We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull place in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Casalecchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Casalecchi to your Saves list
Villa Casalecchi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Casalecchi in Chianti, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Georgia
1 review
“Wonderfull place in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I spent an entire week there last Fall. Our room in the back corner was wonderful. The management, Umberto and Bigey were sweet and more than helpfull. It also turned out to be the perfect location to daytrip into Florence, Volterra, Cortona and other hilltowns in Tuscany. While a car is necessary, you could not find a better base to work out of. Castellina in Chianti is also a quiet, non-touristy little village. Great place to stroll and have dinner at the end of a day spent visiting other villages and wineries.

Room Tip: Ask for back left room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Villa Cassalecchi, which we used as a convenient base in Chianti/Tuscany. The grounds are lovely and the villa itself, which contains the breakfast room and restaurant were well maintained and lovely. The room itself in the lower level of the villa, was nothing particularly special, and did not warrant a four star rating. The furnishings were rather spartan, and the bathroom has some issues including a nonfunctioning hair dryer. I had been hoping for a bit more luxury based on the website photos, but perhaps it was just the room we were assigned.

Staff is very helpful, made great suggestions and told us just how and where to go to maximize our stay. We ate at the hotel two nights and had lovely meals both times.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms, but there might be some nicer rooms on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Everything was good at Villa Cassalecchi, Well maybe except the fact that there was'nt some interesting City or castle, you could visit, nearby.The staff was a little rigid and formal at first, but when we had been there for a couple of days, they became so friendly and nice. Our rented car broke, and the owner of he hotel was SO kind, and helhed us A LOT, cause we could not speak Italian. There was a dachshund and a cat, both really sweet and cute.
The pool was big and clean and had an absolutely amazing view!! When you wanted, you could take a nap N one of the deckchairs.
The restaurant was something. Every dish tastes SO good and they used their own gardens herbs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely romantic place.
Must have a car
Sienna and Florence within 30 minutes drive.
Also oteher cities in range.

views of vineyards
Breakfast is boring
Nice and helpful staff
Diner expensive
Lovely rooms
Beautiful decorated with antic furnature

Room Tip: Not in the main building. Take a room in the outer building for more privacy and a private terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were a trio and had a triple room. We traveled with another trio. We arrived on a Monday for a two night stay. One room was on main floor and was open with a fire place, sitting area, big bed with a single next to it. The other room was up a winding staircase into the attic with three singles. The bathroom was tiny and had an angled roof over it which made it impossible to stand in the shower if you were over 5 foot. We asked to be moved and were given a room off the rose garden which was much roomier, had a nice tall space above the shower and was much better. Number 16 did have some mosquito issues that we battled on night one which resulted in some bug spray and ointment for day two. The views of the Tuscan valleys are nice. The pool was very cool but it was very hot when we were there. It would be nice if the swallows didn't leave droppings all around the pool and on the pool chairs or if they would be washed off daily. It was very uncrowded and we enjoyed a day at the large pool. The smell of roses floats by often from the large rose garden. The shallow is about 4 foot and it gets much deeper. We had a great dinner the first night at the hotel restaurant. The local wine was tasty and service was good. The restaurant is not open on Tuesdays. Please keep in mind that the village is about 1.5 miles and we had no car as we were dropped off. Umberto arranged for a taxi to take us into Castellina in Chianti for dinner on Tuesday. It cost 50 Euros for 6 for that short distance. Dinner was quite good though at La Torre as Umberto made reservations for us. Breakfast was fine with the basic fruit, breads and jellies, some eggs, cereals, yogurts and meats. This place is a maze of stairs and corners and sitting rooms and one could play hide and seek for days.

Room Tip: Every room is likely different. Ask for another if you don't like the first offering. 15 is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverdam, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our third Italian vacation and the third stay in Castellina in Chianti. It is a great centralized and serene location for exploring Tuscany.

We typically drive to explore the country and stayed at this hotel for four days of the 3 weeks we were in Italy. This was the best of the three hotels we have experienced in Castellina. We stayed in a room that was in a converted barn. I think it had even more charm than the rooms in the main villa. The room was very well kept and much larger than a typical Italian hotel room. Views out the windows were of typical Tuscan countryside which is to say beautiful and calming. Perfect for an end of day glass of wine and a cigar.

The staff was superb and the breakfast was fine. The elderly lady owner is in residence in the main building and I'm sure that contributed to the impeccable management of this property. We ate no other meals there, preferring to explore the many other restaurants in Castellina and the surrounding small towns.

Our visit was spiced by the running of a hillclimb auto race over the weekend. The finish line was located adjacent to the access road to the hotel.

I can very strongly recommend spending time in Tuscany when visiting Italy and make this your hotel when you do.

Room Tip: Go for the barn. Parking right there and a short walk to the main building. No internet in the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

What a joy! My wife and I spent a week there in September and we were so very comfortable there--treated and felt like family. Food and service was excellent, rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the location was central, convenient, and absolutely beautiful. We arrived there after spending a few nights in Rome, and wow, this was a NICE change of pace (we will do without Rome next time). From here, we enjoyed day-trips to cities within a reasonable driving distance, to include Pisa, Livorno, Siena, Florence, and others. The town is an absolutely delightful place to spend time, eat, shop, walk, visit, tour, etc. Regarding "shop"-- I say "Caveat Emptor!" if you visit the Pep Bizzarrie, where we (thought we) "purchased" some Italian ceramic dishes for Christmas gifts--never received.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Casalecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casalecchi

Address: Localita Casalecchi in Chianti, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#5 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Casalecchi 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Villa Casalecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casalecchi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Villa Casalecchi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Casalecchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.