comfortable bed, and gave us the best sleep we had on our 2 1/2 week trip. In mid October it was chilly at night but lovely during the day. The pool is beautiful and would have made a nice swim had we brought our suits. Lounge chairs outside and a patio (where breakfast is served, weather permitting) off the dining room let you relax and enjoy the surrounding countryside. Daniella made dinner both nights we were there and it was delicious, served by Mario. The dining room of this very old converted farmhous/barn lends a warm and peaceful air to a "slow food" meal accompanied by a selection from Mario's collection of jazz. Daniella speaks fairly good English, Mario a little less. They are lovely people who will give you information about the area and the history of their lodging. We hope to go back there again when we return to Italy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010 via mobile

Completely not what lonely planet made this place seem like. As soon as we got to our room, we discovered a live lizard in the toilet! The bugs were incessant and it felt like we were camping- not something that is worth 95 euros a night. And when we said we wanted to check out after 2 days instead of 4, owner was rude and lost all her supposed hospitality. Our only disappointing hotel during a three week trip!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacapannuccia, Proprietario at Locanda La Capannuccia, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
Bugs and lizards in the countryside: what else?
Our Inn is located in the heart of the Tuscan countryside and this is well advertised both in our website and in the Lonely Planet guide. As everybody knows “sometimes in the countryside it is possible to meet some bugs and lizards”. As testified by the other reviews we are used to provide the best possible service to our customers and, thus, we are really sorry to read that these guests have defined the behaviour of the owner as rude. Probably this is due to an unpleasant misunderstanding. We thank the Lonely Planet guide that made our Inn well known to many tourists who always demonstrated appreciation for our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We had the best 3 nights of our week in Italy here at Locanda La Capannuccia. Daniela & Mario, the owners, looked after us brilliantly and gave invaluable recommendations for local restaurants and things to do. The one night we didn't follow their advice we had a less than average meal so listen to their suggestions!! The bedroom was lovely, very peaceful setting down a steep drive. Lovely pool and delicious breakfast every morning. We will be recommending them to anyone visiting the area and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

I can't say enough good things about Locanda La Capannuccia. A friend and I stayed for two nights and loved every minute of it. The owners were welcoming and warm and we enjoyed spending the evenings talking to them. The room was very clean and the bathroom felt like it has just been renovated. We had a deluxe room and it was quite spacious, as was the bathroom. There are definitely mosquitoes there and no screens on the windows and no AC (just a ceiling fan), so just be aware. We loved it so much though that sleeping in a warm room was a small consideration.

The inn is surrounded by Tuscan hills and it's really lovely. We saw fireflies, deer and a wild boar during our stay. The driveway down and then back out can be a little treacherous and nervewracking but well worth it for what you get when you arrive. The location is perfect for touring the Chianti hills, as it was easy to get everywhere.

We had dinner at La Capannuccia one night and while a little expensive, was easily one of the best meals we had in Italy. Daniela is a wonderful cook and I highly recommend having at least one dinner there. The breakfast spread was bountiful and delicious.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda La Capannuccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Capannuccia

Address: Loc. La Capannuccia | Pietrafitta, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Locanda La Capannuccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda La Capannuccia Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda La Capannuccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.