We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, and great wine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casafrassi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casafrassi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casafrassi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Chiantigiana 40 | Loc Casafrassi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Bramley, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, and great wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit in the last five years to this wonderfully secluded Tuscan hotel, restaurant and vineyard tucked away in a very quiet and peaceful corner of Tuscany. Acts as a great base for a touring holiday of the Tuscan region of Italy - highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
6
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I were so fortunate to travel on a tour of Tuscany and the Riviera with Holiday Vacations in October. We stayed four nights at the Hotel Casafrassi and, honestly, I think that if the owners had let me, I would've just moved in for a month. It's more an Inn than a hotel, and the area around it is just gorgeous. It is very isolated and quiet; just beautiful. One in our tour group took a nasty fall by missing a step, cut a gash in her head, and was pretty banged up and bruised. The owners of the hotel were right there, helping to tend her wounds - and, later, arranging for her to be taken into Sienna so she could be seen be a doctor. My point is that the staff were dedicated to seeing to our every need. The food in the beautiful dining room was excellent. Of course, it was prepared especially for our group, though other visitors came in to eat, as well. The breakfast buffet was adequate but was identical every morning; nothing fancy. The patio and courtyard are lovely, wonderful places for sipping wine and laughing with friends. This small hotel is not on the beaten path - which is one of it's biggest attractions, to me. You will love it!

Room Tip: The rooms are smallish but so quaint. All the amenities we have grown to expect in the U.S. are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night but should have used it as a base for a few days. There was a storm the night I stayed so I can't comment on the outdoor activities available. Our room was lovely with a huge terrace. We read in the lobby living room. There is a very cute dog who visited us at breakfast. The outdoor areas are lovely and have gorgeous views. It is peaceful and exactly what I had hoped for in Tuscany. The only two issues I have are the air conditioning was turned off even though the room was very hot (and the suggestion to open the window a non-starter due to bugs) and I wish I'd been told in advance not to trust the GPS when driving there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulima53011, Direttore at Casafrassi Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Wandering,
Thanks for writing a review Casafrassi
We are sorry for the problem of air conditioning, but simoa happy that you've enjoyed Gelsomina, our beautiful dog.
Come back and see us soon.
Best regards
Myriam Vidali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 days in September with my husband and another couple. First rate base to explore this part of Tuscany. However you definately need a car as us quite remote but so peacful and relaxing. Restaurant good but limited choices, excellent choice of restaurants nearby si not a problem. Staff very friendly and helpful especially Gabriel. Lots of advice for area. Pool small but adequate tho has to be brave to get in it as it was very cold. Sunbeds need some attention as some wouldn't recline or stay in place which was rather annoying trying to read. Rooms big and airy with lots of storage. Definately recommend to those who want beautiful views and plenty of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulima53011, Direttore at Casafrassi Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Asampz,
Thanks for writing a review Casafrassi
Thank you for recommending Casafrassi, this fills us with joy
Come back and see us soon.
Best regards
Mriam Vidali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We recently spent three nights in Casafrassi. The hotel is in a beautiful location with breathtaking views of the Tuscan scenery.
We were surprised to be asked for the government tax on arrival! It was our third hotel on this trip and the first time we had to pay this in advance. We were also surprised to have to pay for wifi.
Our room was located over the restaurant on the 1st floor. We were shown to our room the "long way" when there was another entrance up 1 flight of stairs! As the temp was 38C , it was not helpful. The room was adequate, unfortunately there was not a separate shower which we would have preferred. The air conditioning worked well and the room was quiet.
Breakfast was good but the choice was limited if you were not there before 9am. Food was not replaced when gone, for example there was a small quantity of omelette available. There was not a great variety of fresh fruit either, a few nectarines or kiwis but plenty of oranges luckily!
The restaurant was not good with an uninteresting restricted menu. One visit was enough. There are several nice small restaurants in the nearby villages with excellent food which we visited on the other nights. They were very good value. We liked the garden and enjoyed a few hours there in the late afternoon.
We found this hotel in the Relais du Silence book but it does not compare with the hotel we stayed in last year at the Lakes.

Room Tip: If you find stairs difficult request a room in the main house where there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulima53011, Direttore at Casafrassi Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear DJR_10 , thank you for taking the time to write this review. Unfortenately the local tax is a new tax that is imposed by local governments and we have to ask the payment to customers. It is not our choice. To get to the room there are two paths and I can assure you that they are almost the same and the route taken by you was more shade, but yours advice is valuable and from now on we will use the second path to assist our clients in the room. Sincerely yours
Myriam Vidali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our hiking tour of Tuscany. This hotel is exactly what you expect when you think of Tuscany. The views into the Chianti region are amazing. From your bedroom window you will see pastures, olive trees, vineyards and the classic rolling hills of Tuscany. Our room was nicely decorated and really made us feel like we were in Italy. The bathroom was fine, but the shower was small. The hotel has a lovely pool with plenty of cabanas, loung chairs and umbrellas. The pool was clean and the temperature was refreshing. We enjoyed having some wine and beer out by the pool in the afternoon. The breakfast was fine and very comparable to every other hotel we stayed at in Italy. I really enjoyed having a croissant and cappuchino with my breakfast each morning. The breakfast area also has outdoor seating. You can drink your coffee and just breathe in the beautiful Tuscan air and soak up the beauty of nature. I truly enjoyed my stay here and felt that it was a true Tuscan experience. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulima53011, Direttore at Casafrassi Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear J.B.
thanks to find time for your feedback.
I'm very happy that you enjoy your time at Casafrassi, specially your breakfast time at the terrace.
Our cappuccino and croissant are waiting for you!!!!
Come back to visit us.
Best regards
Myriam Vidali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casafrassi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casafrassi Hotel

Address: Via Chiantigiana 40 | Loc Casafrassi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casafrassi Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Casafrassi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casafrassi Hotel Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casafrassi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.