We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Colombaio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Colombaio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Il Colombaio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Chiantigiana 29, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Practical Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Il Colombaio in october 2012. It is an old farmhouse with many old furnitures inside. The owner Roberta is very kind and helpful and you can see the family members around which brings a warm atmosphere. It is not a hotel that you would want to spend too much time inside but it has many advantages. It is at a close walking distance from the town of Castellina in Chianti and there are some nice restaurants nearby and a good ice-cream shop. Travelling by car to many Tuscany towns, including Siena is easy since the location is very convenient. The price of the rooms were reasonable and we thought it was a perfect base to visit Tuscany towns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
22
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were loking for a nice place to stay in Tuscany that was not main tourist stop. The Hotel II Columbiao was the perfect location and our host Roberta was great. Our room was clean and located in the main house. It had a TV with satallite service. The breakfast was basic but we appreciated the fact that we didn't have to plan a breakfast stop before starting our day. I asked Roberta for a suggestion to park for a day trip to Florence (less than an hours drive) She recommended the Piazzale Michael Angelo which worked perfectly. The parking was free, and easy to get to without crossing prohibited travel zones. The view alone was work the ride and it is a easy walk to Florence. We also walked to town and had dinner, coffee, and shopping. The walk is short and level and has a great view of the Tuscan valley. We also visited Siena, less than a 30 minute ride and Volterra, about 90 minutes through Tuscan back roads. All were ealily accessable from the hotel. We drove from Rome and the hotel was easy to find. It has ample parking adjacent to the building.
We would have liked to have spent more time in Tuscany and plan to return. I would definetly plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

It's a family style hotel. The mother of the owner was sitting in the lobby watching TV all day long. The room was super nice, and the staff was enthusiastic. Although it is not in the town center, but it is still within walking distance to the village, which is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at this little hotel for four nights last year and thought it was absolutely lovely. Now there is no tv in the room but who cares ? We were in gorgeous Tuscany who needs tv's!! Stayed in a suite which had two bedrooms and lovely big bathroom. Very clean and very classic interior. Service was very good and the pool was great and makes this suitable for kids. Breakfast was also good - very simple which is all you need really. We will definitely stay in Hotel II Colombaio the next time - and there will be a next time we visit Castellina.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Roberta was extremely accommodating and helpful. Thank you so much for all of your help!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We accidentally found this hotel when we needed a place to stay for the night. It was so amazing and beautiful that we stayed longer.
The area of the hotel looks like taken from a post card, the internal design is classic and clean, and the service is the best.
This hotel is located 5 minutes by foot from Castellina's city center, and we enjoyed from every minute of our time there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The place is very close to heaven,take care not to fall in love otherwise you will never return home again !!! we loved it. Thanks Barbara for your quick check in help ;-) thanks carwyn for the nice talk we had.
Thanks tuscany you are a nice place on earth.
all the best for the future
fränz

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Il Colombaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Colombaio

Address: Via Chiantigiana 29, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Colombaio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very small charming hotel,located very closed to the center of town of Castellina in Chianti.13 rooms with bath and breakfast,free wi-fi,parking and swimming-pool.Here we do not have restaurant,but walking distance 300 meters we have two managed by the same family.Come and visit us you'll spend a nice and relaxing holiday with good food and wanderful wines!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Il Colombaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Colombaio Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Colombaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.