We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“benervivere, a lesson of living” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Nittardi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fattoria Nittardi to your Saves list
Fattoria Nittardi
Fattoria Nittardi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Cannes, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“benervivere, a lesson of living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It's been a long time ago, around May1987, my wife and I became curious about a pamphlet which offered Italian courses, mixed with seminars in italian cooking, culture and history in Tuscany, this craddle of the Rennaissance.We were assigned a most charming independant villa 5 min walk further down, surrounded by its vinyards and a beautiful view over the hills of the area bathed in a magic light.. At first we apprehended spmehow the fact that most guests came from Germany, but it took us no time to find out they were a very pleasant, hiliarious company , some of them we stayed in touch for many years. The mornings were reserved for the well structured italian language course of different levels, as determined by a short entrance examination. The teachers were professional, helpful and friendly. so was the staff . The afternoons had different excursions, Siena, Lucca or San Gimignano or italian cooking. All in all, for a modest expenditure, we enjoyed one of our best and profitable vacation ever. .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A charming Tuscan delight, serene in beauty and relaxing countryside with a beautiful restored palace full of history and art with highly professional helpful staff. Totally charming with all modern facilities, lovely walks. The setting is just perfect, with fabulous views of the Tuscan countryside. It has many interesting seating areas, either looking from the pool or over the vineyards.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Nittardi was once known as Nectar Dei--translating to "Nectar of (the Gods)--and was the estate of Michelangelo of Sistine Chapel fame. The wines were so famous they were a regular request of the Pope and under the current stewardship of the Femfert family they more than match their historic glory. See the Italian wine bible Gambero Rosso for plenty of praise.

The property is perfect for groups, medium to even large sized families, or honeymooning couples. The gardens, hiking trails amongst the vines and swimming pool make for a perfect backdrop. The ancient castle is surrounded by blooming flowers and lovely modern art (the Femferts are avid art collectors).

We were greeted every morning by breakfast and coffee in the main kitchen downstairs, but each apartment is equipped with its own well-stocked kitchen, not to mention there is stone-built grill downstairs for making BBQ from the amazing local meats. The staff of Nittardi are eager to give you a comfortable and memorable stay and can arrange trips, reservations or any requests you may have. We went for a day trip to Rome and Claudia in the office arranged for us to skip all the lines at the Vatican and have a great visit. She also showed us a book full of wedding photographs from many happy couples who had hosted their union at the estate. Leon, who has begun to manage the estate after studying wine in Germany, France and Chile is a very knowledgeable guide to the secrets of Chianti wine and the areas many treasures. He recommended a stellar restaurant in Castelina that served us 10 courses of beef for less than 30 euros.

If you want to get away from the tourist traps of Chianti-shire, Nittardi is a perfect place to create your authentic Tuscan dream.

Room Tip: Depending on the size of your group or family and how many beds you will need, Nittardi has you cove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The first time we drove there, we thought we are lost, because you have to drive on a dirt-road for three kilometers. But once you arrive it is just Paradise. We slept in the main house, the "Casa Padronale" which once belonged apparently to the painter Michelangelo Buonarroti. Everything is super beautiful, nice garden, swimming pool, very kind and helpful people working there (especially Claudia), lots of sculptures and art around and in the house. And then the silence, really a place to relax...
They produce also great wines there. Claudia showed us the cellar, explained the production and did a great tasting with us.
Overall I highly recommend this place to everybody who wants to drink great wines, enjoy a peaceful holiday and likes art. We will come back for sure!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fattoria Nittardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Nittardi

Address: Fattoria Nittardi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nittardi is a 900 year old property which belonged once to Michelangelo Buonarroti. Today, it consists of five beautiful, lavishly restored apartments, each different in size and elegantly furnished. A stroll through the extensive sculpture garden and vineyards, followed by olive-oil and wine tasting in the cellars, is a beloved tradition for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fattoria Nittardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Nittardi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Nittardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.